Ratings based on 15,620 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome location

Posted May 23, 2017
Our only complaint - during showers the temperature of the water would have shocks of ice cold and boiling hot. It was weird. Not horrible enough to keep us away. We would stay here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Urbandale, IA

Decent hotel near Madison Square

Posted May 22, 2017
The outside of the hotel is very gothic looking. Like it could be part of Gotham City. The interior is a mixture of old glam and swank. The hotel staff is friendly enough. All of them look like ex NFL players. I'm not sure it's entirely a family affair hotel though. There is a 24 hr diner (with great service), Tick Tock, that is accessible in the lobby area. When we got to our hotel at 12:15 a.m. the lobby was filled with people waiting to get seated. Our room was swanky but super small. I'm thinking it was a larger storage area at one point. The bathroom the size of a very shallow walk in closet, but it was very nice. The bed was comfortable. I the quality itself was great. Just way smaller than what I'm used to in the Midwest. The only thing I didn't really like was they charge you a $29 utility fee. Oh, and there was no mini fridge in our room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2017
Great location! The room gave me exactly what I needed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location, historic. Small rooms

Posted May 18, 2017
Pros: Great front desk staff. Top notch. I didn't get his name, but the person checking me in gave an excellent first-impression of the hotel.
Cons: To avoid the negative surprise of the small rooms, I suggest adjusting the description of my type of room to include "cozy" or "studio"
Location: Excellent location: close to pubs, convenience stores, trains. Rooms are well sound-insulated
Overall, my stay was excellent. Having a small room wasn't a big deal, but my surprise at the size of the room was part of my first impression that didn't go away. It would've been fine if I knew it was small, so I suggest that the hotel adjust the description of this type of room to include words like "studio" or "cozy". The gym is full size, a pleasant surprise. The hotel has a rich history, and while the basement museum is nice, organizing it with plaques and in a timeline-style would showcase the history better.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Subway was handy, a very convenient location!

Posted May 16, 2017
Susie the consierge was amazing and gave us the best recommendations for places to eat and things to see. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful, and our room although small was clean. A fridge would have been a nice touch in the room. We would definitely stay here again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to Time Square

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: Staff, cleanliness and location
Cons: N/A
Location: Time Square, Central Park, Empire state Buiding
We were very close to Time Square and found it easy to get around New York.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sk Canada

Excellent location, clean and safe

Posted May 16, 2017
2nd time staying at the New Yorker. Very happy with the quality of the room and staff were very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean, efficient, and friendly.

Posted May 15, 2017
We arrived at the hotel early in the day and Mohammed at the front desk was able to have us check-in and receive keys to the room even though check-in is technically not until 4pm. All the staff were friendly and the quality was well worth the price (very competitive considering NYC) and would definitely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Nice, quick stay

Posted May 14, 2017
We stayed this past weekend with our kids for their first trip to the city. The hotel was easy to find and parking was close. Lots of train stops nearby. Mohammad was extremely wonderful at the front desk. We really enjoyed our stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 12, 2017
This is an older facility that is extremely well located for public transportation. All staff I had contact with were exceptionally pleasant & helpful. The facility fee is disclosed on check-in, still it seems a bit cheesy to charge for standard amenities in addition to the steep room rates.