Ratings based on 2,445 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Needs more lighting in the hallway when u get off the elevators to go to the rooms. Way too dark.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Missoula, Montana

Very loud location and Hotel

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: The only bright spot was the food at the Blue Fin. The reception staff was always pleasent
Cons: Light the hallways better, improve housekeeping
Location: The opening of Anastasia was fantastic!! Botanical Gardens fabulous, Zoo not so much. Highline Park was great.
This hotel chain has been a favorite, but this facility is definitely not. The location is hard to access by car service dues to the narrow street and proximity to Times Square. The "Living room" lobby (music playing loudly) was always very loud making it difficult to converse. The hallways are very dark and the room was not clean (dirty socks -- not ours) under the lounge upon arrival and they remained there (left there as a test) for our entire stay. They were never removed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Loved it.

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Almost everything.
Cons: Maybe provide a curtain or shade on the bathroom wall in case one does not want the see through version. Very cool bathroom though.
Staff was great. Hotel was great. Location was great. Room could have been the tiniest bit cleaner. The shower water wasn't very hot. I loved the funky idea of the "see through" bathroom doors, but it was a little awkward with a co-worker as my room mate, lol. Loved the bar. Will definitely return.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Time Square, NYC

Goodbye W

Posted Apr 13, 2017
Hotel needs to be updated. We had two rooms, the air conditioning works on one setting,74. Shower in both rooms did not work. One never turned on and the other never turned off. Plumber had to come up at 6:00 am to fix it by taking the entire faucet apart, the other room he came up at 12:00 am to replace the cartridge on the inside of the wall. When I complained about both showers and how inconvenient we were, II was offered 2 free drinks at the bar by this 10 year old manager. We had stayed there several times before over the years, but this will be our last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on Times Square

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: very comfortable bed and pillows
Cons: generous soft towels, a hand held shower head (ideally a bath too) Kettle and tea/coffee making things, maybe some complimentary treats for guests !
Location: Time Square is busy and fun - go further out Hell's Kitchen for example to get away from the crowds and find great places to eat.
We stayed for 5 nights at the W at Times Square. It was in a good location for the busy square and for the subways. The room was a good size with a large comfortable bed and linen. This is not a cheap hotel and I would have appreciated a coffee machine/ kettle in the room as except for expensive room service there was no hot drinks available, which meant that guests had to go out for these!! The hotel did 'provide' a large and enticing (but overpriced) goody box in the room. Very small towels in the bathroom so had to use the robe. Also there was no bath and the shower only had an overhead shower, which meant it was difficult to keep out of the water if you did not want to wash your hair. (no shower cap provided). There was a funky bar/seating area and a gym, but no other facilities. Staff were generally friendly but we did not have a lot to do with them as did not use the bar. Jennifer on the consierge desk was great at suggesting places to eat which matched up to our tastes. The doormen were polite and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing Experience & Phenomenial Staff!

Posted Apr 11, 2017
We had a wonderful time at The W this past weekend. The staff was exceptional and was willing to help any way they could. I wasn't feeling well one day and they brought up complimentary medicine within minutes. They checked in periodically to see how our stay was. Also the bar and lounge area was wonderful. We will go back again for sure!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Shepperton

Fabulous Hotel close to Times Square

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Perfect Location for NYC site seeing, very clean and well kept with comfy beds !
Location: Next Door to Times Square, Starbucks across the road for coffee and lots of places to eat nearby..
Lovely very modern hotel, constant buzz, modern rooms with great city views (we were on the 37th floor)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Times Square NYC

Posted Apr 5, 2017
Beautiful hotel, with very friendly staff. Location is excellent. Nice cozy bar with good drink selection. Overall a fantastic experience.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: Location near Times Square.
Shower didn't work. I'm done writing. Enough said.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Guest Manager , Hotel Management
We are truly sorry to hear about the shower issues you suffered. Your enjoyment and comfort is our priority. Your feedback has been shared with the management team to be sure this doesn't happen again. We hope that you give us another chance in the future as we would be happy to welcome you back!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Beautiful view, comfortable room

Posted Mar 22, 2017
There was a dreadfully long wait to check into my hotel but the staff was friendly and the hotel is beautiful. The only complaints I have is that for some reason the hotel didn't accommodate me and my husband when we wanted to order drinks to the room, and the room service messed up my order for breakfast. When I called to fix it, the person on the other line said, "You know the French toast is an additional $24, right?" I found that a bit insulting seeing as how I'm staying at the W, I can afford an additional $24. It took about 15 minutes for the water in the bathroom to get warm and once it did it was cold in 10 minutes. The hotel, other than that, is beautiful and comfortable. Staff at check in were very nice.