Ratings based on 2,823 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 15, 2016
The staff were brilliant!!! Very trendy place to stay, great location. Like most places in Manhattan, the room was small, but comfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 20, 2016 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello, What great feedback you’ve shared! We’re thrilled that you so thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and hope we have an opportunity to welcome you again soon. All the best, W New York
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, grear location!

Posted Jul 5, 2016
I went for a short vacation and I loved it! Great staff and hotel. Try the champagne mojito @ the bar across the reception, best mojito ever! 😊 Bedrooms small but with all amenities. Bathrooms are really small.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2016 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Cristy, A short visit is wonderful, but the next time you’re with us we hope you can stay a bit longer. We thank you for the wonderful review, and your reminder of how savory the champagne mojito is on a summer afternoon. All the best, W New York
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

The room was uninhabitable

Posted May 23, 2016
I stay at Starwood hotels frequently and have never had any reason to complain about a stay, prior to now.  I stayed at the W New York on Lexington Ave on the evening of May 17th and it was a miserable stay from start to finish. The biggest problem was that the room I was put in should not have been made available in the first place. It was on a low floor, immediately facing a large construction site. Starting before 7am, there was deafening noise from the site. Even with ear plugs in, it was too much to bear. I had planned to work in the room all morning, prior to a meeting at 1300, but I had to leave the room and go to a cafe to work because of the noise.  At $650 for the night, I found this quite unacceptable. In addition to this major issue, there were a number of smaller issues, which compounded my disappointment: - I had to wait more than ten minutes to check-in upon arrival (there was only one person at reception and a long line). - My breakfast order was incorrect: I ordered berries, which did not arrive. - I was charged for Internet access, even though it should have been free with my status - this was corrected when I pointed it out. - I was never asked about my stay, so I had to ask to speak to a manager to complain. The manager I spoke to offered no remedy of any kind. He just said he was sorry. It was a pathetic response. - One final point: I forgot my razor at home and asked for one to be brought up. I was grateful that they had one to give me, but was v
Comment from Hotel Management
May 27, 2016 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Raj, At W New York, we look forward to welcoming all of our guests, but especially our SPG frequent travelers. We value your feedback and regret to learn that you were so negatively impacted by the nearby construction. In cities as vast as New York, revitalization is common place and we apologize if the exciting project was an inconvenience. We offer our sincere apologies for this and the other concerns you have highlighted and have reviewed this with our talent to ensure that details remain a focus. We thank you again for your feedback and hope you’ll allow us another opportunity to host you on future visits to New York so that we may restore your trust and confidence in us. All the best, W New York
2 out of 5
by Semyon

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Semyon, We appreciate you scoring your experience with us and value guest feedback. We invite you to join us again when your travels bring you back to New York City. All the best, W New York
5 out of 5
by Susan

Posted Apr 30, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Susan, We appreciate your fantastic review and invite you to make yourself at home with us anytime! All the best, W New York
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad hotel 3 stars

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Bad experience. Only good thing is the bar. Not eat you expect for a 4 star hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 9, 2016 by WNY, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your time in our Living Room Lounge and thank you for sharing your review. We regret to learn that your experience with us was less than perfect and hope you will allow us an opportunity to welcome you again so that we can provide you with the experience you anticipated. We thank you again for your review and look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, W New York
4 out of 5
by Dr. John

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
We arrived early and were allowed to check in at 11:30 am instead of 3 pm. That was great, but our room view was extemely poor and showed only some outside vents. The room was small but comfortable for 2 average small people. Bed was comfortable and bathroom clean. It was just what we needed for a 36 hr getaway
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Dr. John, A New York City getaway is something that everyone should experience. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us and we thank you for sharing your review. All the best, W New York
5 out of 5
by philippe

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Philippe, Thank you for taking a moment to share a score of your W New York experience. We appreciate the high scores and look forward to welcoming you back. All the best, W New York
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello, We appreciate your wonderful review and invite you to join us again soon. All the best, W New York
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not up to W standards

Posted Apr 26, 2016 on Hotels
Not recommended unless you plan on staying out all night, and if that's the case, you're better off staying downtown. Arrived at 11pm. Had to wait 30 minutes to check in. Could hear club-type music from the Whisky Blue lounge below until early hours of the morning. Bed was uncomfortable and bathroom was very poorly designed with a barrier-less shower.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 2, 2016 by Guest Services, Hotel Management
Hello Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you and we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We regret to learn that your stay with us fell short of meeting your expectations and we hope you will accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniences you have shared. We hope that when your travels bring you back to New York, you’ll consider another stay with us so that we can provide you with a proper W New York experience. All the best, W New York