Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Very Nice Place to Call Home

Posted Oct 1, 2017
When you are planning on spending most of your time outdoors, it feels great to come back to a place with all the comforts of home and not pay an arm and leg for it. The Bell of the River (my translation) is such a place. Very nice beds, clean towels, robes, and everything else. Loved it.
4 out of 5
by Dana

Nice B&B for a getaway weekend

Posted Sep 15, 2017 on Hotels
As the add states no frills. It was a nice stay. The room was clean. Walls were a little thin. The bathroom is shared with five rooms. Breakfast was good. It's located right on Main Street so we walked to Newago Brewery for dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ann Arbor, MI

Nice two star B&B

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Close to Blue Lake Fine Arts camp. I stayed for 5 nights with my kids, seeing the sights before taking them to camp. Not a ton to do in Newaygo, but plenty of fun stuff an hour away in various directions. Room was cute but a bit cramped. Breakfast was decent but not spectacular. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. We were happy with our stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will not stay again

Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
No air condition, no tv, no guest fridge. Owners husband came in the lobby sweating without a shirt on from cleaning fish. Parking only for a couple very small cars. Room was too small. Several rooms sharing 1 bathroom. Over priced for this location
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MI

Frustrating

Posted May 12, 2017
Pros: The bed was comfortable.
Cons: There should be cleaning supplies available to clean the bathroom after a stranger has used it and a entry door to come in if once you are given keys
Location: Not far away was plenty of restaurants and stores to shop.
This was my first time staying at a Bed and breakfast hotel. I thought it would be more personal. I arrived late and had to call to get inside. The parking area had 3 spots, which were all full. To get to the parking area, you had to drive down a dark narrow driveway that was next to a wooded area, scary. Finally got inside, and check into my room. The owner was nice enough to turn on the back light and walk outside to show a parking area next to the back of a garage, and walked me inside. She pointed to a bathroom and my room then disappeared into her room, warm right. The room was clean and beautiful and the bed was comfortable. Waken by loud talking and the smell of breakfast. Everyone shared the same bathroom, yack. No, cleaning supplies was under the sink to use; so that I could clean the spit off the faucet and sink. I attempted to shower but could not get it to work but again no cleaning supplies provided to clean the tub. The next evening, I was locked out again. I tried my key but the chain prevented me from entering. I had to wait out in the cold to be let in again. No, one talked to me. I didn't feel welcomed. There was not television nor was there internet access to do any work. Never again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 20, 2016
Pros: Owners willing to accommodate what you may need.
Wonderful stay. Nice friendly owners. Breakfast was delicious!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI

Great B&B in quaint part of Newaygo

Posted Sep 4, 2016
My husband and I stayed at Le Belle de la Riviere for our anniversary in the Queen Suite. The innkeepers are more than helpful and pleasant, they make you feel like you are staying with your grandparents. The inn is super clean and very close to good food (River City Cafe, Newaygo Brewing) and shopping too (Antiques stores and 37 North). Our only regret was that we didn't plan for any river time this trip (tubing or kayaking).
4 out of 5
by Barbara

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from farmington hills, mi

Nice quiet hotel

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Lovely Bed and Breakfast hotel. Good parking, very friendly staff. Comfortable bed in a very nice room. Good breakfast in the morning. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ohio

Nice and very affordable hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2016
Excellent and friendly staff. Very clean room.Very nice place to stay. Cozy