Ratings based on 18,095 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Leeds, England

First Time NYC

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: Very happy that wifi was included in our Expedia package! Safety deposit box easy to use, no extra charge
Cons: There were no tea and coffeee facilities in room Lifts poor...Wait a long time particularly going down at busy times
Location: Location brilliant, 2 min walk to Grand Central Terminus
This was my daughter and my first time in NYC. Overall very happy with Hotel particularly location Would recommend to all who have $! We had an awesome time... busy, emotional and would highly recommend Big Bus for opportunity to see City whilst sat down! We did over 20,000 steps every day!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

For price rooms are basic compared to UK

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Receptionists unfriendly Concierge very helpful Bar staff friendly Room attendant nice
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great hotel close to everything

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Had a great time great pick can't wait to stay here again
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

city hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: lobby, beds
Cons: rooms tired
Location: very good for Midtown
one night stay, lobby good, location good, hotel rooms tired although refurb work going on
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Anticuado, los baños decimonónicos. En el bar y recepción no son muy simpáticos. La limpieza diaria es de risa.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Very satisfied

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Stephanie ........Hotel settings ....Perfect location .....Comfort of room on the ninth floor .......friendliness of most of the staff....
Cons: Some of the decor.......And room fittings .....Not charging five dollars for a single fried egg because it isn't on the breakfast menu ........
Location: Perfect location almost everything is within walking distance
After reading some concerning reviews before our visit I was slightly concerned . On arrival we were shown to a very tiny room with a TVs that didn't work ,I phoned down to reception and spoke to a lady named a Stephanie .....who arranged to move us to another room on the 9th floor ( which we had originally requested) but was told none were available on this floor . The room was a lovely sized room some of the decor and figments were dated ,but what else can you expect in an older large hotel ....we had breakfast one morning and was surprised when they wanted to charge us five dollars for one fried egg ....ridiculously over priced ......we would definitely return ....... Thank you Stephanie for your politeness and helpfulness....some of your colleagues could learn from you .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from D

Hotel lobby is great... rooms need some updating!

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Rooms were poor and need some updating. The view from the room was of rusty old pipes!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bristol, Va

!st trip to New York

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Pros: Staff and the look and feel
The staff were very helpful and pleasant. They went out of their way to answer some ?'s and assist us. We will be coming back to this hotel and we will reccomend.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Thanksgiving stay

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Overall beautiful historic hotel. Our room was very quiet all but one night due to a loud guest in the hall. Very comfortable beds. Rooms are small but we were only there to sleep. Some issues were hot water, more hangers needed and letter got stuck. For some reason we had to let our hot water run for 30-40 mins for it to get warm and longer if we wanted it hot. Hitler maintenance came up.immediately when we called but that was the solution. Could have used more hangers since the room was small it would help with storage. Our letter got stuck in the mail slot but staff got it out. Overall good stay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charged for internet after saying it was free

Posted Dec 4, 2016
Disappointed that they told me at check-in that internet charges would be refunded on check-out but then told me I had to pay after all and that they made a mistake when I checked out. Spent ~50 bucks on internet for 3 days that I wouldn't have used had I known it was not free.