Ratings based on 18,777 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from halifax ns

Great Vibe, Great Location

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Had an excellent stay at the Roosevelt. Central location and easy to get to all areas of Manhatten. Rooms are somewhat small and a bit dated but the price you pay for such a great historic hotel. Lobby area is second to none. Loaded with character and charm from a time gone by. We would most definitely stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

An unexpected surprise/discovery!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Wanted to relive memories from long ago while still a child when my family would visit New York City and we always stayed at the Roosevelt Hotel. The memories of it's interior beauty and the evening dinners at the Roosevelt Grill listening to the music of Guy Lombardo and his Canadians have lasted a lifetime in my memory of 75 years. This past weekend my family and I returned to New York to spend three wonderful days and nights at the Roosevelt. What a wonderful experience it was! The rooms are excellent and the bathrooms are over stuffed with thick turkish bath towels and amenities. The beds and linens were absolutely superb. The house cleaning staff were the best. The morning breakfast buffets are not to be missed! I have never enjoyed a breakfast buffet as much as the one served daily from 7 to 11 AM in the Roosevelt Grille. Don't let the $25.00 breakfast buffet charge discourage your feasting on the thick peppered bacon slices with crispy sausage links, fresh squeezed orange juice, richly roasted coffee, pastries galore, fresh fruits and berries, and lush surroundings plus such beautiful views of the surrounding people filled streets. Honestly, I expected only to find a few possible memories of the Roosevelt's past and found instead the past and the best of any of the present New York City hotels. Did I mention that it is in the heart of every place you would want to walk to and visit? Don't miss this under-rated gem! I know we are going to return again!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not a 4 star hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: Quality of room.
Location: Location is great. Near Rockafella Center and Times Square
Touts themselves as the "Grand Dam of New York". It is not. But I'm sure at one time it was. Room smelled terrible. Very basic. Elevators had issues at times. Not what I expected. Will not stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Staff was very helpful. Walking distance to many tourist attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SAN FRANCISCO

Nice Hotel near lots of things to see

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Nice hotel and location to downtown and Time Square. Heating system needs upgrade our room was noisy. But overall very nice place to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old hotel with rude bellmen

Posted Feb 18, 2017
The hotel is very pretty but it is also very old. The walls are extremely thin and you can hear everything going on. The front desk staff were very pleasant but if you don't have any cash on you, make sure you don't have a bellmen help you with anything. If they carry your bag or touch your bag they expect a tip. They will stand there and wait for their tip. If you don't have any cash, prepare to receive an attitude.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden fees

Posted Feb 18, 2017
After flying into NYC we went to check into the Roosevelt hotel and were told about a $21 a night fee that we were previously unaware of. For an additional $21 a night more we could have stayed at a more modern hotels. It seemed like hidden fees.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Just fine

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pretty good location. The hotel is dated. Not sure if I just got the "Expedia" room, meaning it was small, dark, across from a staff area and definitely not a king size bed but it left much to be desired. My room was across from the staff laundry and elevators room 324 I believe? This mixed with the surprisingly not soundproof doors led to an unrequested early morning. Bathroom was tiny and outdated. Room service staff was lovely but front desk staff not so much. There is an additional $20+ per night charge for I'm not sure what, but be advised. Elevators take forever. Food was decent. Overall I think there are better choices in NYC.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I love Lucy

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Had a reservation for a deluxe room with a KING size bed and it wasn't ready when checking in. Got a room with two double beds. Don't know what makes it a deluxe room because a holiday inn has nicer rooms and you have a fridge and coffee machine in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Posted Feb 16, 2017
It was a great experience. The bed was really comfortable. The only thing missing were robes.