Ratings based on 3,092 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Breakfast was a nice perk.

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Pros: As mentioned above, breakfast (I don't mean it was decent, but it was pretty good for the price).
Cons: The facility felt a little bit old, but it was at least clean. My room was spacious.
Location: Close to EWR. The complementary shuttle service was convenient.
Check-in was fast, and the staff was very nice. Shuttle runs from the EWR airport every 30 mins, which was very convenient. I didn't expect such a nice complementary breakfast for the price. I thought it would be cold--some pastries, coffee, and juice, but there were hot eggs and sausages. There were also cheese, ham, and yoghurt to choose from... I was planning to take my breakfast at the airport (I stayed here before flying from EWR), but I ended up not doing so because the breakfast was satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 6, 2016
Helpful staff Big clean rooms Great breakfast Overall very pleasant place to stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It's worth the stay

Posted Feb 6, 2016
It was nice and clean. It's was easy to access. Close distance of where I needed to get to. But there wasn't anything mentioned about paying for parking. Each day you are charged a fee for parking. And it was never mentioned.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient

Posted Feb 5, 2016
This hotel was very convenient, being it was located so close to New Jersey airport.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by SHS DOS, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time from your demanding agenda to apprise us of your experience at the SpringHill Suites, Newark – Liberty. We strive to accommodate all of our guests with the finest service, and we appreciate you letting us know that we succeeded. We do hope that the next time your travels bring you to our area ,you will once again give the SpringHill Suites, Newark Liberty the opportunity to prove how important our guests are to us. Yours truly, SHSDOS
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Good hotel in the middle of all freeways.

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Day before my travel I called hotel to inform them of my correct last name on the reservation. Hotel told me to call Expedia to change it. When I asked if hotel can provide me the phone number to Expedia's customer service (because it did not appear anywhere on Expedia website) hotel didn't make effort to help me, told me straight out to search it through Google. We had allergies the whole 3 nights because it was probably dusty due to the fact that the hotel is situated in the middle of multiple freeways.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Maintenance needed

Posted Feb 2, 2016
The tv kept freezing and there was a line at the bottom of the screen it wouldn't go away. Housekeeping came to clean the room but didn't cleaning completely trash was still not taken out. And I have been at this hotel several times in the hot tub has not been fixed over year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 6, 2016 by SHS DOS, Hotel Management
Dear Honored Guest, Thank you for taking the time from your demanding schedule to describe your recent stopover with us. I am distressed to learn of the issues you experienced - please know that our Management Taskforce is always eager to resolve any such problems prior to your departure. It is our honest belief that the most important time to rectify an issue is at the very moment it is happening, and we’re so sorry we were not able to do this during your stay. I deeply apologize for the uncleanliness of your room, and I give you my word that if we had been informed of the condition upon your first night, we would have immediately taken steps to rectify this unacceptable issue. Rest assured that this will be deliberated fully with all of our Housekeeping Management and staff. I am dismayed to learn that your television was not functioning properly as well. Please accept my apology that we were not able to move you to a room with a working unit upon learning that our Engineering Staff was unable to correct this issue in a timely manner. Thank you again for taking time from your busy day to inform us of the issues you encountered while staying here. Each and every one of your points will be thoroughly discussed with the appropriate department to ensure that improvements are made for your next visit. Sincerely, SHS DOS
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Newark and Priced Right

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Hotel was great only issue was a loud elevator. Staff was friendly and called a taxi for us when we needed to leave.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N.Y.

Nice hotel close to cruise port

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Nice hotel but you have to pay for parking ,and there are no restaurants within walking distance. Very clean rooms.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Campo, Texas

First it hard to find and get into.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: My room...Great
Cons: The Hot tub. Not enough action of the pumps to swirl the water
Location: No EASY place to eat
It's a bear to find at night, after dark. With the piles of snow, even harder to find if driving. Loved the breakfast and the coffee. Elevator doors catch and can scare some people
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, very clean and close to the highway

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Only complaint was parking was $12 and the lot was not completely shoveled/plowed and most ppl were parking in snow banks