Ratings based on 1,881 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philippines

comfort and convenience

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: affordable, simple, quaint
Location: location - near Times Square, Central Park, 5th Avenue, UN, Grand Central Terminal; things to do - jogging, food tripping, watch Broadway, shopping
I enjoyed my 12 day stay in Roger Smith. The bed is comfortable and the room was always kept clean. The hotel is conveniently located - walking distance to the UN, Central Park, Times Square, Grand Central Terminal and other sites within midtown Manhattan. There are nearby 24/7 food shops and convenience stores. Ms Sophy was very warm and accommodating; loved the yogurt, cereals and green apples!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Falls Church VA

Charming Reliable and MidTown

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: The atmosphere is remarkably homey.
Cons: The insulation around the air conditioning unit was not quite up to the cold wind, but a towel was pressed into service as a true stop-gap.
Location: MOMA, the UN and Grand Central are very close. And we finally paid our respects to the Sutton Place Porcellino!
The location is outstanding for a Manhattan experience--walking distance or a short cab ride to many of the places that represent the NYC of the imagination. We appreciate its individuality, the competent and accommodating staff, and the charm and comfort of the individually decorated rooms. In our junior suite, we had a defective pullout sofa; when we reported it, we had barely hung up when the staff was at the door with a good rollaway bed for us. We look forward to coming back after May when its rooftop bar opens for the season. We "heart" Roger Smith!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Mexico

Great hotel near Times Square

Posted Jan 28, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: I've never seen a more complicated coffee maker - we could not figure out how to make it work and the instructions were too tiny to be much help.
Location: See above
We loved this hotel and will return. From the moment you walk in, the staff are friendly, the ambiance is comfortable elegance, there is a big stack of apples on the counter and a warm welcome. The room was large by New York measure with beautiful comfortable furniture and very nice accessories. Very nice bed and pillow, ample storage for clothes in drawers and the closet, a mini fridge and microwave - all made the stay very convenient and enjoyable. We had a bit of trouble with the coffee maker but the hotel staff immediately responded to help us. The hotel is close to Time Square, Radio City Hall, the New York Library, Chrysler building and many terrific restaurants and cafes. We highly recommend this jewel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Great Hotel!

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: I liked the location, the room, the bed, the staff, and the seating area.
Cons: The only thing I would change is in the bathroom, add a counter area to put your items on, and make the sink more modern.
Location: The location was great, in the heart of the City. It was close to the subway, sites and shopping. The Duane Reade across the street was great.
We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was bright and warm, the bed was very comfortable, there was a nice seating area to look out at New York, and it was in a great location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, junior suite was plenty of room!

Posted Dec 27, 2016
For New York, you don't expect a ton of space. This was no exception, but it was plenty of space. Heater is a bit wonky, but we never ran into issues, even with 45 degree weather outside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blacksburg, VA

great hotel close to Christmas sights and sounds

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: everything
Cons: Could be updated, however, this didn't bother us at all.
Location: Lexington and 47th with lots of shopping, restaurants, subway nearby.
Our family of 7 stayed here while visiting NYC to see the Christmas tree, lights, etc. The location was excellent. Although the hotel is a bit older and not as modern, it was a great location and so clean. The rooms were amazingly large for NYC. The staff friendly and helpful, healthful snacks for breakfast, and free wifi. We had two standard rooms, one of which adjoined another large two-room suite. So, we had lots of room and could not have been happier. Loved the location in walking distance of so many things. Close to subway. Highly recommend. Will definitely make this our place in NYC from now on.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westchester, NY

Holiday weekend with my sister and her children

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Location!!!
Cons: Keep doing it the way you are...it's wonderful.
Location: Mid town...everthing is walking distance!
This is a quaint hotel very near to all of the midtown holiday activities. Walking distance to everything, which with the holiday traffic was much faster than taking a taxi! Room was cozy...loved the books on the bookshelf! Loved the fresh fruit, yogurt and granola available 24hours too! Friendly, helpful staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cape coral fl

Period hotel close to grand central station

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Great period hotel, walking distance to many NYC sights
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
The first room we were given was missing a bedroom door, the second room we were given had an unsleepable mattress and clogged drains, by the time we were moved to the third room we were extremely disillusioned and just cut the vacation short and returned home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charleston, SC

Great hotel in midtown Manhattan

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Pros: Location, hotel staff, size of room - junior suite
Cons: Nothing - it was perfect!
Location: In walking distance to all the hotspots - shopping, grand central station, rockefeller plaza, times square and great restaurants nearby
The Roger Smith is the perfect boutique hotel in midtown Manhattan. Close to everything, nice small, comfy feel (not the huge, you're just another guest like in giant chain hotels), delicious complimentary granola and yogurt and extremely nice, helpful welcoming staff. Room was very classy and roomy.