Ratings based on 15,548 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Columbus Ohio

Nice hotel in the midst of all New York activity.

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Location: Tour bus route close. This takes you anywhere.
All staff were helpful and friendly. We were able to check our bags while we started sightseeing. The convenience to Penn Station was a plus.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Great location, staff need some training

Posted Apr 26, 2017
What a fantastic location for getting around NYC! Absolutely brilliant. Unfortunately, the rest of it isn't so good. The rooms are fine, small but that's what you expect in NYC but the staff here are woeful. No customer service skills at all, massive language barrier and no attempt to provide their customer with a pleasant stay. Tick Tock diner is meh at best, it's fine but you're in NYC - go out and find the real stuff. Wouldn't stay here again. Rooms: Small, noisy, hot Lifts: Fine, no issues Staff: Unfriendly and unhelpful Location: Excellent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NY City

Great location

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Parking rate, no hidden costs
Should offer discounted parking for being a guest. Hidden fee for 'maintenance' after booking online price not cool.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but it was like Grand Central St.

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Nothing that would bring me back.
The hotel was chaotic. The lobby was always jammed. There were constant line-ups to check in & to store the luggage. Someone spilled water on me from the mezzanine. The hospitality desk staff knew nothing. The concierge desk was not much better. Security stopped us at the elevators & told my 28 yr. old son & his friend that if they were taking their skateboards up to the room they would have to use the freight elevator!!!! Notwithstanding, dogs were allowed & hordes of noisy kids roamed the hotel. We had asked for queen beds, but got doubles instead which meant that my son & his friend were squeezed into a small bed. Making a complaint was not an option given the bedlam in the hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

Comfortable hotel, exceeded expectations

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Location is great, hotel is very nice
Cons: Bathroom was a little cramped, front desk service was incredibly slow
Location: Location is perfect, right near everything
Stayed for business, room was nice, bed was comfortable
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: It was walking distance to absolutely everything in the city, including restaurants and attractions (there's a 24 hour grocery store right across the
We stayed at the New Yorker for 6 nights and we loved it! It was very clean, huge rooms (the bathroom had a tub), lovely views of the city and it was close to everything (the subway station was right outside the hotel entrance). It was walking distance to absolutely everything in the city, including restaurants and attractions (there's a 24 hour grocery store right across the store). All in all fantastic!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location is best feature

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: Easy walking distance even with suitcase to both Port Authority and Penn Station. Located right on 8th so no dark streets to walk. A 24 hr inexpensive restaurant is connected. In the lobby is an expresso/pastry bar. The small business center, fitness room are an escalator trip downstairs. A guard checks visit access to elevators, which gives peace of mind that not just anyone off the street can wander the floors. Guests upon checkout can store luggage for $2. Cons: The hotel adds substantial required daily fee for privilege of gym and business center whether or not you need them. This stay was my second in a month. The first Wyndham stay was on the right side of the building where the paint and wallpaper need repair, and ugly service doors made the floor look very shabby. My room had a bathroom window that allowed air in, which I didn't notice until it got cold at night. Part of the shower curtain was rigged to use the window frame as part of the brace so no way to take a shower without freezing air blowing across a wet body. I mentioned upon checkout that the tiny room should not be rented and they took off the above-noted fee. Second time I returned I was on the renovated left side--where there was a courtesy bathrobe, no slippers. I suggested that guests be given option for extras --keys could be adjusted for access & was told that the website makes fees clear. The fee was reduced to half though. No late checkout was offered.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Great location

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Pros: The location
Cons: The bathrooms need updated.
Location: It is located midtown so easy to walk around or to travel uptown or down town.
I always stay at the New Yorker hotel, it is so convenient to every thing, and have recommended this hotel to lots of travellers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Midlothian, UK

Excellent location

Posted Apr 21, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: In need of decoration
Location: 5 minutes from the Empire State Building, Penn Station on the doorstep.
Great 6 night stay in a New Yorker Suite, very spacious. Friendly staff and Tick Tock Diner is excellent.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Great location, good price

Posted Apr 19, 2017
Pros: Nikola Tesla museum and artifacts.
Cons: Cleanliness of bathroom and hallways
Location: Away form Time Sq but close to everything.
we stayed here before and like the location the most. Price is ok too, staff is nice. The room was too small for four of us. It was disappointing, they new we had 2 kids with us. We literary open the room door and a bed was right there. If you are going to stay there ask for the size of your room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 26, 2017 by Djiby, Hotel Management
thank you for choosing to stay with us here at the New Yorker, a Wyndham Hotel. we truly appreciate your kind words about our staff and products. however, we are disappointed that you accommodation was not up to your satisfaction. we do have over 1000 rooms available, have we knew that you were not satisfied we could have upgraded your room to one of our largest double bedded room with a spectacular view of Manhattan.