Ratings based on 1,704 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Great Midtown Manhattan Hotel

Posted Aug 24, 2015
We recently stayed at the Strand for a quick weekend to NYC. The staff were SUPER friendly and nice, the hotel is in a great Midtown Manhattan location that is close to a ton and easy access to all. My only minor complaint was that the room was small (as most Manhattan rooms are).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wolfenbüttel

Super zentral mit cooler Roof-Top Bar

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Lage, Dachterrasse, komfortable, ruhige Zimmer
Location: 37 West Zwischen 5th und 6th Avenue. sehr zentral auch zum Broadway/Times Sqare
Hatten Hotel für 3 intensive New York Tage gebucht. Zimmer sind komfortabel und modern eingerichtet. Die Lage ist sehr zentral zur 5th Avenue, Times Sqare, Grand Cental Station allies gut zu Fuß zu erreichen. Die Dachterrassen-Bar mit direktem Blick auf das Empire State Building ist der Hammer. Der Ausblick aus den Zimmern hinten raus ist nicht so schön, hat uns aber nicht gestört, da man die wenigste Teit auf dem Zimmer verbringt. Würden das Hotel jederzeit wieder buchen.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milano

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Un soggiorno fantastico. Posizione ottima. Tranquillo. Personale gentile. Roof spettacolare. Avevamo due camere una per noi è una per i tre ragazzi dove si è rotta l'aria condizionata. Senza chiedere ci hanno proposto immediatamente il cambio. Noi abbiamo rifiutato perché freddolosi ma da parte del personale l'attenzione e la disponibilità e' stata massima. Non ci è piaciuta la prima colazione ma son gusti... Lo consiglio decisamente!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NH

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Outstanding staff a wonderful group of people would definitely go back. The room is a bit small but it was very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Worcester UK

Great locacation for NYC first timers!

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Pros: Great location, room and friendly staff.
Location: Easy to walk to Penn station for subway all over the city. Herald square and Bryant park, restaurants, shopping all nearby.
From the warm welcome at check in to the smooth car ride to the airport on our departure, nothing was too much trouble for the staff at the Strand. A wonderful team, a credit to the hotel. The hotel is well located for all NYC attractions. Not far from the subway which makes getting around really easy. We also felt safe returning at night. We loved our stay and hope to return soon, we will definately be re-booking the Strand.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from 群馬県

ミッドタウンのど真ん中。最高の立地の感じの良いホテル。

Posted Aug 11, 2015
Pros: 立地の良さ。スタッフの対応の良さ。清潔で落ち着いたお部屋。
Cons: ありません。
Location: エンパイアステート ロックフェラー クライスラービルの高層ビル グランドセントラル Macy's 5番街のショッピング ブロードウェイ
ニューヨークの5つ星を狙うのではなく実利を考えるなら最高に満足のいくホテルです。 場所が兎に角良い。スタッフも感じがよく親切でどんな質問にも対応してくれました。 お部屋も清潔でシャワーなどのトラブルもなし。次もNYならここに泊まります。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location, friendly staff, needs more facility

Posted Aug 11, 2015
PROS: excellent location in midtown, staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms are very clean. CONS: no coffee machine in room, no complimentary water in room, very limited room service meal options, room safe is way to high (actually quite dangerous) for the vertically challenged.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to most of the tourist sites

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Enjoyed the stay very much. Close to tourist sites and public transport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Exton, PA

Convenient, Fun Stay in NYC.

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Loved the rooftop bar and view, comfortable beds, excellent customer service and location.
Cons: The only thing I can think of which is extremely minor and no impact on my stay is providing conditioner to the girls out there with long hair.
Location: It is close to the Empire State Building, Times Square, Theatre District and Grand Central Station.
My mom and I booked this hotel based on a great, competitive price from Expedia and the reviews from other guests. I was impressed by the hotel staff friendly service and prioritizing my rush to valet the car during a busy time of day. They have fresh flavored water in the lobby after a hot day of walking and made fantastic suggestions for reasonably priced, fabulous meals. The room was clean, updated an comfortable. As this is NYC, rooms were on the smaller side and a lovely view of a building next door but this is not something I gauge on my stay as it was about exploring and loving NYC and my comfy king size bed. Had drinks on the roof top bars and took coveted photos of the Empire State Building right behind us on a cloudless day. Great experience and I would stay there again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from f

Great view, decent room, ok extras

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Great view of Empire State, good room, friendly staff But no tea/coffee in room which was annoying, while the roof terrace was barred for under 21s (due to alcohol being served) which was poor as it was the main reason for booking and I don't recall that being mentioned.