Ratings based on 9,794 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

A bit warm...

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Everything, except that the room was a bit warm.
Cons: The thermostat needs fixing, as the room was a tad bit warm (read "kind of hot").
Location: This was a business trip, and the hotel was very close to where I had to go; did not have time to do any sightseeing, so no comment on that.
The hotel was great. Rooms were nice & clean. However, it was way too warm; even turning down the thermostat did not help, hence the "pleasing" rating for Room Comfort vs an "excellent". I gave it an overall excellent rating because I didn't have an option of a 4.5, and although the heat made it a bit uncomfortable, it wasn't enough to bring it down to a 4, or "pleasing". Overall, a very pleasant experience...and considering which hotel it was, I paid a great room rate! The down part is that it is closing on 1 March 2017 for a few years for renovations, so will not be able to stay there again for a while, and after said renovations, will probably not be able to score such a good rate. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel. In the center of Manhattan

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I visiting for my first honeymoon and Wao amazing hotel. The President Hotel, this hotel have a lot of history. The employees are well generous and very professional. Im very sad for those guys, because the hotel close now until 2 or 3 years for renovation. But, the show must go on and the life is short. Thanks Waldorf to bring me and excellent honeymoon and see you when complete your renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corbridge

Great central location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Staff were great, location central to most uptown places, rooms clean albeit a little dated
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Lovely- sorry it will be closed so long for the renovation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location, but rooms very worn out...

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Location, and history of the hotel
Cons: update rooms, especially bathrooms. Also the guy, Richard, who helps with show tickets, and attractions in NY was very arrogant.
Location: Close to Rockefeller Center ice skating, 5th Avenue, UN Headquarters.
I expected from Waldorf Astoria the rooms to be updated and cleaner, especially bathrooms. had to request to change a room, which they nicely agreed to do. The other room was better, but still some things needed to be fixed. Again, they called a plumber to take care of the bath tub stopper. Otherwise, a great location, but would not come back to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Dear A.R, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and the history of our property. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel with old world charm

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The elegance of the staff, the location, the charm of the lobby
Cons: It would have been nice to have coffee machines in the rooms.
Location: Great location in mid-town. Close to Central park, the United Nations buildings, Times Square, Broadway and shopping on 5th avenue.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Waldorf Astoria. We were celebrating my husband's 40th birthday and the hotel went above and beyond to make him feel special. The staff were all lovely and the hotel is classically beautiful. Our room was in the tower, it had a great view over midtown. The lobby of this hotel is really special. I hope that they preserve it in the renovations. There are so few places left that exhibit this old world charm and it would be a shame to modernize the personality out of it. The location is excellent, an easy walk from the park and many other sites of New York.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and the services provided by our staff. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Waldorf Astoria New York City

NYC iconic hotel-The Waldorf Astoria

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We spent 6 wonderful nights in the Waldorf We were worried the fact it's closing down soon for a 3 year makeover that we wouldn't get the best out of the staff. I'm glad to say we were wrong the staff were amazing and believe me the knowledge they had about the hotel was fantastic, from house keepers to mangers each had a story to tell. But what really got to me was how proud they are of there hotel. I truly hope they don't rip the heart out of the grand hotel the Art Deco features are second to none She is a grand old lady and like most women we all like to stay looking younger & fresher so by all means smooth the odd wrinkle but don't change her so much we won't reckonies her
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice hotel close to Grand Central Station.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: The rooms are in need of upgrading. The beds are not too comfortable.
Location: Great location. Very close to Grand Central Station which makes it very convenient to hop on a train to anywhere in the city. Close to Fifth Avenue.
We stayed in the city for the weekend. This hotel was centrally located and within walking distance from Grand Central terminal. There is a Metro Station next to the hotel also very convenient to move around the city. Close to shopping on Fifth Avenue, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral and great dining. Hilton Honors member with perks like free wi-fi and late check out. We would definitely stay again in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Dear Olga, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. It was great to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guildford surrey

Lovely hotel close to amenities

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Every thing
Cons: Bigger bar area
Location: Lovely cafes shops and restaurants
The staff are very helpful. The food is really good. Really easy to get cabs.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 24, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Dear Tricia, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. It was great to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Centrally located

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Historic feel; stunning lobby and hallways.
Cons: Meal options, some moderately priced options
Location: Broadway theatres, within walking distance to 5th avenue shopping, Central Park and museums
Close to theatres, fine restaurants, major attractions