Ratings based on 19,567 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Period hotel, ideally placed in Midtown

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Comfortable rooms, friendly staff and an ideal location mean I'd stay here again. A water pipe leaked into our room, but we were moved immediately and given an upgrade too. Problems happen in any organisation. How they deal with them is what makes a place special, and I was very impressed with the hotel's response.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Hotel near Grand Central

Posted Jun 24, 2017
small, out of date. one small table, no double pane windows. very noisy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york , NY

Overall good but the bathrooms are out dated

Posted Jun 24, 2017
Nice place , Empire State Building walk was 16 mins and Times Square was 12 mins . Very good location , plus saving on taxi bills and safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Place to sleep & shower

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Great location if doing Time Square. Close to Grand central station. Everything was walkable. Place was old but clean......only complaint was the mattresses in our room were done.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

The hotel looks really nice in the pictures.

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: The name and location.
Cons: Room conditions.
Location: Midtown Manhattan. Close to Time Square and other main attractions of NYC.
When we got there, their systems didn't get my reservation from expedia. After a long wait and time wasted on the phone, finally my reservation got accepted. The billiards room was closed. The rooftop bar was also closed. Why pay the resort fee if nothing in the resort is available to use? These were both things shown in the hotel pictures that we wanted to do. Our room also had a bad smoky/mildew smell that persisted our entire stay. Every time we considered going to the front desk to deal with it, the line was half way through the lobby so we decided not to waste our time and just dealt with it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto, canada

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Our stay was fairly good, the hotel was in a great location. There was only 1 incident, my luggage handle was ripped off my bag by the bellman and the hotel staff did not apologize or offer to fix it. It was busy when we arrived so we were not given very much attention, but the overall stay was great. The room is comfortable and the hotel itself is nice. Very close to grand central station and an easy walk to time square.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a great experience

Posted Jun 12, 2017
Pros: location
2 of the 3 mornings the water never got hot, unpleasant. When I arrived 2 hours early I was told my room was ready but if I wanted to drop my bag in the room it would be $75.00...really? Not great customer service in my mind.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Luxury ends at the lobby! Customer service is extremely bad, except the cleaning maids. Front desk staff was rude, messed up our rooms and did not apologize, failed to give us our VIP free drink tickets (even when we asked them about it, no apologizes were given), conceirge is just as bad, did not pick up our calls when they messed up on our rooms (and they were not busy!!!) The bedroom walls has visible stains that looked like dried blood, gross!! We paid for a queen bed and got a standard, and they claimed It was a queen bed (which was not true, it was a standard. We have photos to prove it), the first room we got was SO SMALL and not worth the cost at all. I think they should go get a measuring tape and measure the standard and queen beds to know the difference. Our first room was 1271, and the room we ended up with was 1236. Even the decor and walls in the lobby had dirty stains and were visible that it was actually really gross. Oh best of all, no basic necessities in both rooms we got, no fridge or coffee machine.. Besides the friendly maids and great location, there is nothing else positive about this hotel. Worse one I've ever stayed at in New York City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant location

Posted Jun 11, 2017
This hotel is a 2 minute walk from Grand Central, with lots of attractions within walking distance! Only downside was the size of the beds, they were smaller than a double bed which was too small for two adults!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel for location

Posted Jun 10, 2017
Pros: The hotel restaurant
Cons: Rooms
Location: Location was close to Rockefeller Center, St Patricks Cathedral, Times Square, Grand Central Station and Fifth Avenue
I reserved a Deluxe Double Room, but it was so small that two people could not walk between the bed and the desk. The carpet by the AC was wet, the curtains were stuck and would not completely open. Also there are six elevators and only three were working on Memorial Day weekend! To get hot water, we had to run the water for 30 minutes in the tub and the drainage in the sink was bad. What is the "Deluxe" part of this room? I know this is a renovated older hotel, but these problems should not exist at those prices.