Ratings based on 767 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Favorite hotel in NYC

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: shopping, museums, park
Very comfortable, quite, great location, the best staff, superb restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Our favorite NYC hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location, rooms and staff
Location: Close to museums, park, shopping, restaurants, subway and bus
We stay here if possible about 7 times a year. We love the location, staff, rooms, restaurant, bar, spa, excellent attention to detail and personal attention
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Not a 5 Star Hotel!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The spa, the restaurant and services.
We stayed at the Surrey for the first time hoping to have a 5 star experience with a 5 star spa....but were very disappointing. The room was nice, staff was nice enough however, the Cornelia Spa was not at all the spa that it was hyped up to be. No sauna, no locker room, services were basic at best. Not worth the money. I have stayed at several other hotels in New York City, but this one was by far disappointing. Not returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Uncleaned and old furniture. The Hotel is lack of space everywhere and no light at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

I only stay here in NYC

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Whenever I go to New York, I only stay at the Surrey. It is consistently excellent in every way. Conveniently located for tourist and business purposes, excellent dining options and the staff is impeccable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Our favorite NYC hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: everything - staff, location attention to details
Location: park, museums, shopping
Warm welcome back, great location, favorite restaurant, great spa
5 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Feb 3, 2017
By far one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. I was able to set up activities and a bottle of champagne before we arrived and everything was as described.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Wonderful Upper East Side Gem!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
My husband and I are frequent visitors to New York and have stayed at almost all of the Five Star hotels in the area. Over the past few years we decided to try The Surrey and it is now our "Go To" place in the city. We love the small intimate setting and the proximity to The Carlyle and The Mark offer many options for restaurants and bars. This summer we were traveling with our two Labradors and The Surry welcomed them with great hospitality. The food is excellent and the rooftop bar is wonderful for a great view of the city.