Ratings based on 367 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Excellent location for Prudential Center events!!!

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Pros: Ease of check in; hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating.
Cons: Parking deck issue mentioned above.
Location: Connected to the Prudential Center by a walkway. Other than that, I don't know what is available to do in Newark besides taking the train to NYC!
We arrived early and our room was ready. Not the best view (parking deck wall) but we were there for a show at the Prudential Center, which was right out the window. There was a walkway on the 4th floor of the parking garage the hotel uses right into the Center. The only downside was the garage elevator . You had to take it down to the first floor of the garage and walk around the first level of parking to get to the hotel entrance. Also, the Starbucks café is only opened certain hours, so no food available except in a very small marketplace.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cropseyville, NY

Love it!

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Me and my son love this place we stay here every time we come and see the Devils play. Would not even consider a different place. Already booked for our next trip in! The best improvement ever was the walkway from the garage, no more 2 block walk with luggage! Great Place to Stay and pretty connected to the Prudential Center!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

hotel Marriott Newark nj downtown

Posted Jan 7, 2016
Pros: I loved the cook and cashier at the Bistro restaurant. They were very professional and the food was great. The front desk staff were awesome.
Cons: The two female black housekeepers were awesome also. The only improvements needed are the High prices in the vending area near the front desk.
Location: I love the BBQ at the dinosaur BBQ grill off broad street. The prudential center is around the corner behind the hotel only a 2min walk.
I had a wonderful stay. all staff members were very kind and accommodating except one Spanish speaking gentleman who stood in front of my room door talking loud on his walkie talkie/ two way radio. I were in-town on business and decided to go to the prudential center xmas in the city concert staring patti labelle, Jaheim, new edition, Tyrese and monica. so with that being said, I were very tired due to the show starting at 8:pm ending at 3am. well, this loud Spanish speaking guy wakes me at a few minutes b4 9am speaking Spanish in an argumentative tone. The static from the radio was bad enough. So, I go to the door and asked the Hispanic female house keeper to ask him to please lower his voice or move away from my door becuz I were still sleeping. I then pointed to the do not disturb sign on the door knob. Needless to say she ignored me and never turn in my direction to acknowledge me standing there, so I repeated my request. She said something to the gentleman in Spanish. I don't know what, but whatever it was he got louder and stood in front of my room door for another five minutes or so speaking loud Spanish to someone on his horrible stat-icky radio. so I claimed back into bed covering my head with a pillow. Now I'm tossing and turning, and can't get comfortable. all I can say is how rude.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from KY

Nice hotel, bad location

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Hotel is an easy 4 star anywhere but the area and ease of access is a 1. Very dirty area outside. Went across the street for dinner one night and was asked for money 5 times!!! Pretty sure I saw no less than 3 drug deals right outside our lobby door. I wasn't aware they charge to park and that cost me an extra 84$ to stay there! You are made to park on level 5 of the parking garage then ride and elevator back down to level 1 then walk up half a level to enter the hotel. Then you either walk up 2 flights of steps or down 1 flight to catch an elevator. It's a mess and definitely not friendly to anyone with disabilities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

new hotel...close to newark penn station...

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: near to newark penn station and halal food is nearby. Shuttle van provided to newark penn station.
Walking distance from newark penn station with easy commute to nyc. Easy to get halal food as well. Went to Jersey Garden Mall, bus no 40 opposite hotel. Happy with location and service by hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Good hotel, good rate. Friendly staff, clean, Marriott quality.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, ma

Great location close to the Prudential ctr.

Posted Dec 20, 2015
Pros: The location was great and the hotel was very clean.
Location: Location is close to the prudential center and Joe's crab shack .
Very nice hotel in a great location, check in was easy and the staff was very friendly .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CT

Great Hotel

Posted Dec 18, 2015
Pros: The entire room was great
Cons: Parking location too far away.
Location: Very good location
I only stayed one night, but it was GREAT. I enjoyed the location and view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Good location, with very helpful staff.

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Super clean and comfortable hotel, less than a 10 minute walk from Newark Penn station.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Stay

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Even I stayed only one night. It was a pleasant stay. The staff was very helpful and performed their duties with a smile. Customer service was s plus for m . I think it's imperative for my first impression of the hotel to be positive by the vibe of the staff.