Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

2.6 out of 5
24% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.0 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 8, 2017
T h e room was clean, air conditioning worked well, plenty of hot water, easy access to drive into and good parking.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not ready for prime time.

Posted Aug 22, 2017
Cons: Clean it up! Replace what is broken!
Location: Newberry is a fabulous little town. There should be an economical place to stay but this one needs a tear down.
The hotel is supposedly undergoing renovations. Our room had a new rug but that was about it. The bath room was disgusting - mildew in the tub, toilet looked like it had been last cleaned in 1965. We would have left but there was no other place to stay as we were in Newberry for the eclipse.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Al, Hotel Management
Sorry to heart that .I know you very feel inconvenient . Ones it renovated you feel the difference
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from charlotte nc

Horrendous.

Posted Aug 21, 2017
Room was disgustingly filthy. There were a few different types of live bugs that we saw when we opened the fridge door. Bugs came flying out. There were also some bugs in the air conditioner vent, and dead roach bodies on the floor. Toilet would not flush, and toilet paper had some type of miscellanous residue wall pieces, or something that came flying off as if no one had occupied the room in years. Shower and bathroom sink were moldy and disgusting. The sheets were stained and dirty. We paid double the price due to price increases for the solar eclipse. Would never reccomend to anyone under any circumstances.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Al, Hotel Management
I am so sorry to heart that we are going in major renovation. Once it get done it will be difference. I do apologize again all trouble you had
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tn

Run down. Close to everything, only good thing

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The photos listed are not of this hotel. The rooms are dated and the shower curtain rod kept coming out of the wall,unusable. There was a jetted tub, but there is no way I was going to use it. It was fairly clean, but when I pulled back the spread, the sheets were filthy. I slept on top of the spread for two nights. The people in the rooms next door were obviously residents of the hotel and had a charcoal grill on the side walk, and a table and chairs. They played music directly outside my window most of the night which was only drowned out by their arguing. It was quite a party, I could tell by the beer and whisky bottles on that table. And I'm fine with that, but not after paying 80.00 a night. If anything else in the area had been available, I would have left. The couple running the hotel were very nice. I'll say that. Just for 80.00 a night, I expected at the very least a clean room and useable shower. No ice bucket, luckily I wouldn't have felt safe using it anyway. Just do not believe the pics and sparkling pool. That pool had been closed for a long long time.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Had a terrible experience with Econo Lodge and Expedia. We reserved three hotel rooms with one being a wheelchair handicap room. When we arrived they had no handicap room for us. No help and no satisfaction received. We ended up having to call around ourselves and find rooms on our own. Will not recommend Expedia or Econo Lodge for any of my friends. They left my cousin in a town six and a half hours away from home in a wheelchair without a room. Terrible way to treat people.
3 out of 5
by Amber

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 21, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Robert

Clean,.Comfortable, affordable

Posted Jul 20, 2015 on Hotels
Rundown maybe. Clean and comfortable and adfordable. Staff were extremely accomodating. I would stay again and I would recommend
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

UGGGH!

Posted Jul 9, 2015
Pros: It's location
Cons: Read my detailed evaluation.
The entire time I stayed, 4 nights, there were flies in the room. I turned down the first room offered because of the odor in the room. I needed my room key updated almost every day. One day the maid did not leave towels. I had to make two (the house phone did not work, the cover had been removed) trips to the office because 1) my key did not work, 2) then I discovered no towels were in the room. The maid left me a note saying they did not have tissues/kleenex. The manager acted as if he were greatly offended when I told him about the tissues and towels. In fact, I thought he was going to throw me out because he said I insulted him. I did not use and profanity, I simply stated what I wanted and what was lacking in the room. The curtains were in shambles, they did not fit the window and were hanging from only a few hooks. All of this after staying in a beautiful Marriot in Springfield, Mass and an Inkeeper in Danville VA.; both of which were very nice and clean. The Innkeeper in Danville (Riverside Dr) was lower priced than the Econolodge in Newberry, SC. APrice, Falls Church VA.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Will never stay there again!!!!!!

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Nothing!!!!!!
Cons: Blow it up and start from the being.
The room's AC vents were lying on the floor infront of the AC. No tissue in the tissue box. No new role of toilet tissue, only the role left from the last visitors. There were nats in the room flying. The dorm room fridge, didnt work and it look old as ever. We were scared to sleep on the pillows, because they looked dirty. We slept in our clothes. The water dripped in the tub. The guy that checked me in, smelled horrible.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from south carolina

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Bed was clean, and air worked well. However it needs a thorough cleaning, walls wiped down, rusted fridge needs to b removed,, yellowed shower curtain needs to be thrown awa, walls painted. Just needs a face lift to make it look fresh and clean. Couch bed could not even b pulled out for my child to sleep on and smelled funny.