Ratings based on 186 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
2.6 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, friendly staff, dirty rooms

Posted Nov 12, 2017
Pros: Location on Main Street makes visiting the UD Campus easy
Cons: Room cleanliness
The room was not clean. The sheets had stains and smudges on them as did the towels, which felt like drying yourself with sand paper. The staff was extremely nice but even after changing out the towels they were still pretty gross. It's an awesome location and a very cheap place to stay, but I can't help but think if they put a bit of money into keeping the place cleaner they could still charge a fair rate and get some serious business.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Room smelled like smoke, dark dingy not a nice place. Could make so much money, great location super close to the college, would sell out if they re did the rooms.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NY

Shower head hung from the top.

Posted Oct 16, 2017
When i told the front desk the shpwer head was broken he said " yeah I know" The bed sheets were tossed on the cement outside the rooms in the morning for collection. It had rained and besides dirt, there were cigarette buts on the cement. I cant believe i slept on these. Wanted, needed to shower off the grossness but..well For good measure there were butts on my car and other car hoods from the guests upstairs throwing them the night before.. If you like cinder-block walls in your hotel this is the place. Otherwise steer clear.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern New York state

Not a Good Time Had by All.

Posted Oct 10, 2017
Pros: I liked that the manager was accommodating with our arrival time and tried to rectify the situation with the dirty rooms but never use them again.
Cons: If the housekeeping person had just been hired, as stated to us, her work should have been inspected when she was done.
Location: Not sure about what to do in that area.... we just needed an overnight stop and then move on in the morning.
Dirty rooms (2).... handprints on headboard of beds, cigarette butts by the dresser, two full solo cups of an orange liquid on a shelf of the dresser, sheets and bedspread were spattered with either blood or a body fluid, not enough linen. When I went to the manager to report this situation he had no other rooms to give us (but he found one after a few minutes). This happened after midnight on 10/01/17. I had checked with him prior to our arrival about coming from northern New York state after an important ball game and we would be late. He said it was no problem. Half of our entourage went to the new room, the rest of us stayed in the dirty room because he said he would bring us new linen and ask about a discount for the inconvenience. He brought two flat sheets for the two beds..... no fitted sheets, pillowcases or spreads. And we never received a discount. We missed out appointment the next morning because of the situation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 4, 2017 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Zundel

Don't stay at the Super 8

Posted Jun 21, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was pretty bad and had No perks to speak of - the breakfast offered was gross.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Things in the room did not work

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Some things in the room did not work. The refrigerator fan sounded very load, the TV had to be set up to work, there were several deep cigarette burns on the bed comforter in our smoke free room, the clock did not work, a standing lamp leaned a lot, one of the electrical receptacles did not work, and there was loud music and talking noise outside around 2, etc. AM. .
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Avoid

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Messy cheap looking out dated dirty hotel period! Will not recommend
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Worst Motel In Newark

Posted Jun 4, 2017 on Hotels
Rooms go quick when UD's alumni weekend is announced, and I felt happy to book two nights here at the Super 8. I've stayed before, and though the rooms were nothing fancy, the price was okay and the location's rather convenient. This time, in addition to the prices being jacked up due to the events nearby, the motel also managed to book itself completely. This is good for their business, but was unfortunate for me when I was told that my registration had been submitted with ambiguous instructions and the motel had decided to place me in a smoking room. There was nothing they could do about it, and nothing I could do either. I opened up the windows, turned on the fan, and tried to deodorize the disgusting room. The walls were poorly painted and covered in spots which had been spackled over, leaving the whole place splotchy and gross. The room's layout was terrible, the towels were rough as sandpaper, and the single dresser was stuck in a back corner, utterly inaccessible. The most horrifying part to me is that the carpet didn't reach all the way to the bathroom doorway landing, leaving a strip of bar space through which inch-long nails protruded. My partner and I became very careful after we each accidentally stepped on one of these hazards. This experience was terrible and I regret not taking photos to show just how awful the conditions were. I'm rarely this emphatic about motels, but I implore you, do not stay here. It's just not worth it.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Do not enter...

Posted May 29, 2017 on Hotels
It was terrible. The room was filthy, from the lampshades, to the mold in bathroom, to the bed sheets (twice asked for new sheets) that were dirty and terribly stained. We tried to work through it all, but when there was blood on the pillow case that was the last straw. We have to leave and book elsewhere and ask for our money back.