Ratings based on 1,494 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel with brass elevators and clean rooms

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Staff was pleasant on check in but curt at check out.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Great location, courteous staff, easy check-in check-out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2016
Larger rooms than other hotels in the area and significantly less; excellent staff/service; Highly recommend it
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

A Great Stay in Midtown

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: We especially appreciated the delicious yogurt, apples and granola available in the lobby that we could grab on our way out the door.
Cons: Staff were a little bit slow to address needs (heater adjustment, dvd player not working) but this did not detract from an overall positive experience
Location: Excellent location. The 51st Street and Grand Central subway stations are mere blocks away as well as plenty of good dining nearby.
We enjoyed our four night stay at Roger Smith Hotel, it was a convenient location to travel around Manhattan for sightseeing, and a comfortable place to rest after long days of adventuring. The hotel environment was charming and relaxed and felt like home very qickly. Other guests and residents were friendly and willing to share travel and dining tips during elevator rides. The bar looked very welcoming and cosy, my only regret is that we did not take advantage of happy hour! I would recommend bringing ear plugs, which came in handy as Lexington Ave can be a bit noisy at night for someone used to the quiet of suburbia. However, the noise was not too disturbing, and this is something you experience anywhere in Manhattan. All facilities were clean and neat, and our room was very clean and tidy. Overall, a great stay and great value for money in Manhattan.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great value in Mid-town

Posted Jan 14, 2016
Staff was great. Close to many restaurants and sites. Rooms were clean and comfortable. Will stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Boa localização e apartamentos limpos

Posted Jan 12, 2016
Pessoal da recepção atencioso, apartamentos limpos e eles oferecem iogurte na recepção Bem legal. O hotel está um pouco velho, mas é limpo e organizado.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from liverpool, UK

Comfortable Hotel Central Location

Posted Jan 4, 2016
We chose this hotel mainly due to its location. The hotel was clean and very comfortable. The only downside was due to the room being at the front of the hotel and the volume of traffic in NY it could be quite noisy During the night. Luckily we are not light sleepers. However I would not hesitate to stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 横浜

マンハッタンの中心部

Posted Jan 4, 2016
部屋は広いし、ダブルサイズのベッドも快適でしたが、暖房の効きが悪くて少し寒かったです。バスルームも清潔でしたが、時々トイレの水が流れにくくなって困りました。マンハッタンの中心街で大通りに面してるので、夜中も車の往来がすごく響きました。窓ガラスが防音になってないのかもしれません。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old but nice hotel.

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Hotel could use new wallpaper in dome rooms. Clean an comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Nice hotel for decent price in Manhattan.

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Not the fanciest lobby but they were very pleasant at the front desk. There was free yogurt, granola and fruit. The room was clean and reasonably sized for a NYC hotel. Very quaint looking with a small library of books for reading available. Bathroom was nice too. Lots of towels and they are generous with the bathroom amenities. It's the only hotel I've ever been too that had mini toothbrush/toothpaste pouches for the guests. :)