Ratings based on 3,213 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phx, Az

First Vacation to NJ and NYC with a girlie friend.

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness,
Cons: Open up that roftop and make it for hotel guests only!!
Location: You could walk to stores, eats, etc. Lovely park across the street.
We loved the hotel. It was nice and clean and was impressed to learn that 4 Presidents stayed here! Rudy the shuttle driver went above and beyond with his customer service. You made our trip even better. Loved the rooftop deck to have a cocktail and view the city lights. There is no bar or grill on the dick, but beautiful views of NYC and around NJ. Beautiful park across the street. Our maid was also very nice. This was a fantastic vacation and we enjoyed it very much. Thanks! The Crazy Phoenix Girls!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Irvine, CA

Decent hotel near to Penn station... Jersey city

Posted May 17, 2017
Stayed here for 3 days, room, house keeping and the staff all was good. Breakfast had more options and it is available till 10 am and its quite OK even if you are late by 15 mins, you will be not missing it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice hotel. Great downtown Newark location.

Posted May 13, 2017
Nice hotel. Reasonable price for the downtown location. NJPAC directly across the street. Walking distance from Penn Station.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City

Overall review

Posted May 9, 2017
Hotel is conveniently located close to NJPAC and Newark Penn Station which was a plus for us because our trip was primarily visiting NYC. The train ride from Penn Station to Penn Station was 20 mins max. The walk from Robert Treat to Penn Station-Newark was about 10 mins, the hotel does offer free shuttle transportation to guest. However, based on the experience we had with the front area staff we avoided them as much as we could. The hotel is outdated, so if you are a hot natured person (like myself) DO NOT stay at this hotel if the weather is above 65 degrees. We had the thermostat set to 55 degrees, the unit ran the entire time we were there, and the temperature in the room remained the same (75 degrees). We were there from May 4-8 and fortunately for me the outside temperature dropped below 50 degrees in the evening so we slept with the window open. Complimentary breakfast is included, not a huge selection, however the food that was offered was good. Housekeeping was friendly and kept the room tidy. The room we stayed in did not have a microwave, not sure if this was for all rooms or just the one we stayed in. The wifi was super slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Shuttle service is not quite dependable at Newark airport. Need make many calls to have the shuttle coming. Besides that, the hotel is in our expectation. Beds are comfortable. Walking distance to PATH train, and to Rutgers Newark. Bathroom a little small but function well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

walking distance to Prudential center

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: free parking and breakfast
Cons: updated
Location: near prudential center, restaurants within walking distance
Hotel is convenient for going to Prudential center. You can park at hotel and walk to where you need to go. Hotel is older and room are small, yet comfortable. We were lucky enough to get a room away from others so it was quiet. Breakfast is included in your stay. This is the second time we have stayed here and it works when we are in town for hockey game.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Getaway weekend.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Friendly staff. Central located, comfortable beds. Con: Old, outdated, dirty and old carpet, dirty hallways and elevator. Bad breakfast. The hotel has a problem with smokers and they can not have control of them If you stay here you will likely have to deal with smoke in your room. We had to deal with that for two nights. In my experience this is a Two Star hotel and NOT three star. In my experience this is not a clean hotel nor smoke free hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by Blesson, Hotel Management
Hi Anonymous, Thanks for sharing about your time at the Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel. Our staff are always happy to assist you with . We had a professional company come out to polish our elevators just a few weeks ago so they are in brilliant condition now. Our rooms are being updated with brand new carpet currently. We try to enforce our non-smoking policy by removing offenders and charging high fees for violating the policy and will continue to work to do a better job at it. We hope you will stay with us again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A two star hotel, NOT three star.

Posted Apr 6, 2017
The hotel is convenient located. Friendly staff. Comfortable beds and a nice city view. Rooms are outdated with dirty carpet, dirty hallways and dirty elevator. The worst breakfast ever in a very unpleasing room. If you stay here you will have a smoke coming into your room. We had to deal with this problem for two nights. It seems like This hotel attracts heavy smokers and the hotel staff can not manage the smoking problem. In my experience this is a two star hotel NOT a three star. Based on my experience this is not a smoke free nor clean hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2017 by Blesson, Hotel Management
Hi Anonymous, Thanks for your thoughtful review of the Best Western Plus Robert Treat Hotel. We do have a great staff that are happy to assist you with your check-in, checkout, and all the questions you will have in between. We had a professional company come out to polish our elevators just a few weeks ago so they are in brilliant condition now. Our rooms are being updated with brand new carpet currently. We do try our best to enforce our non-smoking policy by removing offenders and charging them high fees for violating the policy and will continue to work to do a better job at it. We hope you will come back to stay with us again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Closest to NJPAC

Posted Apr 5, 2017
1 min to the theatre, NJPAC. That is all why I stayed at there. If not I won't be there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Canada

Brief business trip

Posted Apr 1, 2017
Pros: location, cleanliness, good food, proficient staff.
I stayed in this hotel while attending a film festival out of Rutgers University. It was very accessible, nice room, comfortable bed and an great complimentary continental breakfast provided with an assortment of choice. I would definitely stay here again.