Ratings based on 1,886 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted May 13, 2017
This hotel is extremely different then what is on Expedia... I was told it was a 4 star and would not even rate it a 2. I would never stay at this hotel again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2017 by John. OPS Manager, Hotel Management
We Thank You for your review and are sincerely sorry that you did not find your stay enjoyable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Won't be back to the Wingate

Posted May 10, 2017
We had high hopes for our trip to NY but now hat we are back, two things are for sure: we are not staying at the Wingate again and we need to avoid the zoo that is midtown manhattan at all costs. The check in for the hotel was paiess but that was about as good as it got. We were given a room on the top floor which was nice but once up there, the fun ended. Our room was typically small, as most rooms in NY tend to be. We got a suite thinking it would help, but it was basically a room with a sliding door. It did have an outdoor balcony that was shared with the room next door which was cool. The sofa bed was atrocious, there were springs poking you from everywhere and no amount of blankets or cushioning was gonna help. Speaking of blankets...the extra blankets we had ordered up to our room were covered in yellow urine stains. The next day we told them about the blanket which was met with a shrug and ordered a roll away bed to be sent up to the room. took the mattres off, put it on the floor, added blankets and tried to make the best of it. The room was also not well kept. We found various expired key cards through out and the safe was locked. We also had our room cleaned only one day of our stay, not sure where the staff was to clean it...we had no sign on our door asking them to stay out. In the bathroom, there was a bath towel with two red stains which we. To top it all off, 1-ply toilet paper which is akin to sandpaper. Terrible for chrons patients like me.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 12, 2017 by John,OPS Manager, Hotel Management
We Thank you for your review as it helps us to correct issues. We apologize and are extremely sorry for the situations you encountered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Great hotel & superb location

Posted May 1, 2017
Fab location, very central and close to Penn Station so really easy to get around. Rooms were very spacious and had a fridge, microwave and coffee maker too. Bed and pillows both very comfortable. Hotel staff were knowledgable & helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel and we will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 5, 2017 by John, OPS Manager, Hotel Management
We Thank you for your review and are pleased that you were able to enjoy our hotel, and NYC/
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brick , NJ

good hotel for short stay

Posted Apr 30, 2017
I booked for one night and check in and out was easy and fast. The only real complaint was that when I came off the elevator there was a smell and also when I entered the room it had a smell of mustiness Once I turned on the a/c and let it run while I went out for dinner it was somewhat gone by the time I returned. The room & bathroom was clean but a little worn otherwise my stay was good and convenient for my stay in NYC
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by John, OPS Manager, Hotel Management
We Thank You for your review and apologize for any smell/mustiness that you may have encountered.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel very central mid Manhattan

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Small, clean, felt safe. Great beds. Good breakfast provided.
Location: Excellent base for exploring. Close (walking) to key areas, Penn Station, Times Square
Great trip to NYC. Lots of exploring and entertainment
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by John, OPS Manager, Hotel Management
We Thank You for your review and are pleased that you found our location and hotel to your liking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great last minute find

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Pros: Great location--it was easy to get uptown and downtown being near Penn Station. The staff were great as well.
Cons: I had no complaints
Location: It's near Penn Station so transportation is easy, plus it's near Herald Square for shopping.
I had to book this hotel last minute (same day I arrived) because of a bad airbnb situation and I was thrilled to find a comfortable, clean hotel with a spacious room in a great location. The staff were friendly and helpful (many people were storing their luggage for the day when I arrived and they handled it all gracefully), and kind to the guests. The breakfast was basic but good--I was glad it was included. I thought the overall price was very fair for NY. I would have stayed another night but they were booked solid!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2017 by John, OPS Manager, Hotel Management
We Thank You for your review and are pleased that you found our staff, location and breakfast to your liking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2017
very comfortable, great location, breakfast menu is good
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by John, OPS Mgr, Hotel Management
We Thank You for your review and are pleased that you found your acccommodations comfortable and our location and breakfast to your liking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Perfect location! Staff was very friendly! Room was comfortable and spacious.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by John, OPS Mgr, Hotel Management
We Thank You for your review and are pleased that you enjoyed our location, staff and room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaithersburg, MD

Great Hotel, great price, friendly staff!

Posted Apr 17, 2017
Pros: The hotel was Awesome! Great price, friendly staff, clean and very inviting for families!
Cons: Honestly, everything was great!
Location: This hotel is in walking distance to wonderful restaurants, shopping, Time Square and Penn Station!
We were greeted by a very friendly front desk person who gave us our room key even though we were a little early from check in time. The room was clean and looked exactly like the picture described on the website. If we needed anything, like extra towels, directions to any place, ideas for fun, the staff was on top of it! They even helped us book tickets to go see the Statue of Liberty and save money! The free breakfast was so yummy and the atmosphere was very inviting! At check out time we were able to leave our luggage with the front desk and was given a ticket to claim it when we were about to leave to go home that day!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 19, 2017 by John, OPS Mgr, Hotel Management
We Thank You so much for your positive review and are pleased that we were able to provide you with a pleasant stay. We look forward to your staying with us again in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Came for the Knicks game, perfect location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Close to Times Square and many site-seeing locatoins
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2017 by John, Ops Mgr, Hotel Management
Thank You for your review. We hope you enjoyed the Knocks game !