Ratings based on 2,547 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel across from Newark Airport

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Was in for an overnight and wanted to hop into the City - with the train from Newark, and shuttle to & from airport, perfect location at good price with a nice breakfast - good value for price.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix AZ

Convenient but dingy

Posted Sep 10, 2017
We booked this hotel for a stayover between flights at newark, nj, liberty international airport. The shuttle was very convenient to catch. We'll organized. The hotel lobby and check in itself was pretty dingy, run down, carpets were loose and gapping in hallways, very worn. Walls and doors were dingy, needs some TLC/ renovation. We thought to ourselves, "What a dump for a Hampton Inn". Check in hotel staff & shuttle driver just barely average in terms of friendliness & helpfulness. Room was a little more updated, was clean, so we were pleasantly sutprised. Something about that scary worn dark brown carpet feels dingy and questionable, tried to wear socks. The tap water tastes like algae, so it would be helpful if they offer filtered water especially during included breakfast offering. Breakfast would be better with more fresh, unprocessed fruits, whole grains. We had a couple of oranges and some oatmeal with milk, pretty substandard. The hotel is next door to another hotel (embassy?) that has a restaurant. Otherwise they offer menus for take out to your room. Location to Newark airport and convenience of shuttle are the strongest things this place had going for it. I'd definitely try elsewhere next time I'm staying over in Newark.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Westford, MA

Nice Airport Hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Some glasses or cups in the guest rooms.
Location: Easy to get to NYC. Take the hotel shuttle to the airport and then the airtrain then NY Transit to Penn Station.
The staff was friendly and goes out of their way for the guests. If I need a place the next time we are in Elizabeth, we will go to this hotel again. For a 3 star hotel this place is tops. If you want to go to NYC, I recommend taking the hotel shuttle to the airport then go on the airtrain to the NJ Transit station where you can take a train to Penn Station. From there you can take the subway to your place of interest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Close to Newark Int'l

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Pros: Convenient to airport and airport shuttle, brekafast
Last minute booking due to flight cancellation. Room fine, breakfast good with hot and cold items
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Booked this hotel because of the Hampton Inn name and had very good experience with the Hampton properties in the past. This inn needs renovation very badly and is just a airport overnighter.....unusual that the Hilton would let this become a third rate hotel! The room needed a good cleaning and had an unusual smell....
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from los angeles, CA

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Shower didn't work well. Hotel was not that clean. I couldn't enjoy much. Nothing else and how long comments do I need to fill in this space?
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The first impression terrible

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: Staff hospitality and customer service
First impression was terrible. Personnel from front desk need to received customer service and hospitality intensive courses. Need to be more polite and customer service oriented to assist and help the outside country guess. Hotel was under renovation, no email was received to let us know in advance
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2017
It seems that I was double charged. Not good. Now I need to investigate what occurred.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

Needs up date, no breakfast.

Posted Aug 23, 2017
Stay was ok, desk chair was trash, alarm clock did not work, just old and showing wear.l
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Herndon

Micr

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Good customers service and very helpful staff available to help anytime during my stay