Ratings based on 270 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

30th birthday

Posted Jul 25, 2016
Pros: Nice having a separate lounge and kitchen.
Cons: Plumbing needs checking. Bathroom needs shelving to hold toiletries and clean clothes.
Location: Honeysuckle restaurants are fantastic, lovely water views.
Nice set out but a couple of problems. Only 1 side of bed has a reading lamp. When anyone, anywhere in the hotel turned a tap on or used flushed the toilet it was so loud, it woke you if asleep.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Great hotel, close to restaurants.
Location: Close to all amenities.
A good place to stay, handy to restaurants and shops. Clean and has everything you need for an enjoyable stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very quiet and close to everything.

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The Quiet Location
All Great would stay here again. Close to everything
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location near Honeysuckle

Posted May 25, 2016 on Wotif
Booked a One bedroom executive apartment and was told it was on a higher floor. When I arrived I was given the first floor. I complained about this and was moved to the third floor. I also asked if the room had carpet as we had a young baby and was told yes. Upon entering found the room we found it was tiled everywhere, even the walls. The bedroom had floor to wall tiles. It was cold and echoed. Positives are the staff were lovely, it was in a fantastic location and the room had two tvs, a spa and a king bed. All in all i would stay there again but would ask for a different style of room which didnt feel like one big bathroom.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Posted Apr 27, 2016
Prior to arriving this hotel debited my credit card without authorisation. After a number of phone calls and a report to the office of fair trading the funds were returned but while I was chasing return of my money it was not available to me. The room was clean but cold as there were tiles half way up all walls. Bathroom has little room for your toiletries and bedroom only has one bedside light. Paid extra for parking but there were not always bays available....perhaps it was over sold? Will not go back.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Decent apartments close to the Newcastle foreshore

Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Close to cafes, restaurants and the train station.
Cons: When offering a King size bed, provide an actual King size bed as opposed to two average single beds pushed together.
Location: Convenient if you want to stay in the centre of town, yet still be close to the water.
Comfortable apartment in a convenient location. There were four of us staying in Newy for the night, so this place was decent and convenient. Our room had a balcony, large lounge and dining areas and was relatively modern.
4 out of 5
by Carol

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great Location

Posted Apr 18, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness and ensuring facilities are maintained.
Location: Close to restaurants.
I stay at this hotel regularly for work and am usually very happy. However on this visit, I was disappointed with the cleanliness of the room and the kitchen facilities. Also neither of the bedside table lamps worked, one didn't even have a globe.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Great location

Posted Apr 6, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Location, had a gym and pool
Cons: Room needed dusting and some cobwebs on the balcony.
Location: restaurants, coffee shops, long walks along the boardwalk, museum
The accommodation was in a good location close to coffee shops, restaurants, walking paths and interesting places eg museum, information centre etc. Had trouble with the front door not locking. Reported it, they said that they were coming to fix it the next day, didn't happen. Managed to get around the problem, however very disappointing that they didn't follow up on what they told me. Apparently others before me had also reported the same issue.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Auckland

Nice location but be careful about what you book.

Posted Apr 6, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Staff need to treat all guests equally.
Location: Easy access to Honeysuckle boardwalk and activities and centrally located in Newcastle.
Booked Honeysuckle Executive which are rooms in the Chiefly Apartments complex. Did not say that two the Bedroom Apartment only had one bathroom and that although we stayed for 4 nights the room was not serviced. Had to go to reception for clean towels and toilet paper and staff were rather 'unfriendly' and continued to point out to us that we were Honeysuckle Executive guests not Chiefly....even though the complex is run by one lot of staff and part of the same building which is identified as Chiefly Apartments. Two classes of guest!!! They need to sort that aspect.