Ratings based on 7,590 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

They need more staff to better care for guests.

Posted Sep 3, 2015
The concierge was excellent however service by staff was slow due to the fact that they don't have enough staff to adequately care for guests. I requested sheets and pillows and it was a long wait due to the fact that late at night there was just one person to take care if all such requests.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Old World Charm and Style

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Pros: The old age charm, and pictures on the walls of previous famous guests and events.
Cons: Nothing... just don't expect brand-new rooms, but that's not why you would stay at the Waldorf Astoria!!
Location: As central to New York City as you can get: easy walking distance of Central Park and all midtown attractions.
You can't visit New York without experiencing the heritage and nostalgia of the Waldorf Astoria. The staff are always friendly and professional, and the hotel although old has the charm and feel of the New York of old. The rooms are not like modern chain hotels, but if you want that you wouldn't want to stay in this iconic hotel. The price is very reasonable for what you get, and isn't much more than a new chain hotel. Do yourself a favour!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic

Posted Aug 31, 2015
We knew it was going to be old looking in our room because we read the reviews. However, the overall hotel e peril. E was nice. The rooms were old but clean. The staff was very helpful and old school classy. It was awesome to say I stayed at a hotel where Presidents stayed. The restaurant didn't have a lot of restaurants close but there were a lot within walking distance. My wife and I found some really nice restaurants on 2ND ave. We went to a restaurant called The Smith. All in all, my wife and I had a great time and would recommend staying there.
Comment from EPC
Sep 2, 2015 by David, EPC
Thank you for your lovely review. We appreciate your business and you taking the time to leave us your feedback. We train our folks that a component of luxury service is based on discretion; providing elegant service without being obvious. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us to the fullest degree possible, and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warm regards, David O' Keeffe Senior Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Greenville, SC

Anniversary in NY

Posted Aug 30, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: More staff to check in guests
Location: Able to walk to great restraints and many of the main tourist attractions.
What a great hotel. Beautiful decor and super location. Had a little trouble the first night with the air conditioning. But, sent someone right up and we were quickly cooled back down. My only complaint, was the long line at check-in.
Comment from EPC
Sep 2, 2015 by David, EPC
Dear Sherri, Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria as your host for your recent visit to New York City. It is wonderful to see that we were able to provide a prompt and efficient solution to any inconvenience you experienced while you were here, and I appreciate you taking the time to leave us your feedback. Should your travels bring you back to our beautiful area in the future, we hope you will consider the Waldorf Astoria as your go-to hotel choice. My best, David O' Keeffe Senior Front Office Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from westbury, ny

Huge disappointment

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Cons: Renovate the rooms!!
Location: Great location.
We were excited to be staying at the Waldorf Astoria but, once we saw the condition of the room the excitement ended. I am really surprised that anyone would vote higher than 3 stars for this hotel unless their are rooms that have been updated. The room was dirty and the wallpaper, ac unit cover and carpet were in terrible shape. We walked in to sunflower seeds on the carpet in the middle of the room. I'm not sure how they missed not seeing them. The desk had a sticky brown substance on it and that stickiness was also on the pen located on the same desk and a pen and paper located on one nightstand. It takes a lot for me to get grossed out and this did it. This is the first time I have experienced anything like it in All the hotels I have stayed in. I was more surprised that this would happen at the Waldorf Astoria. The rooms need desperate renovations. I would never stay there again. When we checked out I deceived not to say anything because I knew that I would never be back there but, my Husband did say something. The fact that my Husband even said anything speaks volumes as he is so laid back and doesn't get bothered by much. I'm usually the one that says anything when we are away. They apologized and said they would inform housekeeping.
Comment from EPC
Sep 2, 2015 by David, EPC
Dear Grace, There is much we can do to mitigate this type of issue, and so I wish we had the chance to provide a solution in the form of a housekeeping visit or room upgrade while you were here. Each experience must be one that is memorable in the positive, and we work very hard to ensure that our guests check out with positive feedback, if an issue such as this is brought to our attention. Still, we certainly understand that the fact that you needed to speak out does not meet the expectation when you come to stay at the Waldorf Astoria, and I can tell you that your feedback is far from the norm. We will use your comments on amenities and offerings as we continue to evolve our guests' experience moving forward. My best, David O' Keeffe Senior Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2015
Very good experience. Good location. Very impressive .
Comment from EPC
Sep 2, 2015 by David, EPC
Thank you so much for taking the time to write this great review! All of the Waldorf Astoria New York team are happy to read that we exceeded your expectations with the hotel and the service received. Looking forward to welcoming you again soon, David O' Keeffe Senior Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Had an amazing stay at the Waldorf Astoria.

