Ratings based on 209 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Very nice. Clean and classy. Across 5th ave from Central Park.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2016
The staff are lovely and kind. Excellent location for MoMa and Central Park access. Also close to metro. For the price of the room, it would have been nice to include breakfast in the cost.
4 out of 5
by Michael

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
May 28, 2016
Thank you for staying at The Sherry Netherland Hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return. Warm Regards.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Pa.

Old World NYC style

Posted Dec 29, 2015 on Hotels
Outstanding location at 59th & 5th. White glove service throughout . Harry Cipriani's restaurant one star less and silly expensive . Old World NYC LUXURY but boutique hotel may not be for everyone.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from indianapolis

perfect location, at 59th +5th Ave.Wonderful staff

Posted Dec 1, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, quiet and comfortable rooms
Cons: On premise restaurant choices - adding a Sarabeth's would be perfect, although out of character with the 'old world' feel of the place.
Location: Central Park, Fifth Ave, Madison Ave boutiques, walk to museums, Rock Center, all of midtown at your doorstep
Very intimate hotel with 8 rooms to a floor, perfect staff who remember your floor, name. good workout room, hair/nail salon on premises. Most rooms are owned and individually decorated. Quiet. Suites with kitchen, living room on every floor. Shower is smallish, but not W-size. Ciprianis is overpriced. Starbucks 1 block away, Huge Apple store, Plaza Hotel across the street. Cabs easy, walk everyplace. Room service food is good, not ridiculously overpriced. (eggs benedict $28 with tax, tip) Our room, not suite, was 375 sq Ft, so large for NYC.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed!

Posted Nov 21, 2015 on Hotels
I simply cannot understand the rave reviews and the high ranking of this hotel. Yes, the rooms are spacious but they are also very outdated and badly in need of refurbishing. The much hyped lobby is not at all impressive looking more like a corridor than a room. Luckily I was there for only one night. Arriving late, I found that although the bathroom was clean, the flush was not working as there was no water filling into the cistern. Hoping to leave early the next day and being very tired, alone and not wishing to be disturbed nor interested in a free upgrade for that one night, I just put up with it, informing them of my problem on my check out. Whilst the staff at the reception was very nice, the Managing Director was extremely rude to my great surprise. She did not apologize and said it was strange I did not inform them of the problem before. And reiterated that sentiment even after I gave her my reasons for not calling in the night. Thus ended an average stay with an extremely unpleasant experience. I will not return. And honestly, even if I disregard the unpleasant conversation with the rude and defensive director I can only give it three stars in comparison to the Plaza and the Baccarat. Maybe not even that.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Best Place to Stay in Manhattan!

Posted Nov 11, 2015
Pros: Location and service
Cons: Nothing
Location: Walked to Grand Central and NY Public Library with ease - as well to Carmines for dinner... Central Park across the street does not hurt!
Can't say enough about this place. They anticipate your needs and are ready to act on a moment's notice. Very nice rooms and excellent service in a great part of the City. Thanks so much - as always - you exceeded expectations. Clay
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 2, 2015
Pros: Service, cleanliness, aesthetics, location.
Location: 59th and 5th Ave.--need I say more?
The hotel is expensive--and worth it. Every aspect is excellent. it added to our NYC experience.
5 out of 5
by Irwin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Remco from Dordrecht

Tophotel

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastisch hotel. Zeer centraal gelegen tegenover Central Park. Ruime kamers wat uniek is op deze locatie. Uitstekende service. Prachtige decoratie, originele fresco's, vriendelijk personeel.