Ratings based on 2,997 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Zwickau

Ordentliches Hotel in Downtown Newark

Posted Oct 20, 2016
Pros: Zimmer in der 14. Etage mit tollem Blick auf Manhattan , WLAN kostenlos
Cons: Einrichtung schon in die Jahre gekommen, trauriges Frühstück, alles wegwerf Artikel, typisch amerikanisch halt
Location: Im Zentrum von Newark, ca. 10 Minuten zum Bahnhof, dann je nach Ziel in Manhattan 20 - 45 Minuten Fahrt mit dem PATH Zug.
Das Hotel ist eine gute Alternative zu den teuren Hotels in New York. Es gibt kostenlose Parkplätze, allerdings nur begrenzt. Das gesamte Hotelpersonal ist etwas träge und unfreundlich. Es gibt im Hotel einen kleinen Shop, Frühstück und WLAN ist kostenfrei. Das Hotel besitzt 15 Stockwerke und eine Dachterrasse mit schönen Ausblicken.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

ótima opção de hospedagem

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Pros: o conforto dos quartos, bem organizados a simpatia dos funcionários, sempre prontos para ajudar. o café da manhã é muito bem variado.
Cons: a limpeza dos banheiros talvez mereça uma atenção melhor.
Location: a localização é muito boa. próximo ao centro comercial de Newark, próximo de trem para New York.
O hotel é limpo os quartos são espaçosos e atendimento é ótimo. café da manha e estacionamento.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NRW

Echt Gutes Hotel in Newark vor den Toren zu NY

Posted Oct 19, 2016
Ich kann dieses Hotel gerne weiter empfehlen. Das Zimmer war geräumig, gut ausgestattet inkl. Safe und sauber. Das Frühstück War gut und reichhaltig. Jeden Tag fuhr im 30 min Takt ein gratis Shuttle Richtung Airport und Newark Penn Station. Alternativ dauert der Fussweg zur Pennststation 7 min. Von der Pennstation erreicht man das WTC in 20 min, die 33 Str. Per Zug (nicht Path) auch in 20 min
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston

Horrendous experience - do not stay here!

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything - cleanliness, shuttle service, breakfast
Arrived late at night and after calling for the shuttle, had to wait over 20 mins for it at the designated place, despite calling them when I had got my luggage and was on the way to the pick-up place. On arriving at the hotel, check-in was slow. When I went up to my room, it had clearly not been cleaned since the last guest - unmade bed, dirty towels etc. Called reception and was told to come back downstairs. Went downstairs, and was kept waiting 20 mins until they gave me a new room key. Went to the new room and - surprise surprise - it was in exactly the same state. Came back down (at this point it was 1:30am and I just wanted to go to bed) and the check-in guy told me he would get a security guard to check the next room before he sent me up. Waited 10 mins for the security guard, and when he arrived and he was told what room number to check, he straight away said that one was dirty too! Eventually got keys to 2 different rooms and when we went to check them out, the first one was (finally) clean and I could go to bed. Breakfast was very average - no skimmed milk and very busy. Was then told that the shuttle went every 30 mins to the airport, and one was due at 9:30. Waited for it, and it eventually appeared at 9:55 - luckily, I was not in a hurry. Asked the check-in lady who I could speak to about the issues and she said no manager was available and did not offer any other options. Tried to find an e-mail address for the hotel but was unable to do so. AVOID!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Room good, restaurant good food, but pricy. Very few people eat there. Hotel is convenient to Penn Station, also, has shuttle to Penn Station and airport, if you can contact hotel or driver, very difficult at most times.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Don't Rely On Hotel Bus

Posted Oct 6, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Poor customer service, no interest from front desk and most minibus drivers.
Location: Take the PATH or train to Manhattan.
I stayed at this hotel for 5 nights and I went into Manhattan every day. A key reason I selected this hotel is because it advertises pickups from the train station. It is only a 10 minute walk from the station to the hotel but not one a single woman should be doing late at night. The front desk staff and three out of the four minibus drivers have no idea of customer service and a very lax attitude. The minibus is supposed to run on the hour and half hour to the station and then the airport. Despite three of us standing outside, with luggage, no-one came until we went in and enquired. There was a distinct lack of interest from the staff. When I called from the station for a pick up I was a) not told where to stand, so missed the bus when it came the first time b) not told how long it would take (a long time) or told it would take 10 minutes and it took 25 minutes. This is no fun, standing at night outside a train station. One day my bathroom was tidied up but the bed was not made at all. The front desk staff are mostly not interested. If you are OK walking back from the station at night, then this is a good location and inexpensive for visiting Manhattan. The trains are currently (October 2016) not running normally on the weekend so it can take over an hour to get into town or back. Weekdays are much, much better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: close to airport, free shuttle
Cons: Better beds,cleaner rooms
Room stunk of cigarettes, very noisy,uncomfortable
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Für eine New York Besichtigung ok

Posted Oct 2, 2016
Nur zum Schlafen ok. Frühstück typisch amerikanisch (sehr süß). Personal teils unfreundlich und unprofessionell (Rezeption). Zimmer und Hotel in sehr alten Zustand. Das Bett war das einzig neue und soweit gut.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON, Canada

Nice Hotel

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: They have a shuttle to Penn Station and the airport. It is a 10 minute walk from Penn Station to the hotel, if the shuttle is AWOL.
Cons: Communicating to guests how to avail of the shuttle from Penn, and informing the shuttle driver about call-ins from the station. This is absent.
Location: Close to Penn Station. Very convenient if you are visiting Manhattan.
It was a nice hotel and met our expectations. We stayed there for 5 days. Our primary purpose was to visit Manhattan. The front desk people were good. The room was cold, and they provided us with a couple of blankets quickly. They fail in a couple of areas. Primarily, they do NOT give proper information about the operation of the shuttle bus. We were told that the shuttle departed from the hotel on the hour and the half hour. We were also told that the bus picked guests up from NJ Penn Station on the hour and the half hour. This is not true. You have to phone the hotel when you need a Penn Stn. pick up - we found this out on the third day. On the fourth day we phoned the hotel for a pick up at the station, we were told it would happen in 5 minutes. It did not. The shuttle did come in after about 20 minutes. The driver told us that the only reason he was at the station was because he was dropping off a couple - NO ONE at the hotel told him about our request. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the station. Visitors might not be comfortable walking at night - hence the need for better communication between the front desk desk and the shuttle driver, and with new guests We noticed that even after our experience with the Penn pickup, the front desk continued telling registering guests about the pickup from Penn on the hour and half hour - no mention about the phone call-in. Other than the above, our experience was good. We will go there again, and recommend it to friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BaWü

Günstige Alternative zu NYC

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Schneller check in, etwas muffeliger Mitarbeiter Zimmer war um 12 schon fertig, supi! Zimmer etwas in die Jahre gekommen, aber Sauber und verhältnismäßig groß mit Blick auf die NY Skyline. Kostenloser Shuttle zum Airport und such zum Bahnhof, der nur 8 min zu Fuß zu erreichen ist! Von da aus mit dem Path in ca 20 min in Manhattan. Nachts ist die Umgebung des Hotels unheimlich... Shuttle zu empfehlen. Frühstück sehr lieblos aber für den Start ok. Vor Buchung schon wegen late check out angefragt, kann leider nicht reserviert u garantiert werden, was für ein Airporthotel schlecht ist, natürlich am An/Abreisetag alles belegt u nicht möglich, was für uns mit 2 Kleinkindern sehr ärgerlich war. Da das Wetter auch nicht mitmachte haben wir dann leider 8h am Flughafen verbracht!