Ratings based on 320 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bonnells Bay

Great hotel, close to the city, some minor issues

Posted Nov 24, 2017
Pros: Rooms where easy to access, close to the city and not super pricey
Cons: Could use a fresh coat of paint, and some marks on the wall could do with some extra cleaning.
Location: Went to christmas party at honey suckle hotel and headed into market town for breakfast the following day. 1 min walk to venue, 5 min drive to town
Had a great nights sleep, was close to the venue where we attended the party, parking was secure and underground. Room had some dirty marks on walls near air con and in shower room. But sheets and all other things were clean and staff were friendly. Would stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Apartments

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Location, apartment size, cleanliness
Cons: Needs shelves in bathroom for personal items needs another towel rack Parking should be included in room rate
Location: Next to waterfront with many bars and restaurants within a few minutes walk. 15 min harbourside walk to Stockton ferry. 5 min walk to main st.
Great Location 2 min walk to bars & restaurants on waterfront. Excellent apartment large lounge room and a full kitchen and equipment large clean Bathroom and the shower is great. but no shelf space for razor or makeup bags and the towel rail is too small WARNING > Shock at having to pay an extra fee of $25 per day for parking. The apartments are still good value even with parking fee but this should be declared before a booking is made and not as a hidden charge and an unpleasant surprise on arrival.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central coast

Walking distance to the Hunter river

Posted Oct 26, 2017
Pros: Convenient to River
Close to wharf,hotel, restaurants and Hunter Street easy walking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New south wales

Posted Oct 5, 2017
Nice hotel in great location. Close to hunter st and the wharf eateries. Convenient parking nearby and easy 30 minute walk to beach. Bath and shower were lovely but difficult to get into - wouldn’t suit older folk. Great soft bed but had to get pillows changed which the lovely staff arranged immediately.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Honeysuckle is a mixed blessing

Posted Aug 17, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: See above
Location: See above
The Honeysuckle area is difficult to negotiate for a tourist who is unfamiliar with the terrain. One way streets, poor signage, poor parking options, buildings which all look the same and heavy traffic make the property difficult to access. The booking and check in system is convoluted and slow and I felt sorry for the pleasant young people on the reception desk who had to deal with this unsatisfactory reservation system. The problem seems to be caused by the fact that the company who 'owns' the accommodation is not the company who manages the accommodation. When we arrived there was no record of our booking- Reception had no record of it- and it took the staff 15 minutes to verify that we had made the booking. Then Reception staff couldn't process our booking until we had received a text message from the owners, a text message which (unbelievably) contained various (secret) codes, our room number and the 6 digit door code. Unbelievably inefficient and customer unfriendly. The apartment itself was quite nice, clean and quiet, once we had finally made it through the obstacle course of check in.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017 by Maddi , Hotel Management
Your feedback regarding our check in system is valuable.
3 out of 5
by SHAUN

Honey

Posted Aug 16, 2017 on Hotels
Dirty room and horrible bed. Cleanliness of the room was very poor on arrival which resulted in having to clean it ourselves. The room/apartment was a good size for length of stay and in good location next to the town center. The room was reasonably well equipped but in a rather tired state. Furnishings were pretty heavily worn and the bed was incredibly uncomfortable. The staff at the front desk were very helpful and friendly. For the price I would expect better but there was a lack of choice in Newcastle at the time. Internet is NOT free once you go past 400MB and not particularly fast, luckily I had my own so didn't have to rely on it to get work done.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2017
We have taken note of your comments on the bed and cleanliness. Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel but staff not helpful to fix issue

Posted Jul 20, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Not much
Cons: yes if they have made mistakes it should be up to them to fix it not me!!!!
I requested 4 single beds When we got there was a double and 2 singles they said there was no one to split double bed because staff gone home handed me some double bed sheets and said do it your self or we can give you a rollaway Not good enough when the errors made by there staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by RECEPTION, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Our deepest apologies that your room was not set up correctly. Unfortunately after hours we do work with a limited team who are able to refer issues to the next day maintenance and housekeeping staff, but are not always able to solve all issues on the same night. Our after hours staff could only offer the next best options. Once again we extend our apologies to you.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Copacabana, NSW

Hi welcome but we gave your room away.

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: If I got the room I booked and paid for I would have liked this hotel more.
Cons: Terrible disjoint between who is doing what, am I dealing with Honeysuckle or Chifely and everyone should stop asking for credit card imprints.
Location: Went to the Museum, had a walk along the foreshore and had a lovely glass of champagne at a nearby winebar.
Despite having a chappie call me twice the day before to confirm my room (and hit me up for the first of numerous request for credit card details despite having paid in full three weeks earlier ), I got a text on my phone on the way there from Honeysuckle. I thought it was an error as it was just access information for another hotel. Turns out when I find Honeysuckle (it is actually Chifley Apartments) they tell me that indeed I should have gone to the new location as my room was no longer available (I had two children with me so booked the two bedroom). Unfortunately the desk assistance at the Chifely make it very clear they are not Honeysuckle (nor are they wotif) so I got on the phone to Honeysuckle and they were confused why I was there, surely I would have gone to the other hotel randomly selected and texted to me. I had previously stayed at the Nautilos and it was shabby so I made it clear I was not going there. I ended up in the one bedroom with a fold out bed. During my one night stay I was asked for two credit card imprints, one for Honeysuckle and one for Chifely. I could not be immediately compensated for the price difference, but did get it put into my account within a few days - not what I paid through wotif so down a few dollars. Honestly I felt like I was being sucked for cc details at every turn. The room was nice (but I was over it by this stage) the DVD did not work and the Wi-fi was unusable. Oh and breakfast finishes at 9.30am happy days.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2017 by RECEPTION, Hotel Management
Dear Alison, We apologize deeply that you were not satisfied with our service. It is clear that an unfortunate series of events lead to you being placed in a room not suitable for your needs. When you book online we do not receive your payment details. For you to benefit from the less expensive pre-pay parking option we would have needed your payment details to be given to us. From time to time we have maintenance issues in rooms that are booked that arise suddenly. In this case we always upgrade our guests. The Nautilos is a recently renovated contemporary style apartment that is considered to be 4 1/2 star level accommodation. Thus it is unfortunate that you do not share this view of the venue. We wish you all the best in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2017 on Wotif
Great location, plenty of activity in walking distance. Staff were friendly, informative and welcoming. Room was average, pictures made it look much bigger than actual size. Sofa bed was terrible, only suitable for small children.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel facilities were to your liking. The sofa bed is for one guest only. A much more comfortable option is a rollaway bed. Our rollaway beds are proper single beds and much more comfortable. We look forward to welcoming you back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

close to museum

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Fix the television. Give someone a quiet room when they request it.
Location: Great location for my needs.
Executive apartments manage a few apartments within a serviced apartment environment. I requested a quiet room. I was placed next to lift (headboard shared a common wall with the lift) this is not ideal for sleeping. The front of the suite had a balcony that was exposed to a large (and busy) public carpark. Again not ideal for sleeping. The television in the bedroom did not work. The television in the lounge room did not work. The concierge said someone could fix it the next day.....(I was leaving the next day). There were minor holes in the wall. The maintenance for this apartment could be improved and when someone requests a quiet room either try to meet the request or tell them you can't.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 9, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thanks for your review. Honeysuckle Executive Apartments endeavor to fulfil all guest requests. As the occupancy of the Honeysuckle Executive Apartments is so high due to the affordable rates, sometimes it is impossible to fulfil all guests requests. We sincerely apologise as we were not able to honour your request this time round. The maintenance department has been advise of the issues that you have brought to our attention. We look forward to welcoming you back.