Ratings based on 8,178 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

central to everything

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Very good, the staff reduced the facikity fee to $10 per night, including tax. Ideally located, everything easy to manage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel Location

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: Central Location
Cons: Slightly bigger rooms however they are comfortable and ideal for visits.
Location: Everything is a block away Times Square, Empire State etc.
This Hotel is ideally placed for accessing the whole of NYC, Penn Station across the road if you wish to venture further afield. The staff are amazing and very helpful. Have been here twice now and I highly recommend it for any visit to NYC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Feb 14, 2017
The hotel needs a face lift, however the staff was very helpful and kind
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Nice hotel close to major tourist attractions.

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Hotel was comfortable and clean. Good view from window. Bit small for a family room.
Cons: Room could be bigger, fixtures and fittings could do with being updated.
Location: Madison Square Garden is across the road. Times Square less than 5mins away.
Short family break in New York. Taking in all the usual tourist spots. Went in February, weather was dry but extremely cold. Food was okay, but you have to like burgers and pizza. Expensive for a family with crap Euro / Dollar exchange.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Bay

Decent Hotel right in the Middle of NYC

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Great Location and Friendly Helpful staff
Cons: Fridge in the room... Updating
Location: The location is perfect it is right in the middle of the city... Within quick walking distance of many attractions including Times Square.
The New Yorker is a nice "old" hotel... The room we stayed in was dated, however considering the price and the location we were fairly happy. The staff we friendly and helpful. There was no fridge in our room which would have been nice due to the length of our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york ,ny

Lovely

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Every thing, perfect stay
Cons: No love it from start to end
Location: Just a few block from Madison square garden, bars and nightclubs are close to the hotel, and close to big shopping stores
The New Yorker was an excellent hotel , we stand at the new room located on the seventh floor,love the view the bed was soft room super clean
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hidden Charges, poor service, dirty room.

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Location.
Cons: Room cleanliness. Room condition. Needs renovations. Hotel Staff could be more helpful.
Location: Location was good. Madison Square Garden is close.
We checked in and a $400 hold was put on my room for "Hotel Fees and Room Fee". I was later charged $286 for "Hotel Fees" on top of what I paid for my room with expedia. The room was very old, and in poor coniditon. Very dirty as well. The hotel staff is also rude and not very helpful. I will never book this hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 11, 2017
Very convenient for Penn station. Within walking distance of the Empire State Building and Times Square. Good round the clock amenities on the doorstep.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Outdated and Deceiving

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: Lobby and staff was nice
Cons: Needs updating and cleaner
Location: Location is good
Online pics are deceiving. Very old and small. I think it could have been much cleaner. The lobby is the only thing updated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel close to down town

Posted Feb 10, 2017
nice hotel very small rooms some people were nice some was rude nit impressed at all