Featured Image

Reviews of The Roger Smith Hotel

3 out of 5
The Roger Smith Hotel
501 Lexington Ave, New York, NY

COVID-19 alert: Travel requirements are changing rapidly, including need for pre-travel COVID-19 testing and quarantine on arrival.

Overall score and ratings

4.1

Very Good

Rating 5 - Excellent. 387 out of 969 reviews
5 - Excellent 40%
Rating 4 - Good. 372 out of 969 reviews
4 - Good 38%
Rating 3 - Okay. 126 out of 969 reviews
3 - Okay 13%
Rating 2 - Poor. 48 out of 969 reviews
2 - Poor 5%
Rating 1 - Terrible. 36 out of 969 reviews
1 - Terrible 4%

4.2/5

Cleanliness

4.3/5

Staff & service

3.6/5

Amenities

3.7/5

Property conditions & facilities

4/5 Good

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Was a pleasant stay
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
So we booked this property after canceling my other reservation on 38th due to the look of the outside at night. I checked in at 12 and there was no issues so that was awesome. The room was clean in the sense that there were no smells and the beds were made. One of the curtains did not want to go up. I asked for my room to be cleaned every other day and it was never cleaned. One of the beds was broken on one side and the mattress was on the floor. The baseboards had tons of scuffs everywhere. The carpet looked dingy and old and my kids feet would get dirty if barefoot. Lots of pillows and linens were provided. Our towels were never changed. If you request a microwave they will bring it. There is a minifridge that keeps things cool The tv is at an awkward angle. I booked this because online it looked like an inn but in person it is not. It looks like an inn that was abandoned. There is scaffolding on the side of the building which does not allow for having curtains open. The hall is dark and we had to call to come get the trash because no one came. The front desk is very receptive and helpful that is the one thing they had going for them. Besides that the rooms and what not are not as described and in need of a major update. There is no grocery near by the duane reade at the corner closes at 10pm.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Spacious, comfortable room at a decent price in Midtown. A stand-by for short stay. If you’re particularly COVID-conscious, be aware that staff may not be wearing face coverings even though they asks guests to do so (though they do not enforce that policy; but note: masks were not required by the city during our late July 2021 visit).
Stayed 1 night in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Location
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
Location is great! Family owned business! Great Rooftop Bar! Staff and Manager were great! My only advice is to book a newly renovated room or suite. The basic older rooms are disappointing.
Stayed 4 nights in Jul 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Staff & service, amenities
We liked the rooftop bar although pricey. We wished it stayed opens little later.
Stayed 6 nights in Jul 2021

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family and small children
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness
Besides staff being nice, and a good location, they did not clean our room, rooms are dated, not clean at all. They picked up the trash just once during our stay.
Stayed 5 nights in Jul 2021

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
I stayed two (2) nights with NO running water in the bathroom. This hotel is extremely dirty and has poor service. I was supposed to stay full one week (7 nights), but I checked the 2nd day. The front desk staff is under trained, and they need serious training. Very poor service! Do not recommend anyone to stay at this hotel. The pictures on the internet are misleading! very dirthy & poor service!
Stayed 7 nights in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Business traveler, Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
I expected this to be an older property, and I have stayed in many older hotels and been happy with them. Old should not mean that the property was not clean. We had dirty sheets in the first room we were assigned and then when we changed rooms, found the same dirty sheets (hairs in sheets) and NOW had a dirty bathroom with toilet that had not been cleaned. We had to leave this property and stay somewhere else a mile away and in same price range that was sparkling. We are still trying to get in touch with Expedia for a refund.
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Everything was nice
Stayed 3 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location and room was designed well. Carpets were old. No clock and TV remote was missing. The one they brought stopped working. Windows were dirty. Beds were comfortable but slopped. Good price for the area.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff was super friendly and accommodating. I left a different hotel to come here and was not disappointed. Free Wifi and lounge, with a rooftop bar! The room itself is pretty nice too.
Stayed 5 nights in Jun 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Staff & service
The suite was very spacious and included 2 bedrooms and a kitchenette. The hotel was very quiet and seemed private. Didn't run into a lot of guests. Quick response from housekeeping when I requested more towels. Didn't like the fact that the hotel doesn't provide wash cloths, only hand towels which are too big to substitute for wash cloths. Hotel is older and is in need of updating at this point.
Stayed 4 nights in Jun 2021

