Ratings based on 17,027 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from texas

nice hotel close to most attraction on my list

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: every one was able to help with what ever we neededt
Cons: I like it just the way it is
Location: shopping top of the rook central park train station times squere
the hotel was very welcoming and staff very informetive
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dated hotel which caters to foreign tourists

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Pros: Well located in mid town
Cons: Remodel and modernize the facilities
This was rated as a four star hotel, but I didn't find it to deserve that high a rating. Very dated facilities and full of foreign tourists which overcrowded the lobbies and especially the elevators.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ontario, canada

Hotel location

Posted Jul 28, 2016
Walking distance to most NYC tourist areas. Don't expect much more.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Austin, TX

Location & decor are great

Posted Jul 27, 2016
I really enjoyed the location of the hotel. It was right outside of Times Square, which is the area I wanted to be near, but not so close that it was so hectic. The decor of the hotel is just really beautiful. However, like others have said, this hotel is not in the best condition. Everything was clean, but the tub needs to be replaced. There were several things that needed replacing just because the hotel is older. The staff was nice, and I knew what I was getting into so it wasn't a huge deal. The room was a bit smaller than I was expecting though, but I know lots of things in NY are small so I guess that's typical. There was no coffee maker inside, and you have to pay for WIFI.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Grand hotel in fab location

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: Lobby, bedroom, view, location.
Cons: Attitude of staff on reception. Price of breakfast too high.
Location: New York Public library, Grand Central Station.
The Roosevelt is really a grand old dame - she's beautiful, larger than life, and just a little past her prime. We enjoyed our stay here in the very heart of Manhattan. The room was large, beds comfortable, view super. Admittedly, the female staff on the reception desk were quite frosty but the male waiters and bell boys fell over themselves to be helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Argentina

Good location but nothing more

Posted Jul 26, 2016
We stayed for 4 nights. We had a problem with the key room since the beginning. It didn't work well. Suddenly, when we had to be at a certain time in another place, we went to take a shower and the lock died. We wait for one hour outside our room waiting for someone to come to fix it. Every time we went downstairs to complain, they talked with someone on the phone and said to us that the engineer was at our door fixing it. We went upstairs and there was nobody. This happened to us three times. We are not happy, we do not recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Very old bathrooms, peeled tub, no space. Beds uncomfortable. Cool lobby though. Very good location. Close to grand central, time square, and Broadway shoes. Only gives 3 free wifi access when 4 people are in the room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Weatherford, TX

The staff made the stay amazing!

Posted Jul 25, 2016
I had a rough time the first few days visiting New York. When I went to check in at the Roosevelt, I did have to wait longer than I wanted. I was helped by a lady at the front desk named Wendy. She literally turned my frown upside down. The was a Bellhop named Felipe that was absolutely amazing as well. Because of these two people, my trip and my stay was incredible. I really appreciate their generosity and customer service. A million thank yous.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Santo Domingo, DR

Hermoso hotel en el centro de Manhattan

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Este hermoso hotel conjuga lo bello de lo antiguo con la comodidad de lo moderno. Nos encantó su excelente ubicación, la comodidad de sus habitaciones y la amabilidad del personal. Está en el centro, a poca distancia de los lugares más relevantes de NY. La única desventaja es que no incluyen desayuno y no tienen wifi gratis, lo cual deberian considerar, aunque eso implique una tarifa un poco más alta. Sin duda elegiría nuevamente este hotel en mi próximo viaje a New York.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 23, 2016
First room that we checked in had a damp odor. Second room was better but we dealt with the inconvenience of packing , checking out and checking in and unpacking again. Staff was very helpful and pleasant especially Marcia at the front desk.