Ratings based on 444 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma

Very rude hotel overall manager.

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: The location for great for us.
Cons: Easy and helpful managers.
Location: It was in Union Square. So convenient for everything we wanted to do.
I don't think I have ever given a poor outcome on a survey for a hotel. I know things go wrong occasionally and give everyone benefite of the doubt. But this was hard to overlook. I arrived without my purse. I know that is completely my fault, I own this part of the story. Left it at the airport bathroom. Luckily it was found and was to be returned to the hotel in the morning. I arrived at 10:30pm and tried to check in. I didn't have any id. I do however have a ton of items with my name on it, i.e. the itinerary for the hotel booking, plus my iPad which had a locked keypad which can only be unlocked with a four digit code. The attendant behind the desk can't help me because it is protocol to ask for the manager on call to allow me to check in. A young man comes out and said he can't help me because I paid with Expedia. I said "Really. Wow. I can't check in? He said "well, do you have a business card with your name," I do not, "Do you have a boarding pass," I do not. I said I did have my iPad which is locked I know the code to get into the iPad, he said, "that doesn't count, his girlfriend has his code. That doesn't prove anything." (Hum, I guessed I have knocked off my boyfriend or husband, stole his iPad and am going use his room at the W hotel.) Anyway, he makes me call Expedia, who was very wonderful and changed the name on the hotel room to my friend who is with me so we can use her credit card for incidentals. Basically an unhelpful manager.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 15, 2016 by WNYUS, Hotel Management
Hello Shellie, We appreciate you sharing your review and thank you for taking the time to do so. We were sorry to learn that you lost your purse and identification at the airport and understand how concerning that can be. We apologize for not being able get you checked in, but like airlines, it’s imperative that we have identification of everyone checking into the hotel, for the safety of everyone involved. We regret that this occurred but we are delighted that you were able to have the matter quickly resolved, and thrilled that you were able to locate your items from the airport. We thank you again and hope that you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay with us. All the best, W New York – Union Square
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Nice hotel, very well located, comfortable rooms.

Posted May 15, 2016
Pros: Size of room and location.
Cons: Bathrooms could be improved (mainly with shower box)
Location: Perfect, everything is close by.
Staff was very nice and attentive. Overall, it was a very good experience. We will come back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2016 by WNYUS, Hotel Management
Hello Gus and Grace, It was a treat to welcome you to NYC and our Union Square hotel. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and invite you to visit us again soon. All the best, W New York - Union Square
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from TOKYO

立地は良い

Posted May 14, 2016
ユニオンスクエアの隣。立地は良い。他は値段相応だと思います。不満もありませんが、想像以上の体験もない、「普通」と言ったところ。
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2016 by WUS, Hotel Management
Hello Ka, It was a pleasure to welcome you to Union Square and we are thrilled that you enjoyed our location. We appreciate your review and hope to welcome you back one day. All the best, W New York - Union Square
5 out of 5
by John from Waldwick NJ

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
The Union Square neighborhood has allot to offer and this hotel is right on the park. Great restaurants are a short walk from the W.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello John, It was a delight to welcome you to NYC and W Union Square and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for your review and please be sure to visit again soon. All the best, W New York - Union Square
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Late check-in, not worth $500+

Posted Apr 22, 2016 on Hotels
Three of my friends and I stayed here for a group birthday celebration for one night. We arrived after the 3:00 check-in to be told our room wasn't ready, which is always annoying when you just want to drop off your bags and freshen up. They weren't too apologetic but did offer us 2-complimentary drinks at the bar. We went to get our nails done and came back about an hour or so later. Our room was still not ready so they gave us a different room. The room was a decent size for a NYC hotel and was clean but there wasn't anything spectacular about it. When we got home from our evening out, our room had an overwhelming smell of cigarettes which lingered until the morning. We are from Long Island so we know how expensive things are. But spending $500 on a room in which we were in for 18-hours, definitely wasn't worth it.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, What great friends you are! We were thrilled to welcome you for a special night in the city to honor your friend’s birthday and we thank you for allowing us to be a part of your celebration. We apologize again for the delay in having your room ready, but with late check-outs, our Room Stylists were ensuring that all of the details were nothing short of perfect. We are thrilled that our talent members were able to offer another option for you so that you could get checked in and take some time to relax and recharge before an evening of fun. We thank you again for the review and hope you will consider another visit with us soon. All the best, W New York – Union Square
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Front desk staff was the worst.

Posted Apr 17, 2016
I looked forward to my stay but when I arrived the lady at the front desk insisted on upgrading my reservation to room with two double beds. i explained that my reservation was for a king bed, and that any double bed was not an "upgrade" in view of my height. It turns out that the hotel had no king beds available at all. Rather than explain that to me she rushed off to the back and brought the night manger who apologized and explained the situation better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 21, 2016 by WUS, Hotel Management
Hello Robert, Greetings from New York! It was a delight to host you on your recent visit and we appreciate you sharing your feedback. Please accept our sincere apologies again for your preferred bedding type not being available when you were with us, and for the way that this was explained by our talent. We are pleased that a member of our management team was able to assist, but once more, we sincerely apologize and hope you will visit again. All the best, W New York – Union Square
5 out of 5
by Elizabeth

Posted Apr 11, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Elizabeth, We appreciate the rave review. Please come see us again soon. All the best, W New York Union Square
4 out of 5
by Richa

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Richa, We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, W Union Square
5 out of 5
by Peter

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Peter, It was a treat to receive your high scores and we thank you for sharing. Please come visit again soon. All the best, W Union Square
4 out of 5
by Susan

Posted Mar 28, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Susan, It was a pleasure to host you and we thank you for your review. We look forward to your next visit. All the best, W Union Square