Ratings based on 4,573 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York W 42 Street

Don't stay

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The hotel staff was not friendly. We were not greeted any when we walked into the hotel. The outlets were inconvenient behind the fruniture. When you plugged something into the outlet it would not stay in. The mattresses were not comfortable at all. There was a whole in the middle of them. The 5 days that we stayed we never had enouh towels. Each night we had to call and ask for more. There was not a coffee pot in the hotel and you had to pay for wifi each day. There was little black bugs crawling where the tv was. The floor was uneven. Each night we ran out of hot water. The pictures of the hotel are deceiving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Youngstown, Ohio

Nice place for a very reasonable price

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Location, location, location.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Within 15 min walk to Times Square, Rockefeller Center, and the Manhattan Cruise Pier.
This hotel is within reasonable walking distance of many major New York city landmarks, Times Square, Rockefeller Center and the Manhattan Cruise Pier. We stayed one night in February so didn't get to enjoy the roof top pool but it did look very spacious though the widow. The lobby was very modern, the room was extremely clean and so were the hallways and elevators. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions to some of the sites as well as some good suggestions about where to eat. The price was very modest for staying in Manhattan and we'll definitely stay there again on our next visit to New York.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Close to time square

Posted Jan 31, 2017
The hotel is really outdated the rooms are old, the washroom very old and the cleaning services not good also very very noisy make sure to bring earplugs if you want to sleep. The smell of some cleaning products in the lobby is very strong you will have it in your nose for the rest of the day.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Delaware

Great access to Theatre District at a great price

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Pros: Location and price. Very friendly staff. Also they have greatly reduced rates in January, so keep your eyes peeled for a sale.
Cons: Heat that can be controlled from the room.
Location: Theatre District. West Bank Cafe-great little restaurant close to the hotel. TKTS line close. New-now jump the line by showing a recent ticket stub
Unfortunately no thermostat in the room we had. Very hot. We had to keep the window open for cool air which let in light and street noise. As a result I didn't sleep too well. Love the location, the attached garage and the small restaurant attached by the covered garage entrance.Suggest asking for an inside room facing the pool. Check out the thermostat situation. Don't know if all rooms are this way.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Grreat spot and price. Right near times square and broadway. Worth a stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from JM

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Excellent location. Very clean and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Travel Inn is a good place to stay in Manhattan. You get what you pay for, I guess. Good location. 2 blocks away from the Port Authority Bus Terminal and an easy walk to Times Square.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

NYC hotel

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Air didn't work. Had to open window. No coffee in room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Nice economy hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: The staff was nice and the room was good.
Cons: The bathroom was small and needed updating.
Location: The hotel is close to the Habits Center, Intrepid Museum, and tour boats. It is walking distance to Times Square and theater district.
The staff is friendly and helpful, The room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was tiny and needed updating. Overall for the price it was a good value.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Only location is good.

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Bedding; bathrooms; plug-in stations for every day necessities.
Location: Walking distance to Times Square and lots of restaurants. Mr. Biggs around the corner has a great atmosphere and the food is excellent.
This hotel is very dated. Absolutely forget early check in. No plug-ins (we had to unplug all lamps but one to charge our phones) and there's no overhead lighting. Front desk staff not friendly or particularly helpful. Location is excellent and that's the only reason we didn't relocate to a different hotel. Beds......lets just say turning over on the squeaky mattress will wake up everyone in the room. Both of ours had a dip in the middle so we kept sliding into one another.