Ratings based on 1,214 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Orange, NJ

Posted Apr 11, 2017
very nicely done renovations going on! didn't interfere with our pleasant stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Efficient, friendly comfortable

Posted Mar 31, 2017
Pros: Very comfortable, good sized room, great price.
Cons: Snack foods were plentiful, but of the junk food variety. With no dining options, a more nutritious selection would have been nice.
Location: It was close to where I was doing business.
Got in late but desk person was as accommodating as could be.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Hotel was clean & comfortable! Would definitely go back.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heartless staff and management

Posted Mar 9, 2017
I went to NJ to bury a friend who had taken his own life. I arrived at the hotel around noon, explained that I was really in need of some solitude prior to the wake, but they did not budge on getting me into a room early. The girl at the desk repeatedly told me, they would 'try' but check in was at 3. I watched numerous people check out and it was not until they were about to give another woman an early check in at 2 that suddenly a room became available. The next day was the funeral and I asked if I could be given a later check out due to the circumstances and would be out as early as possible, but had no idea how long the service would last. Same girl told me they would 'have to charge me' for late checkout. I pleaded for some extra time, but she said I could 'maybe' have an extra hour, but after that I would be charged. The service was at 10am, but I didn't know if I was going to be able to get back by then. I grabbed my bags and left. If your hotel staff doesn't understand that some circumstances warrant special consideration, then they should not be in the position they are in. If the hotel management can't understand this same idea, they might want to seek a new business. I had several friends who stayed in neighboring hotels who were given much more kindness and consideration.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 26, 2017
Nice room. Bartender in the restaurant was quite rude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ocean City, NJ

Great place on a short business trip

Posted Feb 25, 2017
Pros: Everything - no complaints at all.
Cons: I was only there 1 night, but did not notice anything.
Location: Again, only there 1 night. Very close to Turtle Back Zoo, a prime attraction in the area. Also close to and outstanding park area.
Hotel staff was great, very friendly. Hotel was modern, clean, very attractive building. Less than 4 miles from where my business meeting was being held. Good value for the money on the Expedia rate. Did not try the bar/restaurant, but plan to do so next time there. Free continental breakfast had good variety and good food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable space in West Orange, NJ

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: Clean, comfortable, spacious
Location: We were visiting Seton Hall University, and the hotel is well located for that. Fairly easy train also into Penn Station for $6.75 adult fare.
We had a generally good stay here - 3 of us in 3 rooms. All rooms were spacious, clean, and comfortable. One room has a non-functioning toilet, which was fixed. The staff were good, and the place was quiet. The attached Italian restaurant was devcently priced with good dinners. Breakfast included in the room price was adequate. The one oddity was that the bar - also located in the restaurant - closed quite early, at 9:30pm, and it would have been useful to know that in advance!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 13, 2017
This is a great place to stay Room had no clock shower head was Cheap and so was shower liner. Over all this is a great place.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Woodbury NJ

Beautiful room

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: The breakfast was very fresh.
Cons: the smell in the room
Location: It was close to Montclair State University
I'd say I would of given this room 5 stars but the actual room had a mildew smell, like an old sponge was cleaning the room. I have an extremely sensitive nose. Other than that, it looked extremely clean. It was beautiful. I slept very well in it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv

Stayed in the area for business

Posted Feb 10, 2017
This hotel was a pleasant surprise. Great condition and spacy rooms. Breakfast is very average and area boring.