Ratings based on 761 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Uncleaned and old furniture. The Hotel is lack of space everywhere and no light at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

I only stay here in NYC

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Whenever I go to New York, I only stay at the Surrey. It is consistently excellent in every way. Conveniently located for tourist and business purposes, excellent dining options and the staff is impeccable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Our favorite NYC hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: everything - staff, location attention to details
Location: park, museums, shopping
Warm welcome back, great location, favorite restaurant, great spa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Feb 3, 2017
By far one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. I was able to set up activities and a bottle of champagne before we arrived and everything was as described.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Wonderful Upper East Side Gem!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
My husband and I are frequent visitors to New York and have stayed at almost all of the Five Star hotels in the area. Over the past few years we decided to try The Surrey and it is now our "Go To" place in the city. We love the small intimate setting and the proximity to The Carlyle and The Mark offer many options for restaurants and bars. This summer we were traveling with our two Labradors and The Surry welcomed them with great hospitality. The food is excellent and the rooftop bar is wonderful for a great view of the city.
5 out of 5
by Theresa

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Exceptional! The Surrey is our home away from home in NYC.
5 out of 5
by Michelle

Top notch service and room

Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel room had every comfort including great toiletries and amazing shower. Service was top notch - from room service to housekeeping to front desk. Highly highly recommend.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

True home away from home

Posted Jan 22, 2017 on Hotels
We had an amazing time - this hotel is the best New York has to offer - you feel like a true manhattenite :))
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Great staff!
The Surrey has had a great renovation - rooms are spacious, beds very comfortable, super bathroom. Every amenity is there. The location cannot be beat. Not as beautiful and elegant as the Carlyle or the Mark, but makes up for it with exceptional for service and comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Voted best hotel in NYC

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location, personal attention, restaurant.
Location: Museums, shopping, park, resaturants
Great location and personal attention. Our favorite hotel in New York City.