Ratings based on 457 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

A decent hotel with reasonable price

Posted Aug 17, 2016
- Hotel locates near the Union Street subway station, about 5 min walking distance; - Checking-in lobby is tiny small but personally I don't care that much. - Room is pretty clean and the AC is very powerful. - The staff there is very friendly. I checked out about half a hour late due to some personal issues but they all understood and did not charge me additional fee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Like living in an inadequate cell

Posted Jun 16, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Room had no floor space. If I had come with anything other than a carryon there would have been no space for a full size suitcase. Had strange cubby holes over the beds which I don't know what you are supposed to do with. Can't reach them to use them. Everything, room and bathroom too small. Person who checked me let me stand there while she delt with an issue on the phone. I should have been taken care of first. Didn't like the neighborhood even though it was being gentrified. Don't like Brooklyn even though it is such a hot place to live.
1 out of 5
by william from Albany

Stay away. Other basic hotels give you more!!!!

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
My stay was horrible. My room was tiny. No bed side table or plug to charge phone by the bed. 1 overhead light that you had to get out of bed and go to the door to turn off. No hanging closet. You had to hang your shirts etc. on a jacket hook. No lobbby. Check-in is in a tiny vestibule as you enter the hotel. No breakfast room!!! You have to go 2 blocks down the street to eat at a local diner with a voucher. No coffee maker or coffee available! I had a day rate and checked out after the first night. They are trying to charge me for my reserved stay!!! Less than friendly and helpful front desk staff!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 4, 2016 on Hotels
First the pluses: The staff was friendly, the room very clean, the bedding comfortable, and everything looked freshly and stylishly renovated - wood floors, custom fitted furniture, etc. Toiletries were good quality. The free breakfast at a nearby cafe offered a full menu of filling options. The neighborhood is unattractive but safe and has many options for dining and a convenient subway stop. The minuses: Cozy room was extremely cramped, the bed taking up most of the space, and the "closet" lacked a bar or hangers for clothes, definitely not good for business travel or dressing up. The coat rack was awkwardly positioned over the fold out desk, rendering it useless on rainy days. No in room coffee or chair provided, just a stool for the desk. I have stayed in other hotels in this area, and while they are also spartan, the rooms and common areas were much larger for about the same price.
4 out of 5
by Antoine

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Randall

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Great spot with a great free breakfast included at the restaurant up the street. Found free street parking easily!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Обычный отель

Posted Apr 24, 2016 on Hotels
Обычный отель, номер крохотный, ванная комната на удивление чистая, вай фай в номере не работал, в коридорах сильно пахнет чистящими средствами
5 out of 5
by Lindsay

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by James from Nashville

BEWARE--WORST BEDS IN NYC!!!

Posted Apr 19, 2016 on Hotels
BEWARE OF THE BEDS! The rooms are tiny--but ok it is NY--actually Gowanas in Brooklyn. The bathroom is tiny but serviceable--you have to move the waste basket to sit on the toilet-and of course no closet--there are hooks on the wall. BUT THE BEDS--one side is against the wall and the other side is about 18 inches from the wall, and that is the good part. The bad part is that the mattresses--which are supposedly new--not sure about that--and are certainly not premium--are wrapped in heavy plastic that is sealed--like heavy but cheap plastic that mattresses are shipped in. Every time you moved the plastic made a crackling noise--and the mattress pad and sheets were so thin it was like being directly on that sticky crinkly plastic. It was impossible to sleep on. Finally at 2 AM we called the front desk and asked for another room assuming ours was the only room where they had neglected to remove the shipping plastic from these "new mattresses". No other rooms were available. So we removed the plastic ourselves. The result was a sleepable but not comfortable bed. Oh yes, and the mattress cover was old and stained grey and the sheets were so worn there were small holes. Pillows were as bad. Next day we asked to see the manager--the manager was never available in 4 days. And they told us they put the plastic on to prevent bedbugs. I don't believe that--they may have left the plastic on to prevent bedbugs, but this was shipping plastic.