Ratings based on 2,458 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Cool Icon showing its age

Posted May 8, 2017
We were back at the W after a 10 year gap. The last trip was fantastic and the hotel was a very cool hip surprise. There are not many hotels offering 2 double beds in a room, and this is one of them. 10 years later the hotel is showing its age. Tired and worn fixtures in the rooms; not much renovating in the last decade. The renos to the awesome lobby lounge were not an improvement, unfortunately and it has more of a cavernous feel to it now - compared to the hip, cool funky feel of a decade ago. Staff were very pleasant and no complaints there at all. Good service. But, at the end of the stay I found a previous guest's underwear and sock under the divan by the window as I was checking for my items. Gross does not capture the feeling of picking that up. Clearly, the rooms are not cleaned that well. I would recommend the hotel as a place to sleep if you need two beds in a very convenient location and get a deal on the price.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right in the middle of it all.

Posted May 8, 2017
The staff were amazing. The room was nice but a bit worn. The view incredible. Would recommend to anyone coming to NYC!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Nothing Stays the Same!

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: Amenities listed above.
Cons: Again, amenities listed above.
Location: Time Square location is best for Broadway plays if that is your purpose.
On a yearly girls trip to NYC we stayed at the W in 2008. My journal goes on and on...tv had relaxing music and abstract colors perfect for afternoon rest. Morning there was infused fruit water and cookies in the lobby. Afternoon had infused minty fruit water and bonbons and moist towelets. It was fabulous!! This year, 2017, the lobby was DARK and loud, room was Dark--could not see to iron, bathroom door was too heavy to shut, no yummy waters in the lobby except a watered down punch in the afternoon. Check in girl was lovely, Bliss products are fabulous, and our cleaning lady was friendly and sweet. For the price of the W we expected what we had before.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Needs more lighting in the hallway when u get off the elevators to go to the rooms. Way too dark.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missoula, Montana

Very loud location and Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The only bright spot was the food at the Blue Fin. The reception staff was always pleasent
Cons: Light the hallways better, improve housekeeping
Location: The opening of Anastasia was fantastic!! Botanical Gardens fabulous, Zoo not so much. Highline Park was great.
This hotel chain has been a favorite, but this facility is definitely not. The location is hard to access by car service dues to the narrow street and proximity to Times Square. The "Living room" lobby (music playing loudly) was always very loud making it difficult to converse. The hallways are very dark and the room was not clean (dirty socks -- not ours) under the lounge upon arrival and they remained there (left there as a test) for our entire stay. They were never removed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Loved it.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: Maybe provide a curtain or shade on the bathroom wall in case one does not want the see through version. Very cool bathroom though.
Staff was great. Hotel was great. Location was great. Room could have been the tiniest bit cleaner. The shower water wasn't very hot. I loved the funky idea of the "see through" bathroom doors, but it was a little awkward with a co-worker as my room mate, lol. Loved the bar. Will definitely return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Time Square, NYC

Goodbye W

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Hotel needs to be updated. We had two rooms, the air conditioning works on one setting,74. Shower in both rooms did not work. One never turned on and the other never turned off. Plumber had to come up at 6:00 am to fix it by taking the entire faucet apart, the other room he came up at 12:00 am to replace the cartridge on the inside of the wall. When I complained about both showers and how inconvenient we were, II was offered 2 free drinks at the bar by this 10 year old manager. We had stayed there several times before over the years, but this will be our last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on Times Square

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: very comfortable bed and pillows
Cons: generous soft towels, a hand held shower head (ideally a bath too) Kettle and tea/coffee making things, maybe some complimentary treats for guests !
Location: Time Square is busy and fun - go further out Hell's Kitchen for example to get away from the crowds and find great places to eat.
We stayed for 5 nights at the W at Times Square. It was in a good location for the busy square and for the subways. The room was a good size with a large comfortable bed and linen. This is not a cheap hotel and I would have appreciated a coffee machine/ kettle in the room as except for expensive room service there was no hot drinks available, which meant that guests had to go out for these!! The hotel did 'provide' a large and enticing (but overpriced) goody box in the room. Very small towels in the bathroom so had to use the robe. Also there was no bath and the shower only had an overhead shower, which meant it was difficult to keep out of the water if you did not want to wash your hair. (no shower cap provided). There was a funky bar/seating area and a gym, but no other facilities. Staff were generally friendly but we did not have a lot to do with them as did not use the bar. Jennifer on the consierge desk was great at suggesting places to eat which matched up to our tastes. The doormen were polite and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Experience & Phenomenial Staff!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We had a wonderful time at The W this past weekend. The staff was exceptional and was willing to help any way they could. I wasn't feeling well one day and they brought up complimentary medicine within minutes. They checked in periodically to see how our stay was. Also the bar and lounge area was wonderful. We will go back again for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shepperton

Fabulous Hotel close to Times Square

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Perfect Location for NYC site seeing, very clean and well kept with comfy beds !
Location: Next Door to Times Square, Starbucks across the road for coffee and lots of places to eat nearby..
Lovely very modern hotel, constant buzz, modern rooms with great city views (we were on the 37th floor)