Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
We had a wonderful two night stay at the Sherry Netherland. Honestly, I couldn't recommend it more highly. It had everything we needed (even before we realized we needed it!). It's location was also unbeatable. Directly across from Central Park and near very nice walking sections of 5th Avenue, Madison and Park. We are already looking at planning a return trip!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location however hotel is old

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room - staff training especially housekeeping
Location is very good however the hotel itself very old, they still have elevater operaters. Our room was remodeled but was done in very dark colors. We prefer a brighter room. The room was poorly layed out requiring nite lights on every wall so you dont break your neck at night. Problem with this is there is too much light in the room so we had to cover the lights with pillows to sleep. housekeeping and bell staff not customer service oriented. No comparison to four seasons or st regis hotels where staff very well trained
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central NJ

Great location but poor hospitality

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We just stayed this past weekend at the Sherry-Netherland. Upon arrival we were greeted by the doorman who helped escort our luggage to the reception desk as valet parking was also taken care of. I have to say that my husband and I were displeased at the reception. Elizabeth was reading her cell phone when we arrived at the front desk. We were the only ones checking in and she needed to complete whichever activity she was conducting on her cell phone before tending to us. Next she asked us for some credentials and information, never making eye contact or smiling. I'm thinking, "Are we at the right hotel, the one just voted #1 in the US?" When we were given our room number on the 3rd floor, I had asked if there was something higher in the hotel and she indicated that there wasn't, referring to the fact that we were not going to hear any noise because the rooms had double-paned windows. Perhaps that's not why we had asked for another room but she was insistent on us keeping this room. Fine, but she could have prompted to ask why we were making that request. Already I was not feeling the "luxury" of this place. Next, we were escorted upstairs to our room and on our way, the elevator greeter smiled and welcomed us. Finally, a smile and a decent welcome. The bellman who had our luggage was wonderful. He was very enthusiastic and shared with us some of the history of the hotel. How wonderful! He smiled, showed us around our suite and offered to do anything for us during our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Home In NYC

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Such a wonderful oasis from the hustle and bustle of NYC. Great location!
5 out of 5
by James from Palm Beach, Fl.

Perfect. Old School.

Posted Jun 25, 2016 on Hotels
Has been the most excellent hotel for the 40 years I've been staying there when in New York.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Anne from Rancho Mirage

Classic NY boutique hotel.

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was amazing, helpful. Classic old time service, elevator operators, everyone helpful and looking out for you.
5 out of 5
by Leah from Pensacola, FL

Slice of heaven.

Posted May 26, 2016 on Hotels
Fabulous!!! Five star, boutique hotel of 50 rooms with beautifully appointed rooms. Everyone was so polite and helpful. Most of the Sherry Netherland is owner occupied condos so you felt like you were part of a residence rather than a hotel. The architecture within the hotel is beautiful. The elevator operators wore their uniforms proudly even down to their white gloves. Such old world charm. We had reserved an inside courtyard room but were upgraded and we overlooked the street. I was afraid we would hear street notice as we were on the second floor but it was so quiet and peaceful from the outside and within the hallways too. No slamming doors or the noise of another room's shower or toilet flushing. And the location was directly across from Central Park! We plan on returning next year and there is no doubt where we will stay! Thank you for the best time ever!!!!
5 out of 5
by Christopher

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Very nice. Clean and classy. Across 5th ave from Central Park.