Ratings based on 646 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great location near World Trade

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Beds were comfortable with nice clean white comforters. Modern and updated
Cons: The walk-in bathroom shower floods the bathrrom every time you take a shower. There is no containment system for the water. I had to use towels to wipe it up after every shower.
Location: World trade center, Centruy 21 shopping, restaurants etc.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY, NY

Mostly pleased

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: All of the staff was very friendly and helpful.
Cons: $7.00 for a bottle of water in the room? Really? No coffee maker in the room. Every hotel that I stay in for work in NYC has a small coffee maker.
Location: Downtown is the place to be now. Eataly just around the corner! One of the best. Brookfield place at World Financial is fantastic. Walk to Hudson
Room had an incredible view. Bathroom was small and could have used a few more shelves to put stuff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Would not stay here again

Posted Oct 12, 2016
Construction all around, no free wifi, even if you're a preferred guest with their rewards program! The food and drinks in the room are labeled "free and clear - courtesy of Starwood hotels" and it's all a huge scam. The beds slide around on these boards so bad and then cut up your legs when it exposes the board. TINIEST rooms for that price ever!! No upgrades, nothing besides literally what u paid for. And actually not even that because of the lies regarding the wifi.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great location and comfortable stay.

Posted Oct 5, 2016
Location: Financial district, Statue of liberty, Memorial Park, are all outside within minutes of walk.
This is a good hotel close to many important places to see, the lobby very minimalist and dark décor, you feel like you are in a night club, but does the trick. rooms are comfortable, modern décor, great and fast customer service. overall a good choice if dark colors not an issue. very tiny restaurant but great food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Prith S, Hotel Management
HI Suzanne- Thank you for taking the time to review your stay! Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Nice location but a bit generic

Posted Aug 31, 2016
Pros: The location.
Cons: The impersonal service.
Location: It's in downtown Manhattan, so there are millions of things to do. It would have been nice if the hotel had been more helpful in making suggestions.
I took my 9-year-old granddaughter for a special weekend in New York and spent what was for me a lot of money to stay at the W. It was good in many ways--a fabulous view of the new World Trade Center especially--but otherwise it wasn't very exciting. One clerk at the checkin counter was friendly to my granddaughter, but everyone else more or less ignored her, so she did not feel cherished by them. I had a different experience at another hotel a few blocks away when I took her older sister two years ago--they went above and beyond to make a little girl feel special. Apart from that, the room was fine but not special. The bathroom fixtures were perfectly clean but a bit shoddy. For example, the shower door was not waterproof. Also, there was no outlet by the bed, so it was inconvenient to plug in a charger. For the money, you can do better in NYC
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 12, 2016 by Prith S, Hotel Management
Dear Gail- Thank you for choosing the W-Downtown, we are very sorry the experience did not live up to expectations. Your feedback is greatly appreciated, we hope for another opportunity to make it up to you in the future. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Nice hotel right next to Trade Center memorial

Posted Aug 3, 2016
Hotel itself was great. View from the room was the best I've had in NYC. Looking directly at The One World Trade Center. Unfortunately, the shower had a leak in the exterior wall and ended up getting the carpet outside the bathroom really wet which was inconvenient but the staff was nice and apologetic about it and offered to put me in a different room. I'm sure this is a very unusual occurrence so aside from that, the hotel was great.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2016 by Prith S, Hotel Management
Dear Joe- Thank you for choosing the W-Downtown and providing us your valuable feedback. We hope for another opportunity to serve you in the future. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 25, 2016 on Hotels
Nice room. Comfortable. Nice people. BADLY NEEDS in room coffee machine.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2016
Thank you for your review! Please know we can always provide a complimentary coffee maker upon request. Warm Regards,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, New York

Posted Jul 19, 2016
The hotel was very accommodating and very clean. The bathrooms were in excellent conditions. Each staff member was pleasant. My only critique is that the bathroom doors do not lock, loosing sense of privacy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2016 by Prith S, Hotel Management
Hi Jay- We are pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thank you. Warm Regards,
4 out of 5
by Melisa from Køge

På papiret et godt hotel men kølig atmosfære

Posted Jul 15, 2016 on Hotels
Der er faktisk ikke noget radikalt galt med dette hotel. Værelset er stort når man er 2 voksne og 2 store børn. Badeværelset var også dejligt stort.Vi havde en glimrende udsigt til Freedom Tower. Men det er på ingen måde et varmt hotel. Receptionen er meget mørk og kold i indretning. Ikke specielt imødekommende personale ved indtjekning. Området er super fedt og ville klart bo i Finansdistriktet. Men dette hotel er lidt for køligt og kønsløst til at jeg ville bo der igen.
5 out of 5
by duane from Beltsville, MD

We love W!

Posted Jul 6, 2016 on Hotels
Came for NYC pride and stayed at the W. First time at a W Hotel and we will definitely be coming back. The overall atmosphere of the hotel was amazingly chill and laid back. Our room was awesome with an equally awesome view of WTC!