Ratings based on 4,059 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What an amazing opportunity!

Posted Feb 20, 2017
We had the chance to stay in this iconic hotel just days before it closes for 3 years! We had an amazing stay! Took the opportunity to tour the hotel! So sad that things will change! So thankful for this experience!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Very good, it is wonderful hotel. I will be back again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kentucky

Nice hotel but ready for renovation

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: nice staff, great location & comfy beds
Cons: time to renovate
Location: perfect location for shopping and site seeing
Such a great classic hotel. Comfortable size rooms and beds. Great location. It just honestly is ready for renovation. The bathroom was so old. It took forever for the shower to come on & it made a loud screeching noise. There were no plugs to use for chargers. The fuse kept blowing if you used the blow dryer. There was a wedding or party going on one night and it was as if the band was playing very close to our room. Great old iconic hotel with a nice staff just ready for renovation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Abir T , Hotel Management
Dear C, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I would like to share that we are currently planning for a restoration of our property so that every detail will match the highest standard of luxury. We hope for the opportunity to share the results of this work firsthand with you in the future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Schertz Texas

HOTEL HAS FALLEN FROM GRACE

Posted Feb 19, 2017
The hotel ambiance is beautiful but the rooms and floors need renovating, which they are in the process of doing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Dear Tanya, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Gorgeous dated hotel is in the heart of NYC.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Please come back after the renovation with tha same glamure and new technologies.
Location: Excellent location!
We new that the hotel will be closed soon for a reconstruction/ renovation. Many sings tell that the hotel condition is not good for today. However, it is gorgeous and royal property with an excellent location. We wish to see this hotel in 3 years on the map of NYC. Good bye!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Dear Tamara, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I was happy to hear that you enjoyed our location but I regret that we were not able to provide you with the quality of service and accommodations you deserved during your recent stay. I hope we have the chance to welcome you back in the future and demonstrate our commitment to 5-star service in all areas of your experience. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Ok hotel, but wouldn't recommend it overall

Posted Feb 17, 2017
While the hotel is older the rooms are a little drabby. I think it's a 5 star hotel and a little surprised by the not so pleasant service. We checked in and the reception was abrupt and curt. We had to make a second trip down to get the wifi code. Good service would have given it to you at check in. The room didn't have a coffee machine or a hair dryer. If you want a bottle of water (usually you get at least 1 complimentary bottle?) the price is $15. We had called for some utensils and never received them (called a second time for a reminder) and finally went down to pick it up myself after an hour. A little surprised that on the last day / check out day, the cleaning staff walked in at about 8:30am to clean the room. On check out day, aren't they supposed to come in after you leave? Overall I've stayed in better serviced hotels that were not as fancy as the Waldorf.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Dear Jay, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that our property did not exceed your expectations throughout your stay as we strive to provide the world class experience you expect from our brand but I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk and jacksonville

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: History and the building
Cons: Better wifi ($18 per day...although we had it complementary), tea and coffee making facilities, fridge
Location: Great central location... Times Square, broadway, Central Park all close...
Despite teething problems about pestering my daughter for credit card details, as my flight had been delayed a day, the hotel was good. New York is fantastic and the Rockefeller Tower and Natural History museum musts. Museum of modern art (MoMA) was highly recommended but for us, the exhibits were pretentious and the actual building was the best exhibit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 20, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Dear Sean, Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Awesome place to stay to bad they are closing down for 3 years for renovation.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria as your host for your recent visit to New York City. It was great to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Albany, NY

Elegant, classic NY hotel

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: Beautiful architecture, comfortable accommodations, great staff
Location: Excellent location on Park Ave
Came to the hotel for a black tie event. Not only was the event spectacular, the accommodations were excellent. Had a wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
Dear Mark, Thank you for choosing the Waldorf Astoria as your host for your recent visit to New York City. It was great to learn that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us. I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Classic Waldorf decor and service.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Its history, 1930's decor, excellent staff, cleaniness and location was good.
Cons: Difficult to say because hotel is closing in 2 weeks for refurb - room does need some freshening up but standard still very good.
Location: Location was good, near to a lot of the attractions we wanted to see e.g Empire State Building, Central Park, Grand Central Station.
Staff were excellent but hotel is definitely trading on its history. We hope that with the closure and refurb the new owners further enhance the 1930's decor and keep the staff at such a good level - we felt that this is what people staying at the Waldorf want and expect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 15, 2017 by Abir T, Hotel Management
We appreciate you choosing to stay with us as your host during your recent trip to New York City. I was very glad to hear that you really enjoyed our location as well as the services provided by our staff and I sincerely hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back in the near future. Yours in service, Abir Tebbo Executive Director of Rooms