Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

value ok for the price

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: location is good and clean
Cons: as per above comment need food service at nigh time
Location: location is good close to college and opera house
too bad no food service at night time need to go out of the hotel to eat
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Only game in town

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: Access to computer was fine.
Cons: In-hotel breakfast was very disappointing. Soy cheese? Really? Anemic scrambled eggs. Fruit was all gone by 10:00.
Location: Location was fine.
The quality of this hotel seems to have gone downhill since we were there two years ago. The floors in the elevators were always in need of being cleaned.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Comfortable evening

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Great central location. Close to excellent restaurant and The Newberry Opera House
Cons: I didn't find any negatives for this hotel. All aspects of hotel life were well handled.
Location: Excellent location. Close to restaurants and entertainment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Walking streets
Cons: No microwave
Location: Good choices close by
No microwave. Disappointed We were expecting one. Website indicated one was in room by
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Great hotel and Staff!

Posted Oct 13, 2016
Pros: Convenient; cleanliness and friendly staff
Location: Love the location for photography.
Clean room. The beds were very comfortable. This is the third time we've stayed here and would do it again. We let the front desk know about the air conditioner filter needing cleaning and they are letting the maintenance crew know. We will stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tampa, FL

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Pros: Fair price, good breakfast, clean and well maintained property. Very good location a quiet, quaint town. Lovely!
Location: Good location; within walking distance to restaurants, antique shops and library.
Great experience and will stay there again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

near our location, clean, friendly staff.

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: Convenient to location, clean, swimming pool, great continental breakfast.
Cons: price
Location: great location
had a great time. will definitely use Hampton Inn again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Temple Hills, Md

Great hotel

Posted Jul 18, 2016
The staff was very friendly and efficent; second visit, will revisit in the near future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in historic downtown Newberry

Posted May 1, 2016
Check in was prompt and friendly. The staff gave us a great tip on a wine and cigar bar nearby. Breakfast was good and plentiful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Horrible Customer Service

Posted Apr 15, 2016
We booked a suite, but they gave us a standard size. We asked Cory (front desk) about the room & she admitted it was a regular room because the toilet in our suite was broken so there was nothing she could do. When I called Expedia to get a refund they spoke with Cory again to confirm the change and she told them that the room was recently changed to a "studio suite" at the same rate as the king suite we had booked! I called back and put the Expedia rep on speaker while I talked to Cory in person to ask why she had lied, and she immediately changed her story telling the rep they would reduce the rate to $104. After the call she then admitted that they had just raised all the rates and coined the room a "studio suite" because they were selling out for masters golf tournament that weekend, she acted like she was doing me a favor by giving me the std rate even though I had booked weeks ahead. I then asked if we would be moved to our suite after they fixed the toilet which only takes an hour and she said they would try there best. I never heard back from her, and she was clearly lying about that as well because it costs $100 to fix a toilet and instead they were going to let that room stay empty for our entire 3 night stay which would make them $450?! The other front desk personnel told me all the suites were being renovated and it had nothing to do with the toilet. Cory then told us to park in the handicap spot because all the others were taken...unreal.