Ratings based on 4,646 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York city, New York

Midtown Manhatten 3 Story

Posted May 21, 2017
Great location within blocks of trains. The responsive staff was helpful in every way that we requested. Made recommendations about travel from the airport to travel to tourist attractions around New York City. Sleeping area was comfortable. Bathroom needed more shelf space for guests toiletry bags. Also needs hooks to hang bath robes. Window allowed traffic noises to be intrusive. Sound proofing would have them helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Convenient Hotel for our 5 day family visit

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: In room safe would be good
Location: See above
The hotel suited our needs for 2 rooms with 2 beds each. It was convenient for Newart airport. Getting Wi Fi worked well. Using a Metro Pass we were able to get to buses and subways easily. Restaurants and a grocery store were nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rough night in NYC

Posted May 1, 2017
Cons: AC in rooms before May
Recently spent 1 night at Travel Inn NYC and it was a long night. Since it was April 21st it was very warm and muggy in our room and the AC wouldn't go on...we called down to the desk and were told the AC doesn't come on until at least May and to open the window. We opened the window and of course heard all sorts or beeping and sirens and across the pool courtyard was a lady getting into a fight with another lady (loud and vulgarity). It was a long hot sleepless night and when we checked out in the am and told the front desk clerk she said "welcome to NYC" and laughed. Overall a very poor experience!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Hotels
It was just the perfect location not too far from javist center and other surrounding areas
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 24, 2017
Thank you fro your stay
3 out of 5
by Keith

Make sure to check all of your receipts

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
It was okay, until I received my credit card bill. I chose to stay over on day AFTER I made THIS reservation. The hotel desk clerk told me that my Hotels night was covered after using my credit card to "verify" and keep on record for incidentals. They CHARGED me for the night, I already paid for online, and then proceeded to charge me for yet another extra night on my credit card. I have not been able to get any of it rectified. Alot of trouble for a so so hotel in a semi convenient. place, I will never use this hotel again, and I hope that Hotels.com does some QA work in some of the people usig your service and giving it a bad reputation of theft.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel... staff rude and not accommodating.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
I chose a smaller hotel for my visit to NYC because I believe that smaller hotels will offer great customer service. I was greatly disappointed. Every time I walked past the front desk with a smile and a 'hello' I was responded with a grunt. When I had a conflict I was yelled at by the front desk clerk. Phone calls to the front desk asking for extra bedding or the wifi code, was greeted with rudeness. I was also waken every morning very early for housekeeping services. There is no coffee or water in the room, and the hotel does not offer this in the lobby. There is a cafe next door, but hours are irregular. Rooms were clean, and beds comfortable. I have never written a bad review before, but my stay in NYC was far from welcoming.
4 out of 5
by Laurel

Affordable & Conveniently Located

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
We have been staying at the Travel Inn for New York Toy Fair every year for over a decade. It is not the most up-to-date hotel and the rooms are small, but there are many things that we like about it: the price is right, there is on-site parking, it's within walking distance of the show, there are many good restaurants nearby (including an attached breakfast place and a restaurant that will deliver "room service"), and there's a CVS across the street. It would be great if we didn't have to pay for wifi, parking, and breakfast, but the prices are reasonable. We learned during this visit that the building is going to be torn down this summer and it made us very sad. You will be missed, Travel Inn!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We keep coming back to this hotel.

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
We have been staying at this hotel for many years. It had some renovations last year and the new rooms are very comfortable. Big rooms for NYC standards! Parking, if you're driving, is an added bonus. The area keeps getting better and better. Very good restaurants on 46 street.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Impressive

Posted Mar 16, 2017
I stayed at the Tracel Inn and I have to say was very impressed. We were stuck in NY becuase of the blizzard everything was canceled and we could not get on the Peter Pan Bus ride home. We were staying at a 5 star hotel that was all booked and could not accommodate us. I found 3 double bed rooms at the Travel Inn and the young lady checked us in EARLY she was so nice and accommodating. We were all wet and freezing becuase we had to walk to the hotel. They got us into our room immediately without hesitation. The rooms were clean. Two of the three rooms had been updated with new furnishings and appliances. One of the three although did not have the updated look the others did was clean.. I would definitely stay there again! It's location is well centralized and it was reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
by Allan

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Mar 14, 2017 on Hotels
Very good