Ratings based on 15,303 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden Charges, poor service, dirty room.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Room cleanliness. Room condition. Needs renovations. Hotel Staff could be more helpful.
Location: Location was good. Madison Square Garden is close.
We checked in and a $400 hold was put on my room for "Hotel Fees and Room Fee". I was later charged $286 for "Hotel Fees" on top of what I paid for my room with expedia. The room was very old, and in poor coniditon. Very dirty as well. The hotel staff is also rude and not very helpful. I will never book this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Very convenient for Penn station. Within walking distance of the Empire State Building and Times Square. Good round the clock amenities on the doorstep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and Deceiving

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Lobby and staff was nice
Cons: Needs updating and cleaner
Location: Location is good
Online pics are deceiving. Very old and small. I think it could have been much cleaner. The lobby is the only thing updated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel close to down town

Posted Feb 10, 2017
nice hotel very small rooms some people were nice some was rude nit impressed at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel!

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Beautiful hotel! Great location! Walk to everywhere. I stayed overnight with my daughter and felt very safe. Hotel staff very friendly and very helpful. Tick Tock Diner even delivered room service at midnight!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Hotel experience

Posted Feb 9, 2017
Pros: Charm,character and location.
Cons: The bathrooms can be cold in some of the rooms and I think having a coffee pot in each room would help.
Location: I always have to go to the Javits and it is in safe walking distance
I love the location and the old charm of the hotel.The staff is always wonderful and the rooms clean. I go a few times a year for business and always stay here. Sometimes I have to request a bigger room and am always accommodated as I usually travel with a business partner and we work through the night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Art Deco Hotel Near Times Square

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: All of the staff at the hotel were so friendly and helpful, especially the concierge. The rooms were simple, clean and inviting.
Cons: The noise from other rooms would travel a bit, we could hear our neighbours but it wasn't so loud that you felt like they were in your room.
Location: Close to Madison Square Garden, train stations, shops and a 10-15 minute walk from the heart of Times Square!
The hotel was fantastic! The decor may not be everyone's taste as it is art deco and some of the finishings are older. What really mattered though was the location. It was PERFECT! It's within walking distance of Times Square and right across the way from Madison Square Garden. The room itself was always clean and tidy when we got back, the beds were comfortable and the little sitting area was nice when we were hanging out in the room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Great Hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2017
I have stayed at the New Yorker over a dozen times and think it is a great hotel! I did experience a couple of hiccups during this stay that have never happened before but Management was quick to address my concerns. This hotel in conveniently located close to shopping, hockey, theatre and great restaurants!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from India

Great location

Posted Feb 8, 2017
I had two rooms for one night. Got an upgrade to a suite due to Expedia but they made me wait for hours to get the room ready. Checked if I could be "downgraded" just to get my room - it was the other end of a 20 hour journey, with no luck. The staff were polite. The hotel is tired and a tad run down. The rooms are comfortable. Had the suite on the 39th floor- good views. The bathroom is small, the shower is not the best - functional. The diner is nice, very polite staff, great choices for meals. If I had to stay one / two nights I'd pick this hotel but for longer stays might look at other options.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pictures were misleading

Posted Feb 8, 2017
My room felt like a shoebox. Bathroom was outdated. Could here plumbing from other rooms. Woke up to drilling in the room above me. Not the best experience.