Ratings based on 771 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Noisy and overrated.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Noise reduction
Location: Central Park, Restaurants, Shopping
We came to this hotel because we read that it was rated "the best" in New York last year... What a disappointment. We requested a quiet room, but got a room on the fourth floor facing 76th Ave. It was like having the windows wide open although they were shut. It was also easy to overhear our neighbors conversations. The roof bar was also overrated. Apparently this bar is not managed by the same company as the lobby bar (Boulud) where the service and cocktails were what we expected. Also many guests had problems with the elevator key, the hot water was scalding hot and twice we did not receive a turn-down nor a newspaper.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Favorite hotel in NYC

Posted May 27, 2017
Pros: everything
Location: shopping, museums, park
Very comfortable, quite, great location, the best staff, superb restaurant
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Our favorite NYC hotel

Posted Apr 28, 2017
Pros: Location, rooms and staff
Location: Close to museums, park, shopping, restaurants, subway and bus
We stay here if possible about 7 times a year. We love the location, staff, rooms, restaurant, bar, spa, excellent attention to detail and personal attention
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bloomfield Hills, Michigan

Not a 5 Star Hotel!

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: The spa, the restaurant and services.
We stayed at the Surrey for the first time hoping to have a 5 star experience with a 5 star spa....but were very disappointing. The room was nice, staff was nice enough however, the Cornelia Spa was not at all the spa that it was hyped up to be. No sauna, no locker room, services were basic at best. Not worth the money. I have stayed at several other hotels in New York City, but this one was by far disappointing. Not returning.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Uncleaned and old furniture. The Hotel is lack of space everywhere and no light at all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from W

I only stay here in NYC

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Whenever I go to New York, I only stay at the Surrey. It is consistently excellent in every way. Conveniently located for tourist and business purposes, excellent dining options and the staff is impeccable
3 out of 5
by Suzanne

Less than Stellar

Posted Mar 3, 2017 on Hotels
This hotel is certainly not a 5-star hotel. The Cafe Boulud is excellent, as is the room-catered food, but the Relais Chateaux medallion only relates to the food. We had gnats or bed bugs in the room. It took 5 calls to Housekeeping to have a bed cover replaced. There was a floating dust bunny on one of the bedroom walls that remained there throughout our stay. Couch Pillows in suite have seen better days. Housekeeping is short-staffed. Catering forgot one item from the room service order on two occasions. The lobby entrance looks like a mortuary, not the sought-after Tom Ford look. The two good comments are that reception provided a room upgrade on checking in, and the Brazilian concierge was helpful in recommending a fine Italian restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Our favorite NYC hotel

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: everything - staff, location attention to details
Location: park, museums, shopping
Warm welcome back, great location, favorite restaurant, great spa
5 out of 5
by Patrick

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2017 on Hotels