Ratings based on 4,723 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.1 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Nice Visit

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Everything was good at this hotel. The staff was friendly upon check in and out. The room was clean and ready on time. The hotel is an older one but it appeared they're upgrading. Used the workout room, air conditioner did not work so that wasn't great. Upon returning from the city the hotel smelled of marijuana, but I was too tired to say anything. Overall the hotel was a great place for sleeping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersey

Comfortable bed and room

Posted Oct 16, 2017
It's a nice place to stay , comfortable bed, friendly staffs but only thing is I had to pay for parking which Is different
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the smell of disinfectant was so strong .....

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything
it almost knocked you over when you opened the door. the carpet was grungy. you wont want to walk on it barefoot ! there was no bar (which was needed after seeing the room) , the small restuarnt food was horrible. the only thing nice i can say is that the staff were very nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dingy and run down

Posted Oct 14, 2017
Location: They do have a free shuttle to the airport and a reasonably priced shuttle to Times Square that runs every half hour (we did not use ).
The rooms are good sized but the place is old. Outside of the room, everything smells like smoke and disinfectant. It's tucked away behind a car rental on a run down road behind the airport. Hard to find. There is an unpublished charge for parking that you can't do anything about. Taxes and fees for the room and parking were nearly half as much as the room itself. Fortunately, we got on an earlier flight out and didn't have to stay at the hotel but couldn't get the room refunded.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from UK

Airport hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2017
The hotel is hard to drive to surrounded by a maze of busy roads. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our room was pretty good from a wheelchair access point of view. A shuttle bus runs every half hour throughout the day to the airport and another runs into New York. Generally though the hotel was tired, in need of a bit of updating and a facelift. Our room and especially the bathroom were a bit grubby. Ok for a short stay if using Newark airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh, PA

Posted Oct 9, 2017
Hotel itself is very good for price we paid. Biggest drawback is the location. The property is very close to the airport, which is good if you want to be close for a flight. However, the hotel is located directly under the flight landing path for the Newark runway. Planes were approximately 500 feet above our heads coming in for landing, so noise is definitely an issue. On the plus side, the staff is very friendly and there is parking available. We paid $15 per day to park. Getting to Times Square took around 30/35 minutes using Lyft.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Knoxville, TN

Good Place very close to the Airport.

Posted Oct 4, 2017
Pros: Clean. Quiet enough. Close to Airport.
Cons: Parking. It should not cost to park in the lot of your Motel.
Location: Have no idea. Only stayed one night so we could take early flight next day. Just as well.
We needed a place close to the airport after a week of vacation. Prior to the early flight the next day. This facility was the best looking and well kept that we stayed in during our 8 days away from home. It was noisy due to being in the flight path of incoming and outgoing traffic, but it was well insulated. Ironic that the worse place we stayed in Boston area had the same soap that this Howard Johnson had. And the place in Boston was a 20 our of 100 compared to this 80. Have to make two complaints: the staff was rather stiff and now very sociable. And we had to pay for parking $15 a night I believe. Who does that? People just interested in the Money. Would not pick this place again for those two reasons. But if you can ignore those two things it is ok for just a place to stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NJ/NY

Close hospital

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Not happy being a guest and had to pay for Parking. OUTRAGEOUS..15$ a day the same as anyone else. I complained at the front at they lowered it to 10$ a night as I was staying 6 nights. My husband had just had bypass surgery and I needed to stay close to the hospital. Never again !!! Will I stay at the Howard Johnson airport hotel. However , getting to and from the hospital was a very convenient 10 mins .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from marion indiana

Posted Sep 30, 2017
Nice hotel. Close to airport so could hear planes but not loudly. Restaurant in hotel was nice yet small. Parking wasn't optimal but overall nice and would stay again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london, UK

Average

Posted Sep 28, 2017
Average hotel, staff not overly helpful but out to make a sale on expensive transfers into NYC. The room was not cleaned by the cleaners for the 3 days we stayed, by chance we were offered new towels the second day because my partner asked for them. This hotel is in the middle of nowhere, they charge for parking and the parking attended doesn't know how to smile. If you want food you'll be expected to order pizza as the room service shuts early...