Ratings based on 1,907 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria, BC

Overnight to catch early flight

Posted Aug 2, 2017
Pros: The Holiday Inn is well located to the airport. It is comfortable and the shuttle a godsend.
Cons: On arrival, help with luggage.
I had rented a car. Dropping off my wife first at the Holiday Inn, the hotel reception was helpful and our room was quiet and very comfortable. I then made my way to drop off the rental at the Newark Airport - now that was a crazy exercise! It was 10.00pm, the roads were busy, poorly lit and very confusing. Once done though, the air train to P4 and the hotel shuttle back to the hotel was a welcome relief. It was all too short a sleep before having to get up and take the convenient shuttle to the airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice and clean!

Posted Jul 24, 2017
The hotel was very clean. Fthe staff was friendly. Check-in was fast and easy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

For a Holiday Inn, it should have been better

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Room was clean. It was convenient to where I needed to get to.
Cons: The restaurant needs an overhaul. The rooms have the sink in the living space and not in the bathroom.
Location: No restaurants nearby. Near the airport. Close to the downtown.
The stay was ok. Make sure you stay on the front side of the hotel, the back has the Airtrain running right by it. The room was okay although the thermostat did not work when we checked in. They did fix it though. My biggest complaint was the restaurant. The service was horrible. Food took forever to come and was average at best. Even for the buffet breakfast, service was slow. By the way, the restaurant builds in a 15% tip into the bill regardless of the amount. I guess they feel they need to do that since the poor service would like earn less. You can adjust it if you wish. I would not likely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient, reasonable hotel right next to airport

Posted Jul 19, 2017
We arrived late, checked in quickly and slept comfortably. Unfortunately the vending machines had run out to bottled water but otherwise room was well appointed, clean and beds were comfortable. Only one real disappointment was a pair of dirty socks left by previous occupant. Breakfast staff were polite and helpful and had useful advice for NYC where we travelled to next.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place to stay

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Very good customer service and facility - free shuttle pick up and drop off to airport from where you can use airlink train to take NJ transit to get to New York City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel near Newark Airport

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: location, clean, comfy
Cons: clarify shuttle pickup location at airport
Location: airport, restaurant
This hotel was nice, comfy, clean and convenient to Newark Airport with a 24 hour shuttle. Be aware that shuttle pick up is from the P4 Parking stop on the AirTrain... not directly outside baggage claim. I believe that is true for all hotel shuttle due to a New Jersey law. But it would be good to know ahead of time since we first went outside to the ground transportation area and didn't realize we were in the wrong spot until we called the hotel. My only complaint would be that the hotel staff was not helpful when we were leaving and I called the front desk to let them know we were on our way down and to keep the shuttle there for one minute since we were on our way. The shuttle is on a on demand basis so if anyone else showed up in that one minute while we were walking down, the shuttle could leave. We understood that, but I thought it reasonable that if we are on our way down, they would be willing to wait just one minute. But they just said "as long as no one else shows up before you get here". It wasn't a very hospitable answer. But other than that we were very happy with our stay and the shuttle driver was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

too expensive restaurant

Posted Jun 29, 2017
Pros: The location is convenient for taking airplane, in particular in early morning.
Cons: The restaurant is too expensive.
Location: There is nothing nearby.
The hotel is close to the Newark airport, which is convenient. But it is isolated. There is nothing nearby. The hotel has a restaurant. But it is very expensive, perhaps double price of a normal restaurant. Because there is no choice, I had to pay for expensive breakfast, lunch and dinner. Although the quality of food is ok, I am not happy with the restaurant. I would not choose this hotel in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2017
Pros: The closeness to the airport
Cons: Nothing really
Location: Really don't know, we just needed somewhere to sleep after a long flight
Came in late from an overseas flight The shuttle from the hotel was already at the airport & very effecient Rooms were great & slept well
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Never

Posted Jun 18, 2017
They Dont return me my money when i have to exchange the hotel for work reasons
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to Airport

Posted Jun 11, 2017
Did not allow points for IHG club as I booked through Expedia.