Ratings based on 592 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic and essential...nothing more!

Posted Jan 10, 2017
Pros: Centrally located by the Penn train station
Cons: Rooms need to be renovated and staff more friendly.
Location: Location ok...
Very disappointing for a Hilton Hotel. The wallpaper was falling apart, the front desk people not all polite...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Spent a week here for holidays and had a great experience. My girl Myesha at the front desk was great along all other staff from housekeeping and even security. Location could not be beat.jumped on Path train and nj transit for trips into New York at minimal cost without going out into the cold. Food options within walking distance as well. Great trip all around.would definitely return and recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One night stay

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Great experience over my stay. I like the location, and the shuttle services were great . I will use this hotel for future trips too.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice!

Posted Jan 1, 2017
Pros: This hotel connected theenn Station.
Cons: When I get there, no one stood front of the hotel entrance.
Location: location was nery nice!
There was the Penn station close the hotel. But I could not find out hotel's parking. It was very hard. Before I got there, I called the hotel and asked about the parking. But staff toled me hotel's address. The parking was a public parking front the hotel. So I couldn't find out parking easy. When I called hotel, why they didn't tell me that their paking was a public parking???
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Perfect location!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
I originally booked to just stay 2 nights and then I was going to head into NYC for 2 nights but I ended up extending my stay. The hotel staff were exceptional and accommodating, my bed was extremely comfortable and the location was perfect. I could walk through to the train from the hotel lobby and get on a train that took my straight into Times Square or World Trade Center or Madison Square Garden (NY Penn Station). I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Excellent and friendly staff

Posted Dec 27, 2016
It was very convenient to get to the city. If you want to go to the World Trade Center you don't even have to leave the hotel. You take the connected walkway from the hotel and take the path train which is $2.75 each way, just use the metro card which can be purchased at penn station. It's just like a 20-25 minute ride. It was a great stay and the staff are very friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Would stay again

Posted Dec 20, 2016
Excellent proximity to train station. Very clean. Room was a little cramped, (two doubles). Staff were excellent. Parking was expensive even at the discounted rate, but I suppose it is everywhere? Had to pay an incidental fee on arrival, this was not described anywhere in the booking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beware of your account!

Posted Nov 30, 2016
Booked a two night stay and, was charged the correct fee initally, after checking out was charged another extra night. Plus the origianl fee that was pending in my bank account had increased to still reflect the additional night.. I reported this to managment and my bank. What a nightmare!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Average but perfect for commuting in to NY

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Second time I stayed here. Rooms are ok, but just ok. It is right next door to Newark Penn station, you don't even have to walk outside. So, if you want to visit NY NY, but do not want to stay in the city this hotel fits that bill.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Cheapest decent hotel in Gotham! I paid $149.

Posted Nov 5, 2016
Pros: One short train ride to NYC. Connected right to the train station by a skyway.
Cons: Only a basic bar/cafe for meals.
Location: Use the skyway that connects hotel to train station (lots of cops) to avoid the great unwashed. Best thing to do in Newark is the train ride to NYC
This is a 3 1/2-star hotel just a one-stop train ride from NYC.