Posted Aug 29, 2015
What a beautiful hotel, stayed here for 3 nights and loved it. Eating and drinking is a little expensive but plenty of option outside of hotel. You have to pay for wifi, in my opinion a hotel such as this should provide free wifi ( I had my own internet so didn't apply ) I read up on the hotel before I went and a lot of people comment on the age and decor of the hotel, if you want modern go somewhere else. The hotel wouldn't be The Waldorf if it looked any other way.
Comment from EPC
Sep 2, 2015 by David, EPC
Dear Lou630, Thank you for your exceptional review! I am pleased to see that you enjoyed our traditional decor and iconic ambiance. I would like to share that Wi-Fi is provided as a complimentary amenity for our valued Hilton Honors guests who book direct through Hilton proprietary channels. Perhaps this will be of use for a future visit with us! Warm regards, David O' Keeffe Senior Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

A great place to call base.

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: The is a lot to be said for claiming you stayed at the "Waldorf"
Cons: Rooms are so dated
Location: A great location for eating and also walking. Bloomingdales is just round the corner and up a few blocks.
If you like aged infrastructure then this is the place to be. No regrets but no chance we would stay here again. We need modern up to date rooms that can handle today's tech.
Comment from EPC
Sep 2, 2015 by David, EPC
Dear Vilma, Thank you for your review. Guests who will most enjoy the Waldorf experience on the whole will appreciate the fact that each of our rooms are different, unlike other modern box hotels where everything is the same. We apologize that we did not impress. Thank you, David O' Keeffe Senior Front Office Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Excellent I will highly recommend this hotel. We had a great stay at this place. Close to the main places we want to visit 5th avenue, Times Square, museums etc etc
Comment from EPC
Sep 2, 2015 by David, EPC
Thank you for your exceptional 5-star review. It is certainly a great reward to read such praising feedback from our valued guests, and we hope for the opportunity to host you again in the near future to create more unforgettable Waldorf moments. My best, David O' Keeffe Senior Front Office Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin

Fenster aus Papier

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: Stil, Tradition
Cons: Schallschutz der Fenster
Location: Liegt sehr zentral. Nahe zur 5th Ave, dem Rockefeller-Center usw.
5 Nächte im WA sind sicherlich ein Erlebnis, gerade wenn man bewusst die Tradition des Hauses genießen will. Diese ist auch im Charme und der Ausstattung so zu finden. Das Personal ist sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit. Alles spiegelt auch den Luxus vergangener Zeit wieder. Das sollte man natürlich lieben und nicht die heute modernen, eher geraden, kantigen Linien mit ihrer Sachlichkeit und Sterilität. Alles in allem wunderbar! Aber: Wer erholsamen Schlaf sucht, ist hier wohl eher falsch. Das Hotel liegt sehr zentral und ab ca. 1.00 Uhr nachts wird Müll und dergleichen abgeholt. Zumindest im 8. Stock hört man das, als würde der Wagen neben einem stehen. Die Abholung erfolgt (bis auf Sonntags) täglich. Die in Deutschland bekannte Schallschutzqualität von Fenstern ist dort unbekannt. Wer hier schlafen will, sollte unbedingt einen Schutz für seine Ohren einpacken.
Comment from EPC
Sep 2, 2015 by David, EPC
Dear Andre, Thank you for your feedback. We truly appreciate your kind words regarding our beautiful surroundings and True Waldorf Service! We will keep your concerns in mind as we continually evolve to best meet and exceed our guests' needs and hope you will give us another opportunity to impress should you return to the city in the future. My best, David O' Keeffe Senior Front Office Manager