Ratings based on 1,172 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Clean and very comfortable hotel.

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: I loved the beautifully decorated clean and fresh room, the tastey breakfast and the friendly and helpful staff.
Cons: The only problem was the stairs, for me.
Location: Everything were within reach of the hotel, restaurants, shopping gas stations and churchs so we had a fantastic stay.
The moment I checked in , I was greeted by a very friendly face .i received my key and preceded to my room which was on the second floor. The only problem I had was, I had to pull my suitcase up the stairs. There was no elevator. But because everyone was so nice. , friendly and helpful I didn't mind walking up and down those stairs.The young lady who cleaned my room, her name is Shonda, she was extremely hard working and pleasant. She did an excellent job keeping my room clean and fresh every day..God bless her. The breakfast was very tasty and the presentation and cleanliness of the dining room was outstanding. If I'm ever in the area again I'll definitely book my reservation for this Ramada Inn again.Thank you everyone for your excellent work!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by MGoodwyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a great review. Sounds like we nailed it and you have a great time here, that makes us happy. We are honored you choose to stay with us at Ramada while in the area. Please feel free to come and visit again, we look forward to having you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from newark

Nice hotel close to highway

Posted Aug 26, 2017
Nice affordable hotel with best service complement breakfast and more
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 5, 2017 by MGoodwyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice stay

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Pros: clean and easy access to all
Cons: not realized.
Location: around welmington, de.
great experience and time off for hot summer. expedia always asks more, and it is a wonderful experience with this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 2, 2017 by MGoodwyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your stay experience, we value your feedback. Please feel free to contact the hotel for any future reservations you may need.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just above average

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Pros: Closed to the highway.
Location: A couple of malls nearby.
The room I stayed in had moisture issue. It was very humid and had to keep the air on 65 to keep from being sticky. I could see where they tried to cover up the mold from the moisture in the room. Also very then blankets on the bed,
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by MGoodwyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns. We will commit to making improvements and becoming better for our guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Nice clean hotel

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Very nice and clean hotel. Employees were very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good and a large selection.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by MGoodwyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response, we appreciate your feedback and we are very happy you were satisfied with your stay. Please come and visit our location again, we plan to make a few changes we would love for you to see and addition we add.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Montreal

No rollaway beds at all - incorrect feature list

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Pros: Location, easy to access from the highways
Cons: Correct the listing to remove the rollaway option and the maximum capacity per room.
Location: Cheesecake factory
Families of 5 beware - despite listing the option of rollaway beds on Ramada's and Expedia's websites, there are no rollaway beds AT ALL at this hotel, something we learned when we checked in after a long day on the road at 10 PM. We had to use our cell phone with heavy roaming charges to sort things out with Expedia since the room phone did not work, and the WiFi kept cutting out, so no online option to look for other hotels or chat with Expedia. After Expedia called the night manager, they "found" an old rollaway that they keep in storage. It's fine for a hotel not to offer rollaways, but as long as the listing says so - ditto for allowing the 5 of us to book a room rated at a max of 4 persons. Expedia offered us a 50$ credit for our trouble, but that phone call cost us nearly 100$. We've had this happen before, so from now on we won't trust the listings for rollaways and look for suites with sofabeds, whose listings are more solid.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by MGoodwyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for your response, we are sorry your stay was not enjoyed.We will be sure to make the necessary updates to our websites and we will be more prepared for larger traveling families to prevent these issues from happening in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 20, 2017
It was decent hotel. The staff was friendly. Stayed there with the family for one night while traveling. Free breakfast was good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2017 by MGoodwyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for such a great rating.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old and worn hotel, rude staff

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Manager on duty was rude and is not willing to hear customer side of the story related to billing issues.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by MGoodwyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to share your experience. We apologize that you were not treated fairly and felt unheard, we will be sure to address your concerns, please feel free to reach out and further discuss your experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gaithersburg, MD

OK but, thread bare and worn.

Posted Aug 6, 2017
Pros: Good price
Cons: Put some money back into the hotel to keep up repairs, repainting and replacing worn items such as towels and curtains.
Though the hotle was clean it wasn't well taken care off. There had been a leak from the bathroom above ours. Though repaired the ceiling was poorly patched and not properly painted. Curtains were very threadbare with holes in them. Some towels were fray on all the edges. Breakfast bare was not very good. Eggs were funky and watery. Frited rice was part of the breakfast bar. Home fries had shreded cabbage in them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2017 by MGoodwyn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize that your stay was not the best we value your feedback, and we will commit to becoming better and working harder to get things done in the value and quality you deserve. Please feel free to try us again and see any additions we will add.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Beds were without comforters only one very uncomfortable chair in the room and two beds with mattresses that had seen better days had to slam door to get latch to lock. There was plenty of hot water in the shower and coffee in the room so that was the only plus . . .
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2017 by mdg, Hotel Management
We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay here, we apologize that you were unhappy, we will work on the issues with your experience.