Ratings based on 14,450 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A centrally located hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Pros: Location ideal, major attractions were either walkable, or had a subway nearby, Times Square was approx 15mins walk, Madison Square Garden was 4 mins!
Cons: Don't agree with having to pay the $29 per day fee to use Gym, Business Centre and Internet as these should be standard, but no coffee maker.fridge?
Location: Uncle Niks offers great Greek food, you will get bored of McDonalds!, close to subways, Empire State, Rockefeller Centre top of rock (brilliant!)
After reading various reviews about the New Yorker and now having stayed there, we can see both sides of the coin. Luckily we were "upgraded" to room 1945 on the 19th floor, due to us staying for our twin son's 21st Birthday. The room was very clean, had a "retro" look and whilst lying on the bed we could see the Empire State Building, in fact, we could see the flashes of the cameras from people on the observatory at night, brilliant! However, at night we were across from the lifts and a room with vending machines and where residents could fill their ice buckets, even at 3am, which loses its appeal after a few sleepless nights! We know staying in New York doesn't' get you a good nights sleep! But you would think other residents would be mindful of the noise (there are no ice vending machines until you get to the 19th floor upwards). However, we don't really want to concentrate on being too negative about this, as when you enter the lobby of the New Yorker you can see how this hotel was once a glorious flagship hotel in it's heyday, Art Deco features and a stunning lobby area really give you a feel of a lost era ( there are a few pictures and a small exhibition of how the hotel once looked down by the business centre). Unfortunately, whilst in the lift, we noticed some floors of the hotel appeared a bit "hostel" looking and seemed more suited to young student / back packer types, our floor was very tastefully done and matched the overall theme of the hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from utrecht

Mooi oude glorie

Posted Jul 29, 2016
Als je van het oude New York houdt is dit een leuk hotel Het is 20 jaar dicht geweest.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic Location

Posted Jul 27, 2016
This hotel is in the middle of everything. Easily walkable to major tourist destinations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Woken up to construction outside my window.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: It's the Tesla Hotel, and it's in good shape.
Cons: Managers need to be aware of construction on site, and compensate customers when they mess up.
Location: It's NYC.
It's a nice hotel, staff are generally efficient and friendly, security is good, no random people of the street. The stay was overall "ok" but on the one night I needed to get a full night sleep and sleep-in, in the morning, I was woken up to construction outside my window. Called the front desk, requested to speak to the manager, got some assistant hospitality person, not the manager. They had no idea construction was going on. No offer to compensate, ruined my day. I just wanted to sleep in an hour or 2 past 8am, after 4 days at a conference with only a few hours sleep a night. Monday morning was supposed to be my sleep in before travel and enjoy the day day. Not so much. Overall pretty disappointed with Expedia's VIP hotels and 2x points. Every time I've tried it, I'm never treated like a VIP and never get upgraded or anything from it. Used 55k+ points for 4 nights, will probably not use it again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fint hotell sentralt i New York på Manhattan

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Fint og gammelt hotell. Rett ved Penn station så meget praktisk å bruke tog til og fra newark flyplass. Gamle rom men vi bodde fem stk i New yorker suite med god plass på to rom med to dobbeltsengen og en sovesofa. To bad var luksus. Bra rengjøring.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Utah

Older Hotel, good location

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Location, value, cool historic hotel
Cons: Size of rooms, but I don't know how you could really change that.
Location: Everything within a short walk or subway ride, Ellis Island, Time Square, Central Park.
It's an older hotel, very small room with only two double beds, very crowded for our family of four, but really what we were expecting in New York. The location was perfect for us because it is right across the street from Penn Station and we were arriving and leaving New York by Amtrak. Breakfast was very easy with a Crepe shop and McDonalds right across the street. Easy access to the subway. It was quite a cool historic hotel, but the rooms, bathroom facilities etc. were that of an older hotel. It did fit our needs just fine and the value seemed reasonable for New York.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Quito, Ecuador

Nice hotel, close to Times Square and Empire State

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Nice hotel, close to everything. Very busy. Traditional New York building with a lot of history. The room was great, had a beautiful view of the Empire State. Bathroom, closet space and bedroom are perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Zentrales Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Pros: Die Zentrale Lage und die Höhe unseres Zimmers (29.Etage)
Cons: Alles Ok
Location: Mitten in Manhattan (Uptown)
Die Sehenswürdigkeiten und Einkaufsmöglichkeiten Uptown sind alle gut zu Fuß zu erreichen ( z.B.Timesquare ca 10-15 Min.). Nach Downtown ist direkt eine U Bahn vor dem Hotel.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Central to lots of tourist attractions

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Central to lots of tourist attractions. Comfortable rooms
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

hotel near train, bus, metro station

Posted Jul 23, 2016
Pros: - second time staying at this hotel - really like location
Cons: - room supplies - had to use same soap for several days and finally asked for new one as not much was left
Location: - great location, close to metro, coffee shops, restaurants, shoppings - doable walking to Broadway shows
- was here for 10 nights - like the friendly security people by the elevators