Ratings based on 1,011 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
68% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

BEWARE: Nice management, NOT as advertised

Posted May 14, 2017
Pros: Manager on when we arrived courteous and close proximity to JFK.
Cons: Stand by what you advertise, Offer a hotel with clean rooms. Be honest about the location. Notify customers and follow-up on your establishments.
Location: Get to the airport and get OUT!
Expedia listed this hotel as a La Quinta when we booked, a brand we know, is pet friendly, and offered a free shuttle to JFK. When we arrived around 10 pm we discovered it WAS NO LONGER a La Quinta. There was NO contact from Expedia and I spent over an hour asking why we were not notified. Reps said it takes weeks to update their system. Unacceptable. If a flight was cancelled or delayed and booked through Expedia would they notify you? Of course, they would. The van of the hotel was branded, the lit-up sign on the building and all over the interior of the branded The View. Did that happen overnight? Doubtful. Expedia customer service was abysmal, pushed the blame on the hotel, offered a lousy $50 off a future hotel stay so I asked to speak with a supervisor. She offered the same story and a $100 for a future hotel booking to make me “go away.” All totally unacceptable customer service. I wanted to know why we were not notified, why they were still showing a La Quinta AND a false picture. The hotel was ON a busy street, not set-back as one expected and surrounded by buildings. It was not as advertised. The hotel management did the right thing, they paid for our taxis. The room was dirty. We found raisins (harmful for dogs), dirt, and I pulled a 2" dried piece of what looks like chicken from my small dog's mouth (see pic). Disgusting. Expedia promised to email me - nothing to date and it's been over two weeks. This severely reduces my trust in Expedia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Cons: Very old furnishings
Location: In a run down part of town with only one close restaurant.
Not a very clean hotel. The front desk staff were accommodating but the hotel is in a bad part of town. They did allow us to leave our luggage in an office while we toured the city. The breakfast was meager with shabby furnishings.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Ok for cost

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Just ok for overnight, need carpet shampooing and furniture couchs fabric cleaned, etc
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, WA

Close to JFK

Posted Mar 25, 2017
The staff were all friendly and accommodating. It was great that the van driver came promptly and was a hint of information. The room was very small which made movement awkward at times. It's time for a renovation of the guest rooms.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to the airport.

Posted Mar 16, 2017
Pros: Fast Service
Location: There's Chinese food within a block for a quick meal.
The shuttle service was really quick and the hotel staff checked us in very fast. There's Chinese food within a block for a quick meal.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Hotel carpet dirty and smelly

Posted Feb 28, 2017
I understand this hotel is Pet friendly, but the hall carpet on 1st and 2nd floor was flirty and smelly, even the room smells dog pee...disgusting
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 2, 2017 by LQ Customer Care , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns regarding your recent stay at our location. We are very sorry that you had such a negative experience while staying with us. We appreciate the constructive feedback and will forward your review to management so that we can continue to improve our guest's experience. Sincerely, LQ Customer Care
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to JFK

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Our flight was delayed and we had to stay at a hotel close to JFK. The place is OK, but not in a good area. Parking is very bad.
4 out of 5
by lukesha

Good stay

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
It was a good night. The bed was smaller than expected but nothing to complain about
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Okay price for okay hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017
This was my second time staying at this hotel for a short getaway. The staff are very friendly to people who are from out of town and are staying in New York for a little while. However they aren't so friendly to those who are New Yorkers. I actually live not too far from the hotel, and it was as if once the person saw that I was A local, they were completely turned off. They were never blatantly disrespectful or rude, but you could tell the difference between how they spoke to me and how they spoke to the guest after me who was just getting in from Chicago.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean hotel

Posted Feb 16, 2017 on Hotels
Hotel is easily accessible from airport if you are driving and they also provide free parking Rooms are clean and comfortable Local area is not so great Perfect for one stay before heading to JFK