Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from buffalo new york

Perfect location. Extremely friendly polite and we

Posted Dec 21, 2016
Could not have asked for a better experience. From the minute we were welcomed from the doorman to the hotel registry to the bell captain and all other staff we had a most pleasing experience. Location perfection especially at holiday time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kirtland Hills, OH

Great location and size

Posted Dec 12, 2016
We had 2 nights at the SN and we were here to see the Hamilton. Location is great. We had a suite which was very spacious. We had great views from the many windows which was terrific. I wish there were 2 bathrooms, that would be my only comment. I would stay here again because of the size. We had a nice Bottle of wine waiting in our room and complementary soft drinks and sparkling water. Typically we stay at the four seasons and we thought we would try something different. We were very happy with our choice. Plus, Chanel is right around the corner. Lol.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 18, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, NY

Old New York charm and a great location.

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Location, comfort
The location was outstanding, right on the edge of Cental Park. It was an easy walk to Broadway, time square, the MET, Rockefeller Center and a number of other things to do and see. The building is beautiful, the lobby is stunning. The staff was attentive and friendly. Our room was clean, spacious and well decorated. I am perticular about beds and am often diapointed/uncomfortable in hotel beds. I was very pleased and very well rested during our stay. Most surprisingly, our room on the 15th floor was blissfully quiet, even with protesters, police baracades and constant sirens outside ( recent election related) I would recommend this hotel to others and would most defiantly return for future visits.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Service was impeccable. Everyone was very nice.

Posted Nov 12, 2016 on Hotels
Everything was great, but we were on the second floor. When I spoke to the reservation desk for more info, I specifically asked for a higher floor, like 15rh floor or higher. They had nothing about my request. The room we did have was huge. Bathroom stopper was broken, but other than that all was great. Our location was great too
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New York's Finest

Posted Nov 11, 2016 on Hotels
Just superlative in every way.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Service and Perfect Location

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Truly excellent - from smooth check in (I arrived 30 minutes early), super friendly staff, white-gloved elevator man, bellhop, delicious breakfast, complimentary NYT, doorman who hailed cabs and opened doors. Very special experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 12, 2016
We had a wonderful two night stay at the Sherry Netherland. Honestly, I couldn't recommend it more highly. It had everything we needed (even before we realized we needed it!). It's location was also unbeatable. Directly across from Central Park and near very nice walking sections of 5th Avenue, Madison and Park. We are already looking at planning a return trip!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location however hotel is old

Posted Sep 9, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room - staff training especially housekeeping
Location is very good however the hotel itself very old, they still have elevater operaters. Our room was remodeled but was done in very dark colors. We prefer a brighter room. The room was poorly layed out requiring nite lights on every wall so you dont break your neck at night. Problem with this is there is too much light in the room so we had to cover the lights with pillows to sleep. housekeeping and bell staff not customer service oriented. No comparison to four seasons or st regis hotels where staff very well trained
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Central NJ

Great location but poor hospitality

Posted Aug 23, 2016
We just stayed this past weekend at the Sherry-Netherland. Upon arrival we were greeted by the doorman who helped escort our luggage to the reception desk as valet parking was also taken care of. I have to say that my husband and I were displeased at the reception. Elizabeth was reading her cell phone when we arrived at the front desk. We were the only ones checking in and she needed to complete whichever activity she was conducting on her cell phone before tending to us. Next she asked us for some credentials and information, never making eye contact or smiling. I'm thinking, "Are we at the right hotel, the one just voted #1 in the US?" When we were given our room number on the 3rd floor, I had asked if there was something higher in the hotel and she indicated that there wasn't, referring to the fact that we were not going to hear any noise because the rooms had double-paned windows. Perhaps that's not why we had asked for another room but she was insistent on us keeping this room. Fine, but she could have prompted to ask why we were making that request. Already I was not feeling the "luxury" of this place. Next, we were escorted upstairs to our room and on our way, the elevator greeter smiled and welcomed us. Finally, a smile and a decent welcome. The bellman who had our luggage was wonderful. He was very enthusiastic and shared with us some of the history of the hotel. How wonderful! He smiled, showed us around our suite and offered to do anything for us during our stay.