Ratings based on 19,393 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great position

Posted May 26, 2017
Lack of information at the check-in, a simple leaflet given at reception or info in your room would help especially regarding the wifi which seems an archaic arrangement. Bar staff in the main bar are surly unless you are female under 30 and pretty, the rooms are small and noisy but the housekeeping staff do their best overall the place is begging for a refit.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Old Hotel

Posted May 26, 2017
Enjoyed my stay at The Roosevelt. Very convenient location, nice bar. This is a nice, old hotel with character. Getting a little long in the tooth, but clean, comfortable and the staff were excellent and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from essex

Great central location

Posted May 24, 2017
Location great. Staff helpful & room spotless. Only criticism is the $21 a day charge for wifi & use of gym. We were told it was compulsory even if we have no intention of using these services. However we did get a great deal on the hotel so a further $80 wasn't too painful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good mid-town location, very convenient to GCT.

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: Convenient location.
Cons: Room cleanliness, better check in and check out process with their people. They really should have automated check in and check out like most places.
Check in was very poor. Only 2 staffing the check in desk with a line of over 20 guests. First impression was poor. Took far to long. It seems as though the employees are generally unhappy as I was greeted with a sullen faced woman during check in and the same at check out. Room was very outdated and smelled bad. The bathroom was worse as it smelled of mold and standing water. Was conveniently located but that's about all.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

Skip this hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
The hotel is in a good location, but that's the only nice thing I can say about this hotel. The staff was rude. We did not encounter any staff that was nice during our 3 days at the hotel. Our room was rundown and in bad need of a renovation, and was not anywhere close to the room that was depicted in the pictures online.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

In Need of Renovations

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The location is great.
Cons: Repair the hall light fixtures.
Location: Grand Central is right around the corner. I was attending a conference at the nearby Grand Hyatt.
I was disappointed right off the bat when at check-in they told me they were charging me $20 more than the Expedia-listed price for some kind of made-up charge, for which I received nothing in return. The clerk also warned me about the propensity of the electronic key cards to lose their effectiveness, and sure enough, my key cards lost their effectiveness on both nights I was there, forcing me to go all the way back to the front desk and wait in line to get new keys. The chamber maids were also very loud ion the hallways and adjacent room. Many of the light fixtures in the halls were out of service.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plymouth

Nice central hotel with an old style charm

Posted May 24, 2017
Staff were friendly and helpful. Bad reviews I have read on water temperature and wait for lifts, I have not experienced this. Hotel is close to Grand Central and Fifth Avenue. Only disliked the so called Resort Fee and not having any coffee making facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Roosevelt Hotel

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Update furnishings thruout & update Mechanical systems. Seriously, window A/C unit???
Location: Grand Central Station
I've stayed here before (2010) & liked it. It's conveniently located (Grand Central Station). The old hotel HAD charm!! Unfortunately, now it's just....OLD. Carpets have not been replaced since I've been there & A/C (window unit) in my room wasn't working on hottest MAY day in 15 years, so, I didn't sleep the first night, & they didn't relocate me until the 2nd day & with no refund of any kind for that lost day. So.....I can't recommend the place anymore.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oxford, UK

Ok hotel but could be so much better

Posted May 23, 2017
The best thing about this hotel is the location. It's far enough out of Times Square to be quieter but close enough to walk to all the action. The rest of the hotel is average. Our room was large but in real need of a slick of paint and a good clean. It looks tired and dated. We didn't try the food the prices put us off. You can est better food elsewhere for a better price.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful lobby!

Posted May 20, 2017
Walkable to the theater district & Grand Central. The elevators are very slow & we didn't have coffee in our room. Otherwise comfortable!