Ratings based on 45 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to town centre

Posted Jun 21, 2016
Ideal for walking into the town centre for access to bars and restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wales

Lovely staff

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Staff. Hotel position.
Cons: The room.
Location: Very good location for Newark, which is a lovely historical market town.
The hotel is in a very good position for Newark. Very reasonably priced room. The staff at the hotel could not do enough to help. They were all very pleasant and cheery. We stayed in the top floor of the annexe, which was once a large house, not in the actual hotel. Our room was up several flights of stairs. The room was dark and very hot. There was a fan in the room, but this did little to make it comfortable. It was not a particularly warm night so avoid the top of the annexe (rooms 30 & 31) in the warm weather and if you find stairs difficult. Powerful shower which was great. Breakfast ok, nicely cooked, if a little slow service.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Excellent location for Centre of Town

Posted Jun 6, 2016
Very smart Hotel in an ideal location for the centre of Newark and a good base for travelling around the local area.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Visiting family

Posted May 27, 2016
I arrive early and was able to leave my luggage which was in my roomwhen I arrive my was nice and clean and my breakfast ok booking out easy I found the staff very helpful will stay again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

disgusting

Posted May 10, 2016
Pros: leaving
Cons: everything
this was possibly the worst hotel i have ever stayed in. room was filthy, dirty carpet and bed - disgusting toilet and bathroom. bugs in bed...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted May 6, 2016
Pros: The staff and the location
Cons: Single beds in rooms big enough for a double are never good even for single occupancy. The bathroom needed up grading as it was tired and grubby.
Location: A short walk to the attractions of Newark
Friendly staff working with a place that could do with an up grade, makeover.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disgusting hotel and staff

Posted Apr 18, 2016
On arrival no receptionist for 20 minutes to book in,bed had bugs on it,bathroom stank of sewage and when complaining was told nobody else complains,terrible stay and refused to pay,should be shut down:(
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from morrison

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Poor reception greeting on arrival.A smile would have been good Key to room did not function as reception forgot to enable it and I had to treturn after not gaining entry to the room Waited an hour for our meal. Complained and received a complimentary dessert, the restaurant was virtually empty but err informed it was'hectic' which was laughable Room change due to road noise
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rothley, Leicestershire

Kellie Brooks concert

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Turned a concert visit into a two night stay. Excellent staff made our weekend a really good rest, with good food and drink as a bonus. Newark a very good place to visit, lots of shop s and good pub s.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A recent visit to a tired hotel

Posted Mar 22, 2016
Pros: 24 hour bar, only to hotel guests although if you 'know the owner' it appears anybody can have a drink after hours.
Cons: decor, room layouts, furniture, furnishings, breakfast.
We visited this hotel as we where attending a friends birthday in Nottingham but as he lives in the area he suggested this hotel as it was close to his house. Its clear from the outside of this hotel that it needs some work. Although you are advised there is free parking this is true for up to about 6 cars before you need to then go into the overflow car park which appears to be managed by one of these 'fly by the night' clamping firms and you have to pay for your parking. Agreed the fee isn't expensive but then again its not free either. The public areas of the hotel have had some work done, the bar and restaurant are pleasant enough. The bedroom we stayed in was cosy to say the least. A double rooms whose bathroom was bigger than the bedroom. Starting in the bathroom the fixtures and fittings where pretty cheap and when i put my wash bag on one of the shelves it nearly came out the wall. There is a rubber mat for the bath to have a shower but the matt you stand on to get out the bath is as slippery as ice when you have wet feet. The toilet brush.................................... ill say no more but it hasn't been replaced in the last year. The bedroom as i say was cosy. The windows offer no sound protection from the busy road outside or the air-conditioning unit. Th TV is fine and offers channels for all as you would expect. I wouldn't stay here for longer than a night, its a great drop your bags off and go out hotel