Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
25% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Ilana

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Rafael from california

Great stay

Posted Feb 8, 2015 on Hotels
had a great stay and the family was able to join me. Way better than a hotel room and GREAT location.
4 out of 5
by John

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 8, 2012 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Maureen English

Great location to museums, restaurants, and transp

Posted Sep 25, 2012 on Hotels
Disapointed with cleanliness of room. Lumpy pull-out bed, smelly loft bed. When we asked for toilet paper we were given a partial bag of 6 mildew rolls. The bathroom was very dirty, moldy with no ventilation. It did have good kitchen facilities and free phone calls to anywhere in the US and Canada.
2 out of 5
by Manon Thériault

Great location but... dirty

Posted Sep 5, 2012 on Hotels
Good points: The location wass great (two blocks from Central Park). Bad points: Apartment smells very bad. Air conditioning not on when we showed up (it was a very hot day so it took long to cool down). Dirty: living room and bathroom carpets stained, spider webs in bathroom, hair in shower, dust on pantry items, food not well kept in containers (cereal box left open). Fan not working in the bathroom. The inflated mattress for the sofa is NOT comfy at all; we couldn't find sheets for it either (had to use nude pillows and winter blankets instead). But worst of all: waking up at night to find a HUGE cockroach in the bathtub!
4 out of 5
by S & D

Posted Jun 4, 2012 on Hotels
Fantastic location. Very neat floor plan. Charming and funky. Lots of room. Great kitchen. More like being a guest in someone's home. However, deferred maintenance and, at least when we stayed there, no A/C, and it was uncomfortably warm.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 7, 2012 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Brownstone with fantastic location

Posted Apr 24, 2012 on Hotels
Brownstone apartment includes one loft-bed for 2 people, and a sleeper sofa (for 2 people). An air-mattress is offered to supplement the sofa. This option offeres basic amenities in a fantastic location, situation 1 block from central park. We shared the room with 4 people, and were happy with our experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alpharetta, GA

Great location - look for some other place to stay

Posted Dec 9, 2011 on Hotels
We loved the Upper West Side. It feels like a 'true' neighborhood with lot of good restaurants and bars. The location of the Brownstone is perfect. You are at walking distance from everything, Central Park, the Guggenheim Museum and the Subway. But.... The Brownstone shouldn't be classified as a hotel and not even a Bed with no Breakfast. It is an apartment rental. You won't get any kind of service during your stay. The apartment has the potential to be nice, but it is dirty, very dirty. And it should not be rented to groups over two people. The couch that should serve as the third bed is sagging badly. The solution to this problem? A cheap air mattress, not exactly what we were expecting. We wish someone had told us. We would have never booked it. The place was not expensive for this time of the year, but be warned....you get what you pay for. Our suggestion for travelers on a limited budget would be to choose a different period of the year to visit NYC and look for a different place to stay in the same neighborhood. This was the best part of the deal.