Ratings based on 4,635 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York city, New York

Midtown Manhatten 3 Story

Posted May 21, 2017
Great location within blocks of trains. The responsive staff was helpful in every way that we requested. Made recommendations about travel from the airport to travel to tourist attractions around New York City. Sleeping area was comfortable. Bathroom needed more shelf space for guests toiletry bags. Also needs hooks to hang bath robes. Window allowed traffic noises to be intrusive. Sound proofing would have them helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Convenient Hotel for our 5 day family visit

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: In room safe would be good
Location: See above
The hotel suited our needs for 2 rooms with 2 beds each. It was convenient for Newart airport. Getting Wi Fi worked well. Using a Metro Pass we were able to get to buses and subways easily. Restaurants and a grocery store were nearby.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Rough night in NYC

Posted May 1, 2017
Cons: AC in rooms before May
Recently spent 1 night at Travel Inn NYC and it was a long night. Since it was April 21st it was very warm and muggy in our room and the AC wouldn't go on...we called down to the desk and were told the AC doesn't come on until at least May and to open the window. We opened the window and of course heard all sorts or beeping and sirens and across the pool courtyard was a lady getting into a fight with another lady (loud and vulgarity). It was a long hot sleepless night and when we checked out in the am and told the front desk clerk she said "welcome to NYC" and laughed. Overall a very poor experience!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok hotel... staff rude and not accommodating.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
I chose a smaller hotel for my visit to NYC because I believe that smaller hotels will offer great customer service. I was greatly disappointed. Every time I walked past the front desk with a smile and a 'hello' I was responded with a grunt. When I had a conflict I was yelled at by the front desk clerk. Phone calls to the front desk asking for extra bedding or the wifi code, was greeted with rudeness. I was also waken every morning very early for housekeeping services. There is no coffee or water in the room, and the hotel does not offer this in the lobby. There is a cafe next door, but hours are irregular. Rooms were clean, and beds comfortable. I have never written a bad review before, but my stay in NYC was far from welcoming.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Impressive

Posted Mar 16, 2017
I stayed at the Tracel Inn and I have to say was very impressed. We were stuck in NY becuase of the blizzard everything was canceled and we could not get on the Peter Pan Bus ride home. We were staying at a 5 star hotel that was all booked and could not accommodate us. I found 3 double bed rooms at the Travel Inn and the young lady checked us in EARLY she was so nice and accommodating. We were all wet and freezing becuase we had to walk to the hotel. They got us into our room immediately without hesitation. The rooms were clean. Two of the three rooms had been updated with new furnishings and appliances. One of the three although did not have the updated look the others did was clean.. I would definitely stay there again! It's location is well centralized and it was reasonably priced.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Great hotel, great location, on-site parking ($). Great customer service. They did some renovation in the past few years.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego,ca

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Pros: none
Cons: Why did they check us in at 2 pm ,give key to room,only to find out it is not ready then charged us for cancelling when all the time we waited inlobby
Location: several blocks walk to times square
checked in at 2 pm instead of usual 3 pm checkin.we were given key to room.when we got to room,it was not ready!,dirty,used bedsheets,trash still there ,etc.we complained at front desk,asked to wait in lobby till room ready.called expedia to cancel our reservations for 5 nights and book us to another hotel.even though we waited in lobby and did not stay ,we were still charged for $133 plus .what a rip off
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York W 42 Street

Don't stay

Posted Feb 26, 2017
The hotel staff was not friendly. We were not greeted any when we walked into the hotel. The outlets were inconvenient behind the fruniture. When you plugged something into the outlet it would not stay in. The mattresses were not comfortable at all. There was a whole in the middle of them. The 5 days that we stayed we never had enouh towels. Each night we had to call and ask for more. There was not a coffee pot in the hotel and you had to pay for wifi each day. There was little black bugs crawling where the tv was. The floor was uneven. Each night we ran out of hot water. The pictures of the hotel are deceiving.
2 out of 5
by vincent

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Andrew

Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels
Business trip for a convention at the Javitz. Ideal location. Parking a plus. Not luxurious but comfortable and a great value.