Ratings based on 15,870 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great location, expensive

Posted Jul 21, 2017
The location of the hotel is great, close to all the important sites of the city, staff was polite and accommodating, rooms are pretty small and outdated, hotel is expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Location at the historical hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We stayed at 32nd floor. excellent metro view of Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Chrysler Building with different color lights at night. close to metro station, Manhattan's best pizza at couple blocks away. And this building has so much history.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O.P., KS

Terrific

Posted Jul 18, 2017
This is an old hotel that has been renovated. It is very nice, but a little cramped. The staff is very helpful. I pulled my car up on 8th Ave & they took care of everything. You can't ask for much more than that! We wish they had a pool for the kids, but w/o it, this probably keeps the price down.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boiling Springs, PA

Great hotel! Great service! Uncomfortable beds.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
We loved this hotel! Excellent location, friendly staff who remembered us & made our daughter feel special, beautiful lobby, Art Deco rooms, great food at Tick Tock Diner, wonderful concierge, and they let us check in early with a free room upgrade (2 bathrooms!!!). The only downside was the uncomfy beds (ridgid sides, sinks in the middle = sore back). We did self parking at ICON (super close) instead of using the valet for the same garage. The hotel validated our parking ticket and saved us over $25! Definitely recommend this hotel!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Lititz, PA

Close to Penn Station

Posted Jul 16, 2017
Pros: It was close to the train station. Loved the Tick Tock Diner adjoining the hotel. We felt very safe with all the security.
Cons: Either add a coffee machine to room or provide free coffee for guests. Don't surprise guests as they are checking out with "facilities fees".
Location: Close to Madison Square Garden, Penn Station, Empire State Building, & Tour Buses.
Our room was nice size with plenty of space for suitcases. Bathroom was small and looked like it could use some updating. Check-In was quick. Staff was friendly & responsive to requests. Sometimes there was a long wait for elevators.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Our first visit to New York City was made even more memorable by our stay at the New Yorker! It has a great location, close to Time Square and subway. We found our room to be very comfortable and clean. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful in many areas! We would highly recommend the New Yorker and would return again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice Hotel close to everything.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Pros: Nic central location
Cons: Reduce the resort fee it's a rip off
Location: You are central to most things and restaurants,
The rooms are comfortable and the beds are so nice you fall asleep straight away. The location of the hotel is central to most of the sites in the city and the metro /subway is around the corner 7 day ticket $32. The hotel staff are lovely but don't forget when you check in to ask for tea and coffee making facilitities at reception as you only have them when you ask.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Some are excellent, some are terrible

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Location: High Line is one of the newest and best spot for feeling Manhattan. It takes 13 minutes on foot.
The location, the history, some staff who did backup are excellent. It takes only minutes to get on several subway lines or railway. Shower pressure and temperature were not enough, I don't want to stay in the winter. The room view was not good even though it was 32nd floor because of the shape of the buildings, unfortunately our room located at recess of the building. Some hairs were left at the bathroom, but the room as a whole was clean. Even the guests are not allow to use toilet at common space, it was inconvenient. Even all guest can use free WiFi, they charged the cost for WiFi, fitness gym and business center, that didn't make sense, but hotel manager cancelled it after I told him that I was never going to use them, he dealt quickly. New Yorker Hotel has great history, Nikola Tesla spent his later years, Muhammad Ali prepared for a big match, recently Hillary Rodham Clinton did concession speech there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Anchorage AK

Good to be close to Penn Station and Macy's but...

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Only there one night and I'd say I'm satisfied but not blown away. Like I said, it's very close to Penn Station and was also close for a quick trip to the flagship Macy's (although I would have liked to stay longer!) it's a very busy hotel, took a looooong time to check in, and not much personal service. I should also note that the Expedia VIP got me nothing, but no big deal there. Room was very small and a little dated but adequate. The Tick Tock diner was good, didn't eat at the other place. Overall decent stay and the price was good compared to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver Canada

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Staff is excellent,great sevice and safe .we really enjoy stay here.