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 1 night in May 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
1/2 star—Very disappointed. Had to change rooms due to hair and broken glass on the bathroom floor. Had to open the window to get air and carpet looked like it has seen better days. Asked the check in person about parking and he claimed that if we give the valet a ticket it would cover the parking then when we went to check out he claimed he never said that so it was quite expensive.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
No restaurant/parking is far away
Stayed 3 nights in May 2021

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities, property conditions & facilities
In 9 years of my living in the USA, I never saw a hotel dirty like this. If you want to save money it's okay but if you want to stay in a clean hotel look for another one... this is horrible and will never come back to it.
Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 2 nights in May 2021

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in May 2021

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Disliked: Cleanliness
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with group
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
The staff at the desk went above and beyond when my friend had a knee injury and needed assistance to return home. Thank you Rajesh. They were also very welcoming although we arrived earlier in the day than we expected. Will stay here next time I return to NY. Very convenient to Grand Central
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness
Needs better info to patrons
I believe we reserved a King bed but had a double instead. Hotel advertises two bars, one a rooftop bar. Neither bar was open nor did they have any signage regarding their closure or when they would reopen. Was looking forward to patronizing the rooftop bar.
Stayed 1 night in May 2021

4/5 Good

Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family and small children
Was just a place to stay. Nothing seemed to be there or open only saw one person at desk. Not to chatty. This could all be the cause of Covid. Location to Time Square, Central Park and many other site was great and reason I chose it.
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

3/5 Okay

Business traveler
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities
Needs an update ..
I chose this hotel based on location and price. I did not see many bad reviews and I am a pretty complacent client. As long as the hotel and room is clean and comfortable, I am content. My first impression as I walked up to the front entry door to the hotel was, oh no! The door was filthy. This did not set up a great impression. The lady at the counter was pleasant and efficient. She sent me up to room 7 hundred something. I walked in and I was hit with an open baby's pack and play and a dirty disgusting carpeted floor. I walked right out. and went right back to the lobby.. I asked for a clean and updated room and was given an apology and a room on the 10th floor.. much better.. updated bath and wood floors.. older furniture but fine. what I didn't understand was the wrinkled bed skirts. The bath and refrig /coffee area were really nice ..but why not pay attention to details. Beekman soaps.. comfy bed.. Nespresso coffee.. otherwise this room was fine. not sure i would be back.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Felt like a B&B when in the room. Old school charm.
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Great location, friendly staff, a bit noisy from the street, also the AC a bit noisy. I enjoyed my stay there
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

4/5 Good

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Rooms and lobby are dowdy, furnishings plain, but the rooms are a good size and the bathroom was fine, with nice products. They seem very short-staffed- I mentioned a chirping smoke detector to the front desk receptionist and he told me he was the only person in the building (at 6 pm on a Friday). Still, credit is due as he found the offending smoke detector and replaced the batteries. Not a luxury experience, but adequate. The room was way too hot, blasting out baseboard heat, which I had to counter with airconditioning, a waste of energy.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Cleanliness
Great location. Comfortable bed. Good shower. Furniture was not adequately dusted. Too much dust in the room.
Stayed 7 nights in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Staff & service
Disliked: Amenities
The hotel was alright, very old and not as fancy as the pictures show. But the staff was friendly and it was nice and quiet. We did not spend much time at the hotel so it did not even matter al we needed is a bed. They have a cute roof top, if you’re a smoker it is very convenient so you don’t have to sta d outside on the street. I would go back again.
Stayed 5 nights in Apr 2021
Response from Pere Frigola on Apr 12, 2021
Dear valued guest, Thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time to share your experience. I am glad that overall you had a great stay and our staff was friendly. We can't wait to have you back. Best, Pere Sanchez Frigola General Manager

3/5 Okay

Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service
Room is in need of renovation. No bath mat or washcloths in bathroom. Temperature control was not available.
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Pere Frigola on Apr 12, 2021
Dear Margaret, Thank you so much for sharing your experience and for providing your feedback. Best, Pere Sanchez Frigola General Manager

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Apr 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with group
Liked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021

5/5 Excellent

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities
Room was spacious for New York, corner of building. Had a genuine New York feel, lots of character. Location is perfect for everything. Block from grand central. Loved the hard wood floors, old furnishings, tiled bath was beautiful!
Stayed 2 nights in Apr 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Nice location. Friendly staff!
Nice location. Friendly staff!
Stayed 1 night in Apr 2021
Response from Pere Frigola on Apr 12, 2021
Thank you Scott for sharing your feedback. We can't wait to have you back. Best, Pere Sanchez Frigola General Manager

2/5 Poor

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Pere Frigola on Apr 12, 2021
Dear Darreldrea, Thank you for sharing you experience. It will be a pleasure to have you back. Best, Pere Sanchez Frigola General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021
Response from Pere Frigola on Apr 12, 2021
Thanks for sharing your experience. We can't wait to have you back. Best, Pere Sanchez Frigola General Manager

1/5 Terrible

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Room was horrible did not look anything
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Pere Frigola on Apr 12, 2021
Dear Leon, Thanks for taking the time to share your feedback. I am sorry you did not like the room and I wish we knew so we could have shown you several options as all our rooms are individually decorated. Please do let me know next time you stay with us and will be more than happy to show you different rooms so we can fit your needs. Best, Pere Sanchez Frigola General Manager

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021

1/5 Terrible

Stayed 2 nights in Mar 2021

1/5 Terrible

Disliked: Staff & service, property conditions & facilities, room comfort
Stay Away
The hotel lacked valet parking. Up to the guest to go find a garage. There was no cold water in the first room, so we were relocated to another room. Once we returned from dinner in the new room, we found that we had NO water at all. We requested a new room again and were told the hotel had no water at all. There was no assistance from the hotel to relocate us, so we had to find another place to stay at 10 PM, pack up again and move.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021

5/5 Excellent

Business traveler
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
5 Stars Across The Board! Great place, clean, professional and hospitable.
Stayed 1 night in Mar 2021
Response from Toni on Mar 18, 2021
Thank you! We are so delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon!

5/5 Excellent

Comfy Stay
This hotel was like staying in an actual NYC apartment. It had a very cozy/homey vibe to it, which I loved. It's super close to Grand Central Station, so travelling throughout the city is extremely easy/convenient! Definitely recommend staying here if you're looking for a comfortable and affordable trip.

3/5 Okay

Disliked: Cleanliness
Stayed 2 nights in Feb 2021

4/5 Good

Traveled with family
Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Very nice place ,clean, friendly and close to no es places Thanks
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020
Response from Natalia on Jan 8, 2021
Dear Guest, We are delighted to hear your stay at Roger Smith was pleasant. Thank you so much for your positive comments and taking the time to review your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day, Natalia Garcia Ickes

4/5 Good

Liked: Cleanliness, staff & service, amenities, property conditions & facilities
Stayed 3 nights in Dec 2020
Response from Pere Frigola on Jan 8, 2021
Dear Junnery, Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback. We can't wait to have you back. Best, Pere Sanchez General Manager

5/5 Excellent

Stayed 1 night in Dec 2020

3/5 Okay

Traveled with family
Disliked: Cleanliness, staff & service
You get what you pay for...
Room service is only Monday-Thursday, I stayed Thursday-Sunday( no room service for me). I ran out of towels, shampoos, soaps, I’m glad I always bring my own. The elevator is really small, 3 people only, the door is about 2 feet wide or smaller, and there was a roach taking the elevator one day. The A/C unit is so noisy that we had to sleep with it off. The people on front desk very nice and helpful.
Stayed 4 nights in Nov 2020
Response from Natalia on Jan 8, 2021
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. I apologize for any inconvenience that you had during your stay. I will make sure to communicate this feedback to the rest of our team to ensure that we reach the standards and keep improving. Please note that your comfort is our top priority. Hope to see you again soon. Have a wonderful day, Natalia Garcia Ickes