Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Mar 10, 2018
Lovely hotel in fantastic grounds. Staff were polite and friendly. Berakfast was heavenly.
1 out of 5
by Jacqui

Not up to standard.

Posted Dec 14, 2017 on Hotels
Awful chipped paintwork in bathroom. Curtain pole end fell off,shower cold bathroom door jammed open.28 mins for breakfast to arrive after ordering. Grilled tomato tasted if fish bacon not cooked.
5 out of 5
by Grzegorz Jaskiewicz

Beautiful place

Posted Nov 22, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent place, very curious staff. They cater to vegetarians. I was able to charge up my electric car (using my own extension lead). All good !
5 out of 5
by William

Stylish Country Stay

Posted Oct 15, 2017 on Hotels
Great place, friendly staff, very comfortable and top breakfast
5 out of 5
by Mikko

A romantic wedding anniversary break

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
A romantic wedding anniversary break - Kelham House provided the perfect venue. Small, quiet, peaceful gardens - yet close enough for Newark and all its restaurants. Friendly staff, excellent large room with Nespresso coffee maker and quality toiletries. Largest bath towels we've seen anywhere. Bar plain and no restaurant so you would take a five minute taxi to town or walk down to closest pub. Excellent cooked breakfast.
5 out of 5
by Bruce

Posted Jul 23, 2017 on Hotels
Nice place ,limited evening menu
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Great hotel big and comfy rooms. AC not working though. Plenty of parking. Very nice breakfast. Eggs benedict were 1st class.
2 out of 5
by Stuart

Ants in your pants

Posted Apr 26, 2017 on Hotels
Location was nice. Buildings and grounds looked lovely. Room seemed comfortable initially. But I awoke to ants crawling across the floor, on the furniture and on the bed. I was in a hurry so showered dressed and went to check out. When I checked out, I informed the receptionist who didn't say much, but not even an apology. That was it. Disappointed with the response as would have expected immediate action AND an apology.
2 out of 5
by Adrian

Lovely but Cold

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
Room has under floor heating and was not sufficient to keep the room warm, I did ask fro additional heating (electric fan and none available). This is really not good enough this day and age and needs addressing. At one point I used hairdryer to warm hands up!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location and views but not as good as hoped

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
A fantastic location in a historic landmark building , convenient for the shops and the seafront and right opposite the famous pier- but the whole hotel has a budget feel. It's very bright and quite minimal inside which doesn't fit with the regency building. Room fittings are pretty basic and the breakfast wasn't great. Also be aware that if you leave your car in the multi storey opposite after 9am you will be charged the full 24 hr rate of £14