Ratings based on 9,860 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely old hotel in need of refurbishing

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Enjoyed our stay especially as the Waldorf Astoria is closing
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gonzales, LA

Glad we stayed at the Waldorf Astoria New York

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The character of the building.
Cons: It truly does need updating.
Location: The location was perfect for fifth ave shopping, Rockefeller Plaza, St. Patrick's Cathedral.
We are glad we chose to stay at the Waldorf Astoria for the historical aspect. The hotel was in its final days of operation and we did encounter some issues. Our room was not ready at check-in time, we waited for over an hour and our room was still not ready, so they placed us in another room. They did provide us with free breakfast to compensate for the long delay. Our room was lovely and we were facing park avenue. However, we were only on the fifth floor so there was lots of street noise. Our tub kept backing up while taking a shower after the second phone call and a second attempt they cleared the clog. We could not get the room cool, so they brought us a fan. All that being said it was truly a treat to be at the Grand Dame for her final days.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY

Night at the Waldorf

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: The history, charm and elegance.
Cons: Some of the staff was not friendly at all. The Bell staff in particular.
Location: Central Location on Park Ave
We went down with a few friends to say goodbye as they just closed for a few years to renovate. Had a great experience with the hotel and restaurant staff. The bar staff at Peacock Alley is amazing. We unfortunately had a very bad experience at check out. As the valet got our car and the bell staff helped but our luggage in the trunk, my friend got in the back seat and proceeded to close the door. The bellman was not paying attention and was hit by door. My friend jumped immediately t and apologized. The valet did not want to hear it, waved him away and actually said "F**k You" to him. We were floored. It obviously was an accident, and did not justify that kind of reaction. After an amazing night, Dinner at the Bull and Bear, Drinks at the Bars, $80 to valet the car. It ruined the entire experience. Being in the hospitality industry, I couldn't believe what I had heard. If they hadn't been closing the hotel the next day, I certainly would have said something.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Nice Location......

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location is terrific.
Cons: Much frankly, complimentary wifi, this is 2017 after all, complimentary morning coffee or coffee in the room would show they care
Location: Location is ideal for exploring New York, close to Grand Central station, MOMA, shopping on 5th Ave, Times Square a walkable distance away
Nice Hotel in a good location but charging $18.95 for wifi in your room and no coffee available in the room or complementary in the mornings in the lobby is just a cash grab. And an unreasonable cash grab at that. The Waldorf Astoria is easily outdone by its many competitors.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Waldorf Astoria was not the Waldorf I know.

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Pros: Location and The doorman name David.
I have stayed at the Waldorf in New York before as well as other Waldorfs in the US. This was not the hotel experience I've had before. The room was beyond subpar. The paint was chipping off of the walls, there was only two outlets working in the room and the room was terribly hot. When we called the front desk to ask if we could have someone look at our air the employee was rude and condescending. "Good luck with that. We are shutting down March 1 and we just don't have the staff. Besides it is winter in New York." Really? I don't care if it is winter. The room was so hot we couldn't stop sweating. I get it, closing down, BUT when I made my reservations I was not made aware of that detail. I travel ALOT, I can and will stay elsewhere. Bad form Hilton Co, Bad form Expedia for not disclosing that the hotel was closing down and we would be treated like we were staying at a youth hostel. I don't complain normally but when I go away from home, I expect to be able to charge my electronics, and not sweat the entire time I'm in the "comfort" of my high end hotel room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 28, 2017
Beautiful historic hotel......loved the ambience! Sunday buffet was lovely... too bad this hotel is closing... I'm so glad I had the opportunity to stay at the Waldorf Astoria!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A++++

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: perfect location, helpful and professional staff , lots to do without leaving the hotel
Best hotel experience I'd had , Spent our Valentine's weekend. amazing experience, Rebecca Villasenor at the front Desk was most generous and helpful , there was a delay to get an upgraded room ready but there was to shortage of entertainment and swanky complimentary refreshments, made us wanted to wait longer in the lobby than needed. It was perfect.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

A bit warm...

Posted Feb 27, 2017
Pros: Everything, except that the room was a bit warm.
Cons: The thermostat needs fixing, as the room was a tad bit warm (read "kind of hot").
Location: This was a business trip, and the hotel was very close to where I had to go; did not have time to do any sightseeing, so no comment on that.
The hotel was great. Rooms were nice & clean. However, it was way too warm; even turning down the thermostat did not help, hence the "pleasing" rating for Room Comfort vs an "excellent". I gave it an overall excellent rating because I didn't have an option of a 4.5, and although the heat made it a bit uncomfortable, it wasn't enough to bring it down to a 4, or "pleasing". Overall, a very pleasant experience...and considering which hotel it was, I paid a great room rate! The down part is that it is closing on 1 March 2017 for a few years for renovations, so will not be able to stay there again for a while, and after said renovations, will probably not be able to score such a good rate. :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel. In the center of Manhattan

Posted Feb 26, 2017
I visiting for my first honeymoon and Wao amazing hotel. The President Hotel, this hotel have a lot of history. The employees are well generous and very professional. Im very sad for those guys, because the hotel close now until 2 or 3 years for renovation. But, the show must go on and the life is short. Thanks Waldorf to bring me and excellent honeymoon and see you when complete your renovation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corbridge

Great central location

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Staff were great, location central to most uptown places, rooms clean albeit a little dated