Ratings based on 8,931 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SAN FRANCISCO

Nice Hotel near lots of things to see

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Nice hotel and location to downtown and Time Square. Heating system needs upgrade our room was noisy. But overall very nice place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden fees

Posted Feb 18, 2017
After flying into NYC we went to check into the Roosevelt hotel and were told about a $21 a night fee that we were previously unaware of. For an additional $21 a night more we could have stayed at a more modern hotels. It seemed like hidden fees.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Just fine

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pretty good location. The hotel is dated. Not sure if I just got the "Expedia" room, meaning it was small, dark, across from a staff area and definitely not a king size bed but it left much to be desired. My room was across from the staff laundry and elevators room 324 I believe? This mixed with the surprisingly not soundproof doors led to an unrequested early morning. Bathroom was tiny and outdated. Room service staff was lovely but front desk staff not so much. There is an additional $20+ per night charge for I'm not sure what, but be advised. Elevators take forever. Food was decent. Overall I think there are better choices in NYC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I love Lucy

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Had a reservation for a deluxe room with a KING size bed and it wasn't ready when checking in. Got a room with two double beds. Don't know what makes it a deluxe room because a holiday inn has nicer rooms and you have a fridge and coffee machine in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Posted Feb 16, 2017
It was a great experience. The bed was really comfortable. The only thing missing were robes.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB, Canada

Nice hotel, close to Times Square & Grand Central

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pretty nice hotel, however, I was not blown away by their Deluxe King room for how much they charge for it!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Walls are thin, horrible bar service, no hot water.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from calgary

Centrally located

Posted Feb 15, 2017
There is a mandatory resort fee of $20 per night. If it is mandatory, why can't they include it in the room rate so that we can compare the rate with other hotels. I was misled.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to all attractions

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Staff were a bit abrupt checking in and out rooms very old but clean no facilities to make tea or coffee in rooms we asked for a kettle and was told they would send us a coffee machine up but it never arrived couldn't even buy coffee in hotel before 6:00 am would not recommend this hotel but New York itself was fantastic
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Nice hotel but not the best. If you don't want to spend a lot but want to name drop a classic hotel stay here. If you're looking for a hot shower, go somewhere else. Took 15 minutes to get the shower warm enough to not freeze in it. Staff was courteous at best but made no effort to make us feel welcome or give recommendations on things to do. The price is worth it if you're on a budget but you can still find something better in the same range.