Ratings based on 1,340 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Good hotel

Posted Jan 16, 2017
However, the food needs improvement and they really need to update directions on how to reach it. The address shows as 550 route 1 and 9 which for someone who uses GPS to get around the GPS cannot find it. Called the hotel to get a better address the only one they can give is the United Employee parking next door so if you don't realize you will end up in their parking area which is a big No No. This according to the United rude attendant. I am used to having my meals in the hotel as it is easier. The room service was less than desired and the young man who brought the food did not speak English but Italian. Which is exotic if you want a date but not so much if you are trying to explain items are missing from the order like drink and utensils. The hotel itself was clean and the room was as well. Just some minor details as far as service could be better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo

near EWR airport.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: the price was good. room size was good too.
Cons: front desk staff could be a little more smiley. they were ok, but few smiles.
Location: location is not great, unless you are staying for night during a transit at EWR. not good location if you in the New Jersey, New York area for tourism
overall not bad. close to the EWR airport. hotel has shuttle that leaves every 30 minutes, so that is convenient. otherwise, it costs $21 for taxi. nothing special about the hotel. regular place, has the basics. nothing in the area though. it is good to stay for a night during a transit, but not as a place stay while doing touristy stuff in the New York area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The hotel is close to the airport.

Posted Jan 11, 2017
The location is not bad if you want to stay near the airport. The room was nice so issues there. I attended a conference there and it is very out of date and uncomfortable. I think it's the first hotel I ever been too that did not have note pads pens and water set up for participants. Also while we were in the room I'm sure someone was smoking weed near the room on the second floor and we could smell it. If it was me organizing the conference I would not book this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Ewen, NY

Good hotel convenient to Newark.

Posted Jan 9, 2017
The park and fly program worked well for us. This Wyndham is an older style hotel, well managed & busy with airport business. Got a good meal at the Starlight hotel restaurant. The shuttle service is free, operating 24 hours.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Hollywood, FL

HORRIBLE!!!!!

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: NOTHING
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: RUNAWAY
Where do I even begin to start with the most horrible hotel experience of my life?! We spent an entire week in this ghetto. This was my family's FIRST family vacation as a family of 4. My oldest was turning 10 and she wanted to see snow for her 10th bday. The only delightful person there upon check in was Denise. She answered all my questions about NYC, shuttles, and parking. However, the good part ended there. The room smelled badly, extremely moldy stench. The hot water did not work and we had to call engineering to the room on 3 occasions. On New Years Eve coming back from a family member's home, there was a posse of young women making a ruckus in the elevator hallway. About 10 minutes later a BROWL broke out between the same posse that included young men fist fighting over the aforementioned women. My husband quickly called the front desk AND 911. Another night a young man approached my husband and offered him drugs in front of our CHILDREN! We alerted the front desk again and were told that the man was not a guest. The same evening the entire hallway reeked of pot and loud music. Our room had 2 double beds that felt like we were sleeping on concrete slabs. Housekeeping never came to our room. We had to request towels and other things. The 3rd floor laundry area only had 2 working machines and the dryer did not work! HORRIBLE! Never ever ever again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Very good, clean hotel

Posted Jan 2, 2017
Good, clean hotel. Convenient to airport train station for travel to and from the city. Excellent restaurant on site, and the 24 hr deli and convenience store are added benefits. Staff is helpful and courteous.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Decent hotel close to airport

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Comfortable bed, convenient location, easy parking, and free airport shuttle.
Cons: Care in cleaning the rooms and making sure there is hot water!
Location: Located just minutes away from EWR airport.
We decided to book a room at the last minute since we were flying out of EWR early the next morning and wanted to be close to the airport. Check-in was smooth and the hotel staff was very accommodating. As for the room, it was in decent condition. However, the carpet was a bit dirty and may not have been vacuumed that day. Also, the cleaning staff did not leave us any bath towels (we phoned the front desk and they promptly brought some to our room, though). The bathroom was in good order and fairly clean. However, the shower had hot water in the evening but somehow the hot water went out in the morning, which made for a very brief shower in the morning. The bed was comfortable and the room was quiet which is mainly what we were looking for. The free hotel shuttle to the airport was also very convenient! It departs every 30 minutes at the top and middle of each hour. The shuttle drops you off at the airtram station which will take you to any of the gates. All in all, this was a great stay and worked well for what we needed. However, with just a little more care and effort cleaning the room, this would have easily been a 4 star stay.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from bermuda

Hotel review

Posted Dec 24, 2016
The bathroom was old and outdated. Not enough trolleys for luggage as many people are coming from the airport.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Hotel needs work

Posted Dec 20, 2016
The first thing I check in every hotel is the bathroom and the bed. The bathroom was clean but the popcorn ceiling was water stain,the curtain smelled like it wasn't wash in a while. I sat on the bed it felt good, as the night came and it was time to sleep. me and my fiance was tossing and turning all night. If you have to flush the toilet, the customer next door can hear it and we can hear there's . It smelled old and had mildew yuck.why didn't I complain, because I knew I will get the same room if I tried. This hotel is old and is falling apart the only thing that was good was the price and the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poughkeepsie N.Y.

Close to airport

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Perfect, close to airport, great shuttle service, bar and decent restaurant on premises. Comphy bed, only knock is the bathrooms need updates, but the water pressure is great and the water is hot!