Ratings based on 1,063 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
57% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa

Smelled horrible, room was gross

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: Staff was friendly
Cons: RENOVATE YOUR ROOMS. And do not charge people an insane amount of money, to stay in a room like that.....
The room smelled horrible, there was a hole in the carpet, the chair at the desk seemed to be chewed apart by an animal or bugs. The bed had stains on the sheets and cigarette burns in the comforter. The manager claimed they are renovating rooms, and I understand that, however, how do you charge someone $139.00+tax a night to stay in a room as gross as this room was? I couldn't even stay my second night, I was so grossed out. I went home. This by the way was parents weekend for my Freshman at University of Delaware, I was quite upset.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from newark delaware

The worst hotel experience that I have ever stayed

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Living conditions completely unacceptable. Extremely dirty and I felt unsafe. Smelled like smoke , Dirty, windows were smeared. Hair on toilet,stained towels, stained carpet, dirt and hair pushed in corner of floor. Tub wouldn't drain. Stood in deep water while showering. Waited for someone to drain it for 1 hour by the time someone fixed it and missed anappr because we had to wait . After it being fixed. Dirty gloves left in the corner of the floor w dirty bath tub stopper leftupside down onledge of bathtub. Tub dirty... therefore we would not tryshiwerung. Absolutely disgusting
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It’s okay but needs improvements

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Red roof is an okay place to be when you are saving up money. They are affordable. Bathrooms in amazing conditions. The carpets are not properly cleaned. I saw acrelic nails on the Carpet and that made me believe they don’t always clean the carpets after someone checks out. The cards take way too long to open the doors I believe it’s getting old they need new cards for the doors. The internet connection is good but it kept kicking me out and I had to sign in again to the network a couple of times. other than that it’s a fair place for what you pay
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap, convenient, but wont stay here again.

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: It was relatively inexpensive. But the cheaper motel down the street (that we moved to after this one) was better and cleaner.
Cons: Rooms were pretty run down and could do with a deep cleaning. Also the faucet was broken. Staff didn't seem to know how to use check-in software.
Unpleasant. Switched to another hotel for rest of stay in area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newark

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Good. The room is clean. The staff are very nice. The breakfast is good enough. I ate 6 pieces of bread and one waffle. But the isolation is a little bit bad. And if some one forgot to lock their cars, it's a disaster for the guests next to the parking lot side.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Very nice facilities and very conveniently located
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from delaware

Hotel is close to my job

Posted Oct 1, 2017
The hotel was close to my job. The room size is good. The bed mattress is so thin you can feel the bed springs so the bed wasn’t all that comfortable. I had to change rooms because my initial room had lighting issues in the bathroom so they finally had to switch me to a new room
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Sep 24, 2017
Convenient to I95 and University of Delaware. Staff was very nice. Bed had a dip and ac cycled on and off all night. A bit hard on the eyes, but for a budget place in a pinch - it will do.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Nice hotel. Convenient location near university.

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: The front desk staff, and the clean and quiet room.
Cons: Cant think of anything
Location: Close to the university and downtown Newark
Most welcoming and friendliest front desk staff we have ever had anywhere we have stayed. Hotel is easy to get to and close to the university.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Baltimore

Very low standard

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Room was not well cleaned. The bedding was not changed prior to our arrival and the towels were old, some had stains