Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 3, 2018
I rarely write negative reviews but this hotel is rather tired and not up to the standard of another Mecure hotel I stayed at earlier in the year. The food for dinner was disappointing for the a la carte price. The cooked breakfast was served cold. In winter the conservatory style restaurant was very cold with a lack of heating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from porthcawl

Nice,out of the way.

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Cheaper drink.
Location: 7miles approx for races,£20 in taxi.
Friendly staff.A little expensive for taxi fare to races.Food quite good,a little over priced,drinks over priced but it is what it is ..would stay again,probably for one night not two.
5 out of 5
by Christine

Superb hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
Absolutely fabulous in every way. If your planning a romantic trip this is the place to go.cant fault anything.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Overall vie w

Posted Sep 12, 2017
Pros: location staff quiet
Cons: not on this stay - staff have changed for the better
Location: lovely location - hungerford boat trip on last visit - nice pubs -
Very friendly staff - clean room upgraded due to status of membership lovely room 8 or 9 time stayed here this year, breakfast better as cooked fresh we will be back soon
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wellingborough

Stayed at the hotel as was travelling to cornwsll

Posted Sep 2, 2017
Lovely hotel clean and compfortable beautiful views
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quick overnight stay

Posted Aug 29, 2017 on Hotels
Arrived after midnight, left after breakfast the next day, would like to have stayed longer. Was given a quiet comfortable room in the annexe. Hotel amenities seemed excellent from what I saw and I loved the countryside view from the breakfast area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Two day business stay

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Superb staff
Cons: Add air con to rooms
Lovely setting, excellent staff, good breakfast. The room itself was fine butt the lack of Air Con was a big factor during our stay as the nights were very warm.
2 out of 5
by Rachel

Posted Aug 25, 2017 on Hotels
Gym was closed - was not warned of this when booking. No water provided in rooms and cold tap was luke warm - they did give complimentary water when this issue was raised.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sydney

Very quiet location with rural outlook

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: Country outlook
We wanted a quiet rural location and that is what we got, room was fine but a bit dated, great view over the lawn, with cows in the adjoining field and distant hills. Good restaurant and bar snacks
4 out of 5
by Diane

Charming hotel

Posted Aug 13, 2017 on Hotels
Problems with our booking - booked for 4 adults but when we arrived we were told they did not have a room to accommodate 4 adults so we had to add another room when checking in. We were planning to spend an evening playing lawn games as shown in the pictures (croquet, etc.) but they did not have anything available. The staff was wonderful - very friendly and helpful and made every attempt to make up for the few problems. The hotel is very nice - close to some nice pubs and in a nice setting. Would recommend and choose to stay there again.