Ratings based on 847 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 20, 2017
The staff was extremely rude and not helpfully! The breakfast girl was also rude refused to get off her phone to change over the coffee and all the food was stale! They charged my card twice and was unwilling to do anything about it. I️ told me I️ will have to wait until Monday to get any money back. No rhyme or reason to what I was being told about my money. will not stay here again horrible experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from PA

Posted Nov 18, 2017
Decent hotel room. Only complaint was the toilet would not flush properly and this happened both times I stayed there. Other than that, comfortable place to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2017 by Days Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Adrienne: Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your experience was at the Days Inn, Newark. We appreicate our business and apologize that there were any issues during your stay. We will be having the maintenance engineer check all the toilets as not to have this happen again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newark, DE

Bed very comfortable. Near my activities

Posted Nov 17, 2017
Stopper did not work in tub and sink, never cleaned room while there, did give clean towels. Never made bed. Housekeeping could not speak much English. Overall disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2017 by Days Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, we apologize that you were not happy with your experience at the Days Inn. I am sure that if you had notified the front desk at any time we could have fixed your issues. Happy Holidays
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Md.

Nice

Posted Nov 3, 2017
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: Just the toilet seat in that unit it was old never had that before so I will stay there again.
Location: The Casino and tax free shopping.
We was able to check in early make changes to our room and get the room that I wanted a bottom floor. The only thing I saw that needed improvement on was maybe changing the toilet seat it was old but that's minor. Day's Inn is great every time we visit Delaware we stay at this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2017 by Days Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Dear BL: We will have our maintenance engineer check the rooms for these types of toilet issues, it is and easy fix. We are pleased to hear you always stay with us when visiting Delaware, and look forward to your next stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Cheap and nice hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2017
I paid 59&, and it was clean and comfortable. Staffs were nice, and breakfast was good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2017 by Days Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Dear MJ: Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and others. We are pleased you found our staff nice and our rooms clean and comfortable, and we hope you will come and visit again if you are back in the Newark area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2017
Good value for money. Near Christiana Mall and easy enough to get to Wilmington and Newark.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Days Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for taking the time to let us and others know how your experience was at the Days Inn. We hope you enjoyed your brief stay and will come and visit again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Very dirty and noisy hotel

Posted Oct 23, 2017
The hotel does NOT look like the pictures. The rooms are in bad condition and dirty. I don't recommend
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 26, 2017 by Days Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Nael: We are sorry that you had a bad experience, we check the room and it was not dirt, it was actually glue from the mat being secured to the tub bottom. The hotel is almost finished with the painting, and we are speaking to the housekeeping staff to better clean the rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

There Are Way Better Options Nearby

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: The whole place needs to be remodeled.
Location: There were several hotels next to it and across the street that were all better. Use of those. Its not near University of Delaware.
The hotel is in need of repairs and upgrades. The elevator for one had yellow police tape blocking off half of it on the inside and a big orange construction cone inside the taped area. When the doors opened we noticed the elevator shift a little to the right. We decided this was very unsafe and didn't use it. On our way to our first room we also noticed one of the stairways blocked off with plywood and more yellow police like tape. Our room smelled like it had been smoked in even though we had requested a non smoking room. We walked in the room, smelled the smoker smell, walked back out and down to the front desk for another room. We got another room no problem and it was clean but we left early and didn't have any confidence in trying the free breakfast. I would have left the hotel and stayed else where but my room was Non Refundable. I didn't realize this when I booked it. It seems a lot of rooms on Expedia are non refundable. Because of this I will shy away from using their site in the future. I also didn't understand why Expedia and recommended this hotel when I searched for hotels near the University of Delaware. I was not familiar with the area so I didn't know it was Not Close and after I was on campus the next day I did find 3 other hotels closer. I certainly wish I had been offered a room at one of those hotels.I would never stay at this Days Inn. I also would not relay on Expedia to get you close to your destination and beware of non refundable rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 20, 2017 by Days Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: We apologize that Expedia did not put you closer to the U of D, however, all those hotels were probably sold out first. We are sorry the first room smelled of smoke, we try very hard to deter the non smoking room pollicy but some guests are just so disrespecful and disregard. We were having problems with the elevator and was waiting on the elevator staff to come and fix, as far as the steps being boarded off, yes, we had issues with those steps and did not want any guests to get hurt while walking them, we are currently fixing most of those issues and painting the building and working hard to keep the Non smoking policy in our rooms. We do hope you will visit again, even though you had issues, we appreciate you letting us know how your experience was.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Room was filthy. We slept in our clothes.

Posted Oct 17, 2017
- Checked in late, with tired children and a prepaid/non-refundable reservation. - Check-in was quick and friendly. - Room was on 2nd floor, accessible by a dark stairwell- not sure why the lights were off. - Beds were made. Towels available. These are the only positive points. - First noticed sticky beverage rings on nightstand. (Housekeeping didn’t clean up but we couldn’t either as there were only the minimal amount of towels/washcloths) - Went to put down bags, desk chair was covered in greasy fingerprints and encrusted food (?) stains. - Used bathroom, noticed the red stains on the carpet and the dirt filled tub liner. - Washed hands, noted that two of the toiletries were already opened/partially used. - Ice bucket tray looks as if it has not been wiped down - layer of dust/dirt. - Microwave was covered in greasy fingerprints on handle, crust under handle. (We did not open it.) - TV screen had smears and things staining it. - Bed skirt had something encrusted on it. *We did not have time to wait for someone to clean the room, we could have asked for another room, but had no faith in this property. We used our own blanket and beach towels to cover the bed and slept on top of them in our clothes.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Days Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Wow, this is completely unexceptable for our cleaning staff. We will be discussing and fixing this issue right away. We do appreciate your business and wish you had told us sooner we would have been more than glad to change your room. This is so far below what our housekeeping standards are.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newark de

Most horrible hotel I've ever stayed in

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Roaches everywhere, blood on the sheets and in the bathtub. Dirty towel hanging from the shower rod no batteries in the controller I was appalled
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 19, 2017 by Days Inn Staff, Hotel Management
Dear Katherine: Sorry you had a bad experience.