Ratings based on 9,783 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location, but rooms very worn out...

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Location, and history of the hotel
Cons: update rooms, especially bathrooms. Also the guy, Richard, who helps with show tickets, and attractions in NY was very arrogant.
Location: Close to Rockefeller Center ice skating, 5th Avenue, UN Headquarters.
I expected from Waldorf Astoria the rooms to be updated and cleaner, especially bathrooms. had to request to change a room, which they nicely agreed to do. The other room was better, but still some things needed to be fixed. Again, they called a plumber to take care of the bath tub stopper. Otherwise, a great location, but would not come back to this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic hotel with old world charm

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: The elegance of the staff, the location, the charm of the lobby
Cons: It would have been nice to have coffee machines in the rooms.
Location: Great location in mid-town. Close to Central park, the United Nations buildings, Times Square, Broadway and shopping on 5th avenue.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Waldorf Astoria. We were celebrating my husband's 40th birthday and the hotel went above and beyond to make him feel special. The staff were all lovely and the hotel is classically beautiful. Our room was in the tower, it had a great view over midtown. The lobby of this hotel is really special. I hope that they preserve it in the renovations. There are so few places left that exhibit this old world charm and it would be a shame to modernize the personality out of it. The location is excellent, an easy walk from the park and many other sites of New York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, FL

Nice hotel close to Grand Central Station.

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: The rooms are in need of upgrading. The beds are not too comfortable.
Location: Great location. Very close to Grand Central Station which makes it very convenient to hop on a train to anywhere in the city. Close to Fifth Avenue.
We stayed in the city for the weekend. This hotel was centrally located and within walking distance from Grand Central terminal. There is a Metro Station next to the hotel also very convenient to move around the city. Close to shopping on Fifth Avenue, Rockefeller Center, St. Patrick's Cathedral and great dining. Hilton Honors member with perks like free wi-fi and late check out. We would definitely stay again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guildford surrey

Lovely hotel close to amenities

Posted Feb 23, 2017
Pros: Every thing
Cons: Bigger bar area
Location: Lovely cafes shops and restaurants
The staff are very helpful. The food is really good. Really easy to get cabs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great historic hotel

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: History
Cons: WiFi
Location: Great central location!
The Waldorf Astoria New York is an amazing historical hotel. The facilities are old, but very nice. The biggest issue we had was the WiFi. The WiFi signal in the room was nearly zero. Several nights I had to go sit in the lobby to get a WiFi signal so I could get some work done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from La Salle, Manitoba, Canada

Beautiful Historical Hotel in Prime NYC

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: EVERYTHING! It was like going back in time - the grand entrance, the clock chiming in the lobby, the hustle and bustle of the staff and visitors.
Location: It is a great location for walking - close to Grand Central Station, Central Park, deli's, restaurants, shopping, museums.
I loved everything about this hotel... especially the staff, the history, the location in NYC, the decor, the lay out, the conveniences and the cleanliness. I was very sad to learn it is closing it's doors at the end of February due to change in ownership and construction. The staff were exceptional! Professional, welcoming, helpful, efficient and hardworking while faced with the challenge of changing jobs in a few weeks. Many of the people we spoke with had worked for 15-30 years for Waldorf Astoria. I hope there is a silver lining for the people affected by something beyond their control. We stayed on the eleventh floor in a quiet, comfortable, well equipped room. The beds/pillows/linens were very luxurious. Bathroom was well stocked. The decor although worn was immaculate and added to the character. Enjoyed breakfast at the restaurant with the piano bar. Delicious food and outstanding service from Patrick. Staying at the Waldorf Astoria enhanced my visit to NYC! I am grateful for the memorable experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Happy to have stayed in such a storied hotel. Great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria as your host for your recent visit to New York City and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: Loved the character/beauty of the hotel
Location: Hotel was walking distance from all the hot spots and close to train stations.
Enjoyed our stay here. The hotel was very clean and the staff very friendly. Would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria as your host for your recent visit to New York City. It was great to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2017
The Waldorf is a wonderful hotel. It's a shame that it is closing. It is truly the end of an era.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria as your host for your recent visit to New York City and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Old but still a great hotel.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: The historic lobby and architecture, service and size of rooms.
Cons: Needs updating.
Location: Is central and close to shopping and theatre district, MOMA and Rochefeller Center.
I had read reviews that some rooms were in need of updating (which was evident) but I think it's closing soon for renovations or something. But apart from that the rooms are spacious and comfortable and the service was excellent. Really enjoyed staying at this NY landmark.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria as your host for your recent visit to New York City. It was great to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms