Ratings based on 9,899 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old hotel in need of refurbishing

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Enjoyed our stay especially as the Waldorf Astoria is closing
5 out of 5
by Tom

Classic, Luxurious, Legendary

Posted Mar 4, 2017 on Hotels
The most legendary hotel i have ever stayed in. I stayed in a one bedroom suite which had superb views over Park Ave, feel privileged to have stayed there before it closed. Look forward to coming back in three years time when it opens.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gonzales, LA

Glad we stayed at the Waldorf Astoria New York

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The character of the building.
Cons: It truly does need updating.
Location: The location was perfect for fifth ave shopping, Rockefeller Plaza, St. Patrick's Cathedral.
We are glad we chose to stay at the Waldorf Astoria for the historical aspect. The hotel was in its final days of operation and we did encounter some issues. Our room was not ready at check-in time, we waited for over an hour and our room was still not ready, so they placed us in another room. They did provide us with free breakfast to compensate for the long delay. Our room was lovely and we were facing park avenue. However, we were only on the fifth floor so there was lots of street noise. Our tub kept backing up while taking a shower after the second phone call and a second attempt they cleared the clog. We could not get the room cool, so they brought us a fan. All that being said it was truly a treat to be at the Grand Dame for her final days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Night at the Waldorf

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The history, charm and elegance.
Cons: Some of the staff was not friendly at all. The Bell staff in particular.
Location: Central Location on Park Ave
We went down with a few friends to say goodbye as they just closed for a few years to renovate. Had a great experience with the hotel and restaurant staff. The bar staff at Peacock Alley is amazing. We unfortunately had a very bad experience at check out. As the valet got our car and the bell staff helped but our luggage in the trunk, my friend got in the back seat and proceeded to close the door. The bellman was not paying attention and was hit by door. My friend jumped immediately t and apologized. The valet did not want to hear it, waved him away and actually said "F**k You" to him. We were floored. It obviously was an accident, and did not justify that kind of reaction. After an amazing night, Dinner at the Bull and Bear, Drinks at the Bars, $80 to valet the car. It ruined the entire experience. Being in the hospitality industry, I couldn't believe what I had heard. If they hadn't been closing the hotel the next day, I certainly would have said something.
5 out of 5
by Rosie

Bye Waldorf

Posted Mar 1, 2017 on Hotels
I was upgraded to a beautiful suite. Have nothing to complain about! It was heaven.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice Location......

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location is terrific.
Cons: Much frankly, complimentary wifi, this is 2017 after all, complimentary morning coffee or coffee in the room would show they care
Location: Location is ideal for exploring New York, close to Grand Central station, MOMA, shopping on 5th Ave, Times Square a walkable distance away
Nice Hotel in a good location but charging $18.95 for wifi in your room and no coffee available in the room or complementary in the mornings in the lobby is just a cash grab. And an unreasonable cash grab at that. The Waldorf Astoria is easily outdone by its many competitors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waldorf Astoria was not the Waldorf I know.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location and The doorman name David.
I have stayed at the Waldorf in New York before as well as other Waldorfs in the US. This was not the hotel experience I've had before. The room was beyond subpar. The paint was chipping off of the walls, there was only two outlets working in the room and the room was terribly hot. When we called the front desk to ask if we could have someone look at our air the employee was rude and condescending. "Good luck with that. We are shutting down March 1 and we just don't have the staff. Besides it is winter in New York." Really? I don't care if it is winter. The room was so hot we couldn't stop sweating. I get it, closing down, BUT when I made my reservations I was not made aware of that detail. I travel ALOT, I can and will stay elsewhere. Bad form Hilton Co, Bad form Expedia for not disclosing that the hotel was closing down and we would be treated like we were staying at a youth hostel. I don't complain normally but when I go away from home, I expect to be able to charge my electronics, and not sweat the entire time I'm in the "comfort" of my high end hotel room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Beautiful historic hotel......loved the ambience! Sunday buffet was lovely... too bad this hotel is closing... I'm so glad I had the opportunity to stay at the Waldorf Astoria!
5 out of 5
by cynthia

One of a Kind

Posted Feb 27, 2017 on Hotels
Fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A++++

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: perfect location, helpful and professional staff , lots to do without leaving the hotel
Best hotel experience I'd had , Spent our Valentine's weekend. amazing experience, Rebecca Villasenor at the front Desk was most generous and helpful , there was a delay to get an upgraded room ready but there was to shortage of entertainment and swanky complimentary refreshments, made us wanted to wait longer in the lobby than needed. It was perfect.