Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Pros: The room was clean & the bed comfortable. The refrigerator was a real convenience for the 3 day stay.
Cons: The toilet was way too close to the wall.....very inconvenient!😞
Location: The location was great. The zoo was close, sadly we didn't get there because it rained constantly. Great pizza at nearby Pies-On.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from estero florida

Excellent location and Overall value

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Right price and right location
Cons: I would prefer bigger pillows and I am sure if I asked they would have gotten them for me
Location: You are literally across the street from the Essex county sports facility, zip line, and Turtle Back Zoo. No car necessary.
We stay at this BW because it is close to family and the amazing Zoo. The hotel staff is very attentive. The whole hotel needs a remodel, but the place is very clean. Really like having a kurig coffee maker in the room. Breakfast included is a plus...waffle maker is a hit with the kids and adults.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pelham, GA

Nice hotel directly across from a very active zoo.

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: Staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Housekeeping staff
Location: Hotels is. Located directly across from a very active zoo, with various animals, petting zoo, hands on aquarium, and a zip line area.
We enjoyed our stay. The hotel staff was very pleasant and accommodating. Only issue was cleaning staff missed our room several days. We were able to get clean towels from the front desk though, so no big issue. The breakfast was very pleasing, with various different choices daily, from baked goods, hot breakfast items, sandwiches, yogurt, juices or cereal and milk. I am pleased with the hotel and found the value for the price acceptable.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Average accommodations and inconsistent service

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The hotel was older but it was fine. We had a wonderful arrival experience with Kaitlyn and unfortunately service and friendliness declined after others worked the front desk. Our shower curtain didn't go to the floor so it became a small pond in the bathroom each time. We asked for more towels and the man at the front made it very apparent we were putting him out by walking 30 steps to get us extra towels. The breakfast was included and you could find something to eat and the service in the morning was again very good. I wouldn't return unless we didn't have another option at reasonable price. It met needs of the trip with large room and location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Linwood, NJ

Use only in case of emergency

Posted Jul 31, 2016
AC broke and wasn't fixed during the 9 hours we weren't in room. They changed our room to 2nd floor. Place doesn't have an elevator. No hot water on 1st night. Claimed the public works accidentally turned it off but I had previously read about hot water being an issue so I take the excuse with a grain of salt. On a positive note, staff was friendly and courteous. Continental breakfast good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pa

It was OK

Posted Jul 30, 2016
Pros: Nothing really except the staff. Would not stay there again or tell anyone to stay there.
Cons: Everything. Parking lot. Carpet . Furnishings. The doors in the hallway were stained the door in our room was broken. Place needs TLC bad.
Location: Nothing in the area. No chain restaurants. No shopping no nothing.
Carpet was torn on stairs. Our light shade was torn. Curtains were stained. Just felt a little yuky. But the staff was very nice. Small parking lot in bad shape.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Ok Hotel--Excellent Location

Posted Apr 9, 2016
Pros: Convenience, location.
Cons: Updated rooms/bathrooms
Location: Wonderful attraction for children just across the street--Turtle Back Park.
We stay at this hotel when we come up to visit family in South Orange. It fits our needs exactly. The rooms are pretty basic, but they're clean and provide reasonable comfort. The hotel offers a nice breakfast in a pleasant space. It's a very convenient location for us.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Queens, NY

Our Stay

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Updating
Location: We attended the National Dance Showcase at West Orange High School. The town is really very nice.
The staff was most friendly and accommodating. The food was ok. The hotel could use updating. Thanks for our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent hotel in a good location

Posted Jan 4, 2016
We visited family in the area (2 of us) for christmas. It was a six night stay and we were satisfied with the experience. The bed was clean and comfortable. The bathroom needed updating but was fine. The breakfast bar was clean, but we only had the coffee which was great. The location is convenient. The price is a little high for the fact that renovations are needed but we'd stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washingon, DC

Posted Dec 5, 2015
Pros: Except for the food the hotel is a winner compared to the competors in the 15 mile radius of this hotel.
Cons: Food offerings, as above.
Location: Rating is 1.5 out of 5.
Breakfast food was terrible. Real, simple products should be offered. Automated chemical-like ingredients should be be eliminated.