Ratings based on 15,637 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
Great location very close to the theatre area and subway system
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

It's ok

Posted May 28, 2017
The hotel is in a really good location, very close to the train and attractions. The hotel was good. If you're looking for luxury, this is not the hotel for you. It's very dated, the hardware in the doors and some fixtures in the bathroom were rusted, the bath tub had dents, the paint was peeling in the bathroom walls, the shower was either really hot or really cold, and the water sprayed everywhere making it very difficult to shower. The A/C didn't work one night and the room was 80 degrees. I stayed for 12 days and will never stay here again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from mexico

The best the location

Posted May 27, 2017
Room and facilities aré old and in bad shape the value you get is les of what you get
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

What a great room !

Posted May 25, 2017
We were upgraded to an executive room. It was clean and very roomy. Beds were comfortable as well as the pillows. The washroom was a little tight to get around, but it served its purpose! The hotel was pretty safe. Security would ask for room number and to see your key each time you tried to go to the elevator. There was a 24 hour diner on one side, and an italian restaurant on the other side. Great location across from penn station and a block away from MSG. We would definitely stay here again. The only thing that would have been nice is a little fridge to keep drinks and food in.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice Location - but very dated

Posted May 24, 2017
Pros: The location is great.
Cons: Make the facilities fee non compulsory and fix the outdated piping that makes a racket if you turn the taps on past 30%.
Location: Madison Square Gardens is right there and Times Square is only 10 minutes walk away.
The hotel has an excellent location right next to Madison Square Gardens and Subway stations, but the rooms are very dated and even though we paid for an upgraded metro room it was very small and they wouldn't even contemplate moving us. The daily facilities fee is mandatory and basically equated to £25 a day for access to a rather poor in room wifi, but by this point you have already paid for a non refundable room so really have no choice but to pay it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Perfect location for all the sights

Posted May 24, 2017
Stayed 3 nights in a newly renovated room, Muhammed helped us in check in and we were upgraded as it was my husbands 40th and a room was available. Right beside Penn station and our room view showed madison square garden and empire state. Highly recommended
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location

Posted May 23, 2017
Our only complaint - during showers the temperature of the water would have shocks of ice cold and boiling hot. It was weird. Not horrible enough to keep us away. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Urbandale, IA

Decent hotel near Madison Square

Posted May 22, 2017
The outside of the hotel is very gothic looking. Like it could be part of Gotham City. The interior is a mixture of old glam and swank. The hotel staff is friendly enough. All of them look like ex NFL players. I'm not sure it's entirely a family affair hotel though. There is a 24 hr diner (with great service), Tick Tock, that is accessible in the lobby area. When we got to our hotel at 12:15 a.m. the lobby was filled with people waiting to get seated. Our room was swanky but super small. I'm thinking it was a larger storage area at one point. The bathroom the size of a very shallow walk in closet, but it was very nice. The bed was comfortable. I the quality itself was great. Just way smaller than what I'm used to in the Midwest. The only thing I didn't really like was they charge you a $29 utility fee. Oh, and there was no mini fridge in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Great location! The room gave me exactly what I needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, historic. Small rooms

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Great front desk staff. Top notch. I didn't get his name, but the person checking me in gave an excellent first-impression of the hotel.
Cons: To avoid the negative surprise of the small rooms, I suggest adjusting the description of my type of room to include "cozy" or "studio"
Location: Excellent location: close to pubs, convenience stores, trains. Rooms are well sound-insulated
Overall, my stay was excellent. Having a small room wasn't a big deal, but my surprise at the size of the room was part of my first impression that didn't go away. It would've been fine if I knew it was small, so I suggest that the hotel adjust the description of this type of room to include words like "studio" or "cozy". The gym is full size, a pleasant surprise. The hotel has a rich history, and while the basement museum is nice, organizing it with plaques and in a timeline-style would showcase the history better.