Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Decent hotel, good location

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Decent, cheap hotel. The rooms aren't very big, and I didn't have a very good view, but I knew that when I booked it. The great thing is that there's a subway station 2 minutes walk away to go into Manhattan, rooms are always clean, and there's so many great places to eat it's ridiculous. Also, the area isn't too expensive; there's a few supermarkets around to just pick up snacks and things, while avoiding the outrageous prices in the city. If you're looking for somewhere to spend your entire stay this isn't for you. If, however, you're looking for somewhere cheap to leave your things while you go exploring, this place isn't a bad option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

SLEEP, SHOWER, LEAVE

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: price and location, simply can't complain
Cons: rooms were a lil janky
Location: Tons of local bars and restaurants with in walking distance and of course the corner stores Plenty of them are open well past 4am
This is an ultra bare-bones boutique hotel, (YES, the rooms are small!!!) But close to everything (Hott Spots) in (Downtown) Brooklyn area. Pricing is without a doubt lower than average, this place is perfect for visitors who want the basics, a safe, secure and convenient place to stay. Sleep, Shower, and head out! Look at the end of the day Please do not expect all the amenities of a larger hotel, This place is based on fair price and Amazing location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn New York

Convenient location

Posted Feb 12, 2017
It was OK The location was convenient for my purpose being in Brooklyn
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Staff was great! Convenient location! Room was spotless, was able to upgrade in a matter of minutes
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn

Noisy with thin walls and closet sized rooms

Posted Jan 17, 2017
Pros: Fairly clean and close to downtown for a moderate price
Cons: Get rid of the slamming doors!! Maintain control of noisy, disruptive guests.
The hotel was incredibly noisy with screaming children and guests as well as a loud slamming door to the staircase which was swung open and close every five minutes making it impossible to sleep comfortably through the night. I even met a guest on the elevator who had the same complaints and also agreed that they would never stay here again. The rooms are the size of a closet with literally no floor space and a queen size bed that took up the entire room. This place is good if you want a somewhat cheap stay and don't mind the thin walls and loud noise throughout the day and night.
5 out of 5
by Jasmin

Posted Dec 23, 2016 on Hotels
This is my go to hotel any time I go to NYC.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 14, 2016 on Hotels
Noisy hotel. Doors slamming, people talking loudly at all hours in hallways.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overly priced and small

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
Uncomfortable room. Small tv and small bathroom. Very bizarre set up. No closet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

At least it was clean.

Posted Dec 2, 2016 on Hotels
If you get there after dark, there's no light over the door to help you spot the hotel. And in the room, there's just one light way up in the ceiling, which must be at least 9' high. There's no light next to the bed for reading, but then there's no table or shelf next to the bed for a lamp or your phone or your book or anything else. And as stated, the rooms are VERY small. We were upgraded to a "king room," but still had to move VERY carefully around the bed. I've stayed in other hotels with very small rooms, but here there isn't much thought given to efficiency. The bathroom, like the room itself, was clean, but again lighting was an issue. There was just one overhead light way up in the ceiling. There was NO light over the mirror, which makes it quite challenging to put on makeup. The tiny shelf over the sink, which was the only storage in the bathroom, had such a slant that my lipstick rolled right off into the sink. The only storage in the room itself was one drawer under the bed, a few shelves, and the closet, which holds nothing longer than a jacket. And then there's the mattress cover, which other reviews mention. It does indeed make a very odd noise when one moves around. The breakfast is at a restaurant with really great coffee & croissants, but it's three blocks away. Seems the owners could invest just a little more money and this hotel would be much better. Explore other choices, and remember that $20 more per night could buy you a HUGE increase in comfort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from brooklyn, NY

Unfortunately, this will be my last time at Union

Posted Nov 30, 2016
This is the second time my partner and I stayed at the Union. The first time was great, we loved it. This time around, I didn't expect the room to be this small, it was the size of a closet. The wall were too thin, we were literally hearing the "couple" next door at 4 in the morning, how annoying. It's sad that the diner we went to last year closed because this new one they found suck. On top of that we payed so much more this year for such a horrible experience, like we couldn't even sleep.