Ratings based on 745 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful

Posted Feb 3, 2017
By far one of the nicest hotels I have stayed in. I was able to set up activities and a bottle of champagne before we arrived and everything was as described.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Wonderful Upper East Side Gem!

Posted Jan 30, 2017
My husband and I are frequent visitors to New York and have stayed at almost all of the Five Star hotels in the area. Over the past few years we decided to try The Surrey and it is now our "Go To" place in the city. We love the small intimate setting and the proximity to The Carlyle and The Mark offer many options for restaurants and bars. This summer we were traveling with our two Labradors and The Surry welcomed them with great hospitality. The food is excellent and the rooftop bar is wonderful for a great view of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Jan 20, 2017
Pros: Great staff!
The Surrey has had a great renovation - rooms are spacious, beds very comfortable, super bathroom. Every amenity is there. The location cannot be beat. Not as beautiful and elegant as the Carlyle or the Mark, but makes up for it with exceptional for service and comfort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Voted best hotel in NYC

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Location, personal attention, restaurant.
Location: Museums, shopping, park, resaturants
Great location and personal attention. Our favorite hotel in New York City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great location for art museums, shopping, park

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Everything - it is our favorite hotel in NYC
Location: Art, shopping, restaurants, park
We love the hotel and the location which allows us to walk to the art museums, have dinner at our favorite restaurant Café Boulud) , great shopping on Madison Avenue and close to the park.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 15, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely NYC hotel

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
great service, lovely room. Would go back again
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2016 on Hotels
Very friendly and efficient. Lovely corner room
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Super Comfy Beds

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Super comfy beds, pillows and sheets. Great bathrooms. Friendly staff and delicious breakfast.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 19, 2016 on Orbitz
The sleep condition was bad. I lot of noise from the streets, in the room a lot of night lines from the tv. The phone, the lite switch, they were a lot that I have to cover to be able to sleep Really bad pillows and blankets