Ratings based on 1,706 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Very disappointed with parking arrangements, location of 1st floor elevator and no phone device charging ports in room!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel needs renovation

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Not worth the price paid. Parking is not inside the hotel. Poor signage regarding where to park for the night. Lighting is poor - would not walk around hotel at night - rough area. Room OK, bathroom was not renovated, very old without conveniences that you would normally find. No soap dish in the tub, no shampoo /conditioner in the room and no towel racks near the sink. Hotel appears shabby - looks used - restaurant is small, dark with limited menu. A homeless person walked through the restaurant at night talking to customers. Security is not good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milwaukee, WI

Convenient and Reasonably Priced

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Excellent location -- convenient access to Amtrak, NJ Transit, PATH and light rail -- via skywalk. Very pleasant staff. Comfortable room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Hotel was clean and bed was sooo comfortable. Convenient location to take train or PATH right into NYC in about 15 minutes. Perfect hotel to sleep in when you spend all your time playing in the city. Very quiet. Not too many food choices around though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lexington, KY

Hilton Newark Penn Station

Posted Sep 30, 2017
The hotel was nice and clean. The staff was friendly. The walls, however are very thin. You could hear everything in the hallway. The restaurant doesn’t have simple food, and although free breakfast was part of our room package, we didn’t get to eat it, because our lounge on our floor isn’t open on weekends. Lastly, we waited 2 hours at the airport for a shuttle to the hotel, we eventually took a cab.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Perfect location for going in and out of New York City on day trips.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The hotel has a stuffy funky smell need a makeover that price. I was shock to see it look so grey no life . Great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Newark, NJ Hilton Penn Station

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Situated for ease of getting around Northern N.J. and Manhattan without the hassle of having a car on the island.
Cons: Fix showers...offer complimentary breakfast...redo parking garage
Location: Newark was a surprise and we enjoyed walks and food and park nearby. Steam train ride, petting farm, Liberty State park, Stature of Liberty
We were given a very nice, large end room that was for handicapped people. No idea why. The bathroom had a wheelchair accessible shower and a very poor shower head that had to be held to do any rinsing. The hotel had no breakfast available except for quite a large fee...at the amount of money charged for the room a complimentary breakfast would not be out of the question. The parking garage was a beast to get around. Every turn had many scrapes where cars had hit the walls during a turn going from floor to floor. Getting into and out of the deck was a hard thing to do with if being on a one way street and with many cars waiting there for people from Penn Station. The reason we stayed there was for practical purposes of ease of getting into and out of Manhattan through Penn Station next door. The good part was convenience and that was fulfilled and overcame the bad parts of staying there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Not up to Hilton's standards

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Proximity to public transportation.
Cons: Housekeeping.
Location: Two really great Portuguese restaurants a short walking distance from the hotel.
I am an experienced traveler. It would be difficult for me to come up with the number of nights I have spent in a hotel room in my life. It well over 1,000. This is the very first time that I requested a hotel or motel change the bedding. When I was getting ready to retire at the end of the day, I pulled back the bed covers and it was apparent that the bedding had not been changed after the previous guest. The sheets were wrinkled and had the impression of the mattress on one side of the bed. I called the front desk and requested that they change the bedding. It took three calls to the front desk over the next hour and a half. On the third call I explained that they could either change the bedding or I was moving to a different hotel. A housekeeping person finally showed up and changed the bedding. The next day, it was apparent that I was on the housekeeping's crap list, because the bathroom towels and washcloths were left thrown on the chair in the room. (actual picture attached to this review). They have a severe problem with the house keeping staff at this hotel. The front desk staff could not have been more friendly or helpful - but housekeeping is a disaster. This hotel is not even remotely up to Hilton's standards. There is a Marriott and an independent hotel a couple blocks away. I would recommend checking those hotels out before staying at this Hilton location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knightdale, NC

Great location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Perfect location to train station to the city. Very helpful employees. Great restaurant.