Ratings based on 8,844 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: Everything!
Excellent! So beautiful! Convenient to ALL attractions! LOVED IT ALL!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

few blocks from theater district

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: The vicinity was convenient
I would recommend the following improvements: 1. coffee in the room or in the lobby for guests 2. elevators were being renovated so they were slow 3. better plugs in the room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Traditional Mid-Town New York Home

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Pros: There is a great feeling of being in the center of things when one enters the lobby...of both past history and present events.
Cons: I cannot say that I would wish for any improvement, as the price is so reasonable.
Location: The location is simply perfect for a trip to New York City. The best hidden jewel is the second floor restaurant at Tommy Bahama--one block away.
Let me start with room service: Served as one would see it in a 1940's movie on a vast silver tray. A handsome and witty doorman. A lobby so reminiscent of the 1920's that they even have flickering candlelight bulbs in the wall sconces that appear to be real candles when one squints. Filmmakers take note of a great nostalgic NYC location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Okay hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2017
Located near Grand Central was such a convenient thing. Facilities are old and only 3 lifts were working even tho they had 6. The room was old and depressing. It was good that I could stay here reasonably. If not, I'll def pass.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Weekend in NY

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Visiting for the weekend. The hotel was in a good location which made it easier to get around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Great hotel! Close to the places we wanted to visit (Times Square, Rockefeller Center). The concierge was really helpful with questions about the area and the doorman hailed us a cab when we needed it. Room service was quick with good food. Will definitely stay here again if I'm back in Manhattan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, MA

Add on charges are excessive

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Get rid of high wifi charges
Charges for wifi is sky high and unnecessary. Doorman does not open door, watches you come and go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Rooms are a little bit dated, but are in good condition and very clean. Lobby is emaculate staff is friendly and helpful. Overall the experience was excellent. This was my 3rd time to New York, all at different hotels around Rockefeller and Times Square and I would recommend this to anyone anytime.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Blackpool, UK

Comfortable hotel with friendly staff.

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Comfortable surroundings
Cons: Free wifi would be appreciated
Location: Close to Grand Central Station. accessible by corridor just over the road opposite main entrance. All attractions available via subway or cross-town
Always a great place to stay. Hotel can get busy at peak times but staff will allocate you to upper, quieter floors for long stays. Some elevators have been updated, the rest are planned for re-furb. Should make getting a lift to lobby easier at busy breakfast time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from IOM

Close to amenities in New York,

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: Close to amenities
Cons: Wifi charge
Location: Close to Grand Central Station for Dubway, Empire State Building, Time Square, Rockefeller Centre and Central Park.
Room had rubbish from previous guests, rooms very small but adequate. Had a lovely ambience, wifi expensive in rooms. Get charged a daily fee. Hotel is in a great position close to Grand Central station, Empire State Building and Rockerfeller Building.