Ratings based on 1,690 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 14, 2017
The hotel has a stuffy funky smell need a makeover that price. I was shock to see it look so grey no life . Great location
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Newark, NJ Hilton Penn Station

Posted Aug 30, 2017
Pros: Situated for ease of getting around Northern N.J. and Manhattan without the hassle of having a car on the island.
Cons: Fix showers...offer complimentary breakfast...redo parking garage
Location: Newark was a surprise and we enjoyed walks and food and park nearby. Steam train ride, petting farm, Liberty State park, Stature of Liberty
We were given a very nice, large end room that was for handicapped people. No idea why. The bathroom had a wheelchair accessible shower and a very poor shower head that had to be held to do any rinsing. The hotel had no breakfast available except for quite a large fee...at the amount of money charged for the room a complimentary breakfast would not be out of the question. The parking garage was a beast to get around. Every turn had many scrapes where cars had hit the walls during a turn going from floor to floor. Getting into and out of the deck was a hard thing to do with if being on a one way street and with many cars waiting there for people from Penn Station. The reason we stayed there was for practical purposes of ease of getting into and out of Manhattan through Penn Station next door. The good part was convenience and that was fulfilled and overcame the bad parts of staying there.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ

Not up to Hilton's standards

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Pros: Proximity to public transportation.
Cons: Housekeeping.
Location: Two really great Portuguese restaurants a short walking distance from the hotel.
I am an experienced traveler. It would be difficult for me to come up with the number of nights I have spent in a hotel room in my life. It well over 1,000. This is the very first time that I requested a hotel or motel change the bedding. When I was getting ready to retire at the end of the day, I pulled back the bed covers and it was apparent that the bedding had not been changed after the previous guest. The sheets were wrinkled and had the impression of the mattress on one side of the bed. I called the front desk and requested that they change the bedding. It took three calls to the front desk over the next hour and a half. On the third call I explained that they could either change the bedding or I was moving to a different hotel. A housekeeping person finally showed up and changed the bedding. The next day, it was apparent that I was on the housekeeping's crap list, because the bathroom towels and washcloths were left thrown on the chair in the room. (actual picture attached to this review). They have a severe problem with the house keeping staff at this hotel. The front desk staff could not have been more friendly or helpful - but housekeeping is a disaster. This hotel is not even remotely up to Hilton's standards. There is a Marriott and an independent hotel a couple blocks away. I would recommend checking those hotels out before staying at this Hilton location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knightdale, NC

Great location

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Perfect location to train station to the city. Very helpful employees. Great restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Coral Springs FL

A great location, great staff, with outside factor

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Great staff, location, and accessibility to NYC
Cons: The main contention with regard to the interior is that the down escalator did not work, which caused getting down to the lower lobby a cumbersome tas
Location: Nothing in the area to eat in terms of breakfast, besides to the local franchise restaurants in Penn Station. The hotel restaurant is small.
A great hotel, with friendly service from check-in to departure. The main contention with regard to the interior is that the down escalator did not work, which caused getting down to the lower lobby a cumbersome task. Also, the side outside area becomes a holding place for homeless and drug abusers who are seemingly displaced from Penn Station. If these items were addressed, the hotel would meet the standards that I expect from a Hilton hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel connected to Penn Station

Posted Aug 16, 2017
Clean rooms and friendly staff. Very convenient to take PATH to Manhattan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from clack's

Great hotel

Posted Aug 1, 2017
We loved staying here,right next to the station for getting the path train in New York,clean rooms,staff great, would definitely recommend especially as you get away from the hustle and bustle of New York.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississauga, Canada

Good location to visit New York

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Expensive parking, a bit overpriced breakfast in their restaurant.
Location: Connected to the railway Newark Penn Station
Located just near Newark Penn Station, actually connected to the station. $5.50 ticket to NY Penn Station, 25 min ride. This is a very convenient location to stay and visit New York Manhattan. Parking is expensive, $25, but you pay for the convenience, and comparing to Manhattan it is still Ok. Breakfast in their restaurant is a bit overpriced, and there is nothing else around, except for McDonald's at the Penn Station. The room we stayed was clean and spacious, no fridge. There is a coffee maker in the room, we made coffee first morning, and they didn't put any new coffee packets and cups, so next morning we had nothing. The next day they put some coffee. In general it's a decent place to stay and visit NY, we are satisfied with our stay at this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Convenient location right next to train station. Remember to book airport shuttle ahead.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from KCMO

Great location for NYC access

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: TRANSPORTATION!!! Good beds
walk across street to NJ Penn and catch the PATH train to WTC.. how much easier can it get ? Room was comfortable and clean. Slept great.. We ate break @ NJ Penn and in city, but there ain't much around there to eat for dinner. I would stay there again if I wanted easy access to NYC