Ratings based on 2,958 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from chicago

No coffee :(

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The lobby was very comfortable for meeting up and relaxing at the end of the day. And the staff were all helpful even with non hotel issues.
Cons: Coffee, Wifi Wifi , coffee
Location: Great location with easy access to all parts of Manhattan. With a great variety of high end restaurants nearby.
The stay at the W was a bit more then merely comfortable. But i find exception with a hotel in this day and age that charges for wifi and doesn't provide for in room coffee. The W would be that much better if it recognized that the modern traveller relies less on the in room bar and more on the in-room access to the world.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 25, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello mwb, Greetings from NYC! We thank you for sharing your review, it was our pleasure to welcome you to the great city of New York. We are overjoyed that you felt the warmth of our welcome, and that you felt so at home during your stay. We agree that the Living Room is the perfect place to chill and relax and maybe enjoy a savory beverage or two or a tasty snack at the end of a busy day. We hope you took advantage of the complimentary coffee provided each morning for all of our guests, however, if your preference is for a personal coffee machine in your room please do make us aware when booking your next stay and it will be our delight to arrange for one upon your arrival. We thank you once more and hope you will settle in with us again soon. All the best, W New York
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2017
Room is a little small but the service is fantastic.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, It is always appreciated when guests take their time to provide a review of their stay. We are particularly thrilled by your recognition of our W hospitality, as we know that is what truly sets us apart. We thank you once more and hope you will settle in with us again soon. All the best, W New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Great location Quiet with Windows closed Great staff Fun bar Could use a sauna
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 27, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello artistcustomer, Greetings from NYC! It was a joy to welcome you and we thank you for your wonderful review. We are thrilled that you enjoyed lounging with us in the Living Room, a firm favorite for guests and locals alike. As you discovered, our location is exceptional, right in the heart of so many of the sights, shops and restaurants that draw visitors to Midtown and we are elated that you enjoyed such a premium address. We thank you once more and hope you will soon be joining us again soon. All the best, W New York
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 21, 2017
I lost my shirt there,but they said nothing. It made me extremely angry.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Guest Greetings from NYC! We thank you for taking the time to provide your review, but regret to learn of your lost item. Our W New York Room Stylists and Talent take great pride in uniting lost items with their proper owners and we trust that you have been in touch with our Lost and Found department to provide your information and we apologize if there was a delay in their response. We thank you again and hope you will return on a future visit to NYC so that we can provide you with a proper W New York experience. All the best, W New York
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, England

Building work and very expensive charges

Posted Apr 7, 2017
First of all there is a major construction site just behind the hotel. We were woken at 6am one morning as work started. I lost my phone at the start of the holiday. For a 5 min call to the uk to report the loss I ended up with a bill of 80 dollars!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Simon, Greetings from NYC! We thank you for providing a review of your time with us and regret that you were inconvenienced by the construction in the city. New York is a constantly changing landscape, which is, in itself, one of its attractions. Unfortunately, that entails construction, and while there are agreements that work will not begin before 7 am, it can be disturbing to some visitors and for that, we apologize. Our location is so central to many of the sites, restaurants, and shops that draw people to this great city, and the hospitality once inside our doors provides a recharging sanctuary from the energy across the threshold. We hope you will consider returning on a future visit to the Big Apple and allowing us another opportunity to impress. All the best, Bill Bunce Complex General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Fan nightmare

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The staff was very nice and the Bliss spa was great.
Cons: Please fix the fan issue in room 1515.
Location: Location was great, close by everything including the famous steakhouses.
We stayed in room 1515 and the air conditioning fan was so loud that we couldn't sleep throughout the night. I finally decided to turn the fan off from the thermostat just so that we didn't have to hear it. Just when we tried to get sleep the construction from the outside wasn't helping. We both had a losey night at the hotel. I have to say the staff is very nice and the Bliss Spa was great as well.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello John, Warm greetings from NYC! It was a joy to welcome you and yours, and we thank you for your review. We are elated that you enjoyed our W welcome and that you spent a blissful time in the spa. We regret that you experienced issues with your room, your comments have been passed to our maintenance team to address. Please accept our apologies and our hopes that we will be welcoming you back on a future visit for a 5-star stay. All the best, Bill Bunce Complex General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Nice hotel close to subway,Times Square,

Posted Mar 4, 2017
Stayed 4 nights, Breakfast was included which was very nice ,bed ,pillows were very comfy. Complimentary wi fi ..no complaints apart for on checkout they was a discrepancy on the bill , but that was sorted out straight away.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 8, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello ASH, Warm greetings from NYC! It was our pleasure to host you during your recent visit to the Big Apple and we thank you for your outstanding review. We are thrilled that you were so comfortable during your stay and that you enjoyed our exceptional location for exploring this amazing city. We apologize for the snafu and check-out, but are relieved that it was quickly resolved. We thank you again and look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit New York. All the best, W New York
4 out of 5
by Samuel

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The construction outside next door made me keep the window closed. The closet to small. No refrigerator.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Samuel, We thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay in NYC, and are thrilled that we rated well with you. We apologize for any disturbance from construction in the city, it is an ever changing landscape that adds to the excitement of New York, but we regret if it causes issues and will always try and work with our guests to find a quieter room if available. On your next visit please do reach out to the welcome desk prior to arrival if there are particular amenities that would make your stay more like home, and we will do our best to provide them. We look forward to your return when next visiting The Big Apple. All the best, W New York
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Solid

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
It's the W which is always a solid place... check in was a bit slow w a rush. Outside of that, no real issues
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Hello Guest We thank you for providing your feedback on your recent stay, and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your time. We strive for a seamless guest experience at check-in and hope that the delay did not impact the balance of your stay. We thank you once more and look forward to your return. All the best, W New York
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Spent my birthday here

Posted Feb 11, 2017
My stay was great. Love the staff, accommodations & location :)
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Ashley, Warm greetings from NYC! It was our pleasure to host you for your birthday celebrations and we thank you for your outstanding review. We are thrilled that we could help make your day so special, and we invite you to settle in with us again soon. All the best, W